We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Rafaele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Rafaele to your Saves list
Riad Rafaele
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   derb el Ghanjaoui, 2 | Assouel, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An oasis in the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Riad Rafaele has been beautifully & authentically restored by it's owners, Didier & Eric. When passing through the front door from the busy & noisy streets of the Medina, it is as though entering another world. The enclosed courtyard, with it's central fountain, plunge pool & orange trees, although open to the heavens, is a tranquil oasis. The owners & staff were friendly & helpful, even providing a remedy & tablets for a stomach upset. We arranged to eat there one evening, along with a German couple we had befriended, and the three course dinner, including Eric's chicken tagine as main course, was excellent. Eric also arranged for us a one day trip to the Ourika Vally, with a Berber guide to take us to the waterfalls. It is the attention to detail which sets Riad Rafaele apart. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
94
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were drawn to Riad Rafaele by Didier write up and some of the reviews when we were looking for somewhere to stay in Marrakech. We arranged transport from the airport with Didier and was met by Hakim who helped us with our luggage. On arrival to the Riad, Didier and Eric welcomed us and introduced their staff. When we were shown our room, were could not believe how beautifully furnished, clean and calming it was. The ambience of the Riad is delightful. Didier spent time giving tips on how to get around and offered his assistance should we need it at any time, they would also help if you need help with booking excursions. Eric kindly accompany me and another group in the Riad on a day trip to the Valley, it was truly a beautiful and memorable day. The Riad also offers hammam and message by their staff and I had arranged to have one on my return journey. I would recommend this Riad for a truly wonderful experience to Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have never written a review before but felt I had to after such a wonderful stay. I travelled with my daughter and we arranged transport from the airport with Didier - this made things so easy and hassle free. The riad is wonderful. Traditional, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
Didier and Eric are perfect hosts, making you feel very welcome in their home and will do anthing to help you make the most of your visit. We ate at the riad on our first evening and the meal was fantastic. I definitely recommend eating there at some point during your stay.
The staff all deserve a mention as they are so friendly and helpful - especially Hakim who attends to your every need.
Thank you everyone for making our first trip to Marrakech so memorable -we will be back one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was a excelent experience in this beautiful Riad! Very warm and cosy! In here you can absorve the truly day-life of Marrakech because this place was a beautiful Oasis hidden in the hub of the Medina.Very clean and the staff are kind and helpfull!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place was a beautiful Oasis hidden in the hub of the Medina. The welcome into their home from Didier and Eric was the start of a wonderful stay. We arrived late, airport transfer pre arranged and had dinner prepared for us, one of the best traditional meals of our trip.
The Riad is beautiful day and night and I don't think the photos really do it justice. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the service was fantastic. A great place to relax after a day or even a couple of hours exploring.
We also tried out the Hammam, a great traditional experience!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have just spent a wonderful and exciting week at this Riad open the main door and walk into a beautiful oasis and be greeted by the charming hosts Gidier and Eric who cannot do enough to make your stay memorable. The Riad is beautifully decorated, Moroccan style, of course, the bedroom I had slept three, was roomy, very clean with a great bathroom . The staff are exceptional and , dining in the Riad was a culinary delight, I tried many Moroccan dishes always followed by a stunning dessert. The Riad was very quiet considering outside the front door the activity never stops, the buzz of the markets and the rambling streets down to the Medina.
There is much to see in this exciting city. A memory I will keep for a long time.
Jan H.

Room Tip: You could really choose any room they are all lovely and on the first floor with the exception of on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

An intimate, friendly, beautifully restored Riad where no stone is left unturned to make one's stay a truly enjoyable experience. Our enquiry about the possibility of having the seldom available traditional dish - Ravisa - for dinner, was met with an enthusiastic response to immediately set about making it happen. Which it did; to the delight of all concerned!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Rafaele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Rafaele

Address: derb el Ghanjaoui, 2 | Assouel, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Rafaele 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad is located in the medina of marrakech at the northern edge of the souks, 10 minutes walk from the jema el fna square.We have 4 rooms from 20 to 25 sqm²(one at the ground floor is specialy dedicated to persons with mobility reduced) and two great following at the first floor. The terrace covers 250 sqm². ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Rafaele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Rafaele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.