We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a marvellous dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Rafaele

Save Saved
You added Riad Rafaele to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Rafaele
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   derb el Ghanjaoui, 2 | Assouel, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #40 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Graz, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Like a marvellous dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

In Marrakech, one has to consider that a lot of Riads exist, also with a large amount of really good ones with beautiful rooms and exceptional service. However, after travelling Morocco for 2 weeks and staying in 3 different Riads in Marrakech, Riad Rafaele is simply the best!
Aside from the fact that it was the cheapest of these three, we got the most for our money.
The whole building as well as the rooms are perfectly well designed, luxurious, clean and the service is more than exceptional. First of all, we had the chance to get to know the owners as well as the staff without lacking our privacy. This allowed us to learn about the country and the culture but also to receive tips and helpful ideas for our further travels (including how to get along in Morocco more easily as European tourist which is quite important!).
The most important thing for me is that I felt if Riad Rafaele is not owned out of profit-maximizing reasons but rather due to personal motivation of how to spend the years after retirement. This particular motivation is reflected in any way one can imagine.

For me, the only reason why Riad Rafaele is not listed number 1 in Marrakech can only be the fact that of short existence and only 5 rooms, thus having received fewer recommendations so far.

I would describe myself as an experienced traveller and to sum it up: this place is amazing and you miss a lot if you stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: I think that all rooms are great and especially huge (even with an own fireplace). Usually I hate to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
80
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked the Riad Rafaele based on previous reviews. Those superb reviews are correct. The staff work very hard to make everything comfortable during your stay. The Riad itself is very quiet and decorated to the highest standards. Didier and Eric who run the Riad can arrange excursions and give you lots of advice. They offer superb food at very reasonable prices, although you won't find a menu anywhere, they simply ask you what you would like and arrange for it to be cooked. In terms of service, the Riad Rafaele has the standards which you would expect in well known 5* hotels. The Riad is situated deep in the medina where you can experience the real Marrakech. Newer hotels are situated well outside, so you don't get the same taste of Morocco unless you make a special trip. Overall, a special place with high standards and good value.

Room Tip: Have a look on their website at the rooms, all are different and you can choose as long as your pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Riad Rafaele for three nights with another couple and we only have wonderful things to say about the experience! The rooms and courtyard are beautiful, clean, and spacious; Eric, Didier, and their staff were friendly, welcoming, helpful, and knowledgeable about Marrakech; and the food was some of the best we had in Morocco. The location is fantastic, right in the Medina, and we never had any issues walking back to the Riad late at night. I can't thank the staff at Riad Rafaele enough for making our time in Marrakech so memorable and I sincerely recommend it for couples, families, anyone and everyone visiting this wonderful city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Didier and Eric did a wonderful job renovating this riad and save it from decay.
Every room is different and decorated with care, the beds are soft and there is no sound to disturb you, even though you are right in the medina. The patio is larger than usual in a riad, allowing to rest in different corners, enjoy the delicious breakfast (with homemade jam from the citrus trees above you). Table d'hôte is also offered and the food is very good.
Since the patio is covered in winter, even if outside it's not warm yet or if there is wind, you are perfectly cosy within the patio.
You don't realise the roof though, because it lets through sunlight. It just keeps off the cold.

Whatever you want to see or you are interested in, Didier and Eric know every detail of the city and can advise and help you.

To us it was one of the most wonderful places we ever stayed at, and we have been travelling worldwide, since many years. If one day we'd return to Marrakesch and that riad would still be there, it's the first place we'd try to make a booking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This a a recently rebuilt riad around a marvelous patio with orange trees. It is more like a house with 5 bedrooms than a classical hotel. The internal design gives you a real feeling of what riads must have been in the past (with of course the top of modern comfort, including wifi everywhere).
Didier, the operator of the Riad, and Hakim make you feel at home, helping you in all sorts of issues you may face. A really unique experience I would recommend to all

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 4 rooms on the patio, take the suit if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I can't think I've ever stayed in accommodation where I have been made to feel so welcome. As the proprietors pointed out, this is not a hotel but their home and they were very happy to welcome us into it. This was a last minute reservation and the correspondence prior to our arrival couldn't have been better. We were collected exactly as arranged at the airport and immediately sensed we were in safe hands. From the minute we arrived in the riad we felt very comfortable and knew we'd landed lucky with our choice. Nothing was too much bother during our stay. The beauty of the building, the peace and tranquility, the friendliness of staff and constant help and advice was overwhelming. The food was excellent - probably the best we had in the city. Staying here made our trip very special indeed. Escaping the hustle-bustle of the medina into this haven created the perfect balance. We will definitely return and would recommend this to anyone looking for a real taste of Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malmo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just returned from one week in Marrakech. The Riad Rafaele was a wonderful and unexpected place of serenity and beauty in the middle of the bustling old town of Marrakech. Didier and Hamid were fantastic, I felt like I had a friend by my side from the minute Hamid picked me up at the airport, which was great since this was my first visit to the city. Breakfast was perfect with freshly squeezed juice, wonderful (homemade?) yoghurts, French pastries and Morrocan breads and jams. The location was perfect for exploring the old town and it was bliss to come back to the fresh air, serenity and beauty of the courtyard with a wonderful little whirlpool that unfortunately I didn't have the time to try (I was there for work). The Riad Rafaele with Didier and Hamid greatly enhanced my visit to Marrakech, I warmly recommend it to anyone coming to visit this fascinating city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Rafaele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Rafaele

Address: derb el Ghanjaoui, 2 | Assouel, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Rafaele 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad is located in the medina of marrakech at the northern edge of the souks, 10 minutes walk from the jema el fna square.We have 4 rooms from 20 to 25 sqm²(one at the ground floor is specialy dedicated to persons with mobility reduced) and two great following at the first floor. The terrace covers 250 sqm². ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Riad Rafaele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Rafaele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;