We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Dar Rhizlane

Restaurant Dar Rhizlane
Avenue Jnane El Harti | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
05-24-42-13-03
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
norfolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel restaurant was recommended by our hotel.

We were already aware that it was a set menu but they did also advise us after we sat down.

The appertiser was made up of several small taster dishes of Moroccan cuisine which were very tasty and innovative. However the main course as tagine and really quite ordinary, so a bit disappointing.

Our main problem came later and related more to the service.

We had arrived by hotel courtesy car and therefore just needed to get the restaurant to contact the hotel to collect us with a 15 minute notice.

The service had slowed right down, as is often the case, so we asked for a coffee, the bill and gave the waitress the card with the contact details yo get our transport.

We had seen other guests from our hotel who had sat down sometime after us so when we saw them get up and go we were suspicious of the fact that we hadn't been notified of the transports arrival. My husband immediately spoke to smother member of staff who went off and came back to say they were holding the car, so after a rushed exit from the restaurant and brisk walk through the hotel grounds we arrived in the car park to find transport gone.

We could have accepted mistakes happen but the lack of apology from the waitress or a woman claiming to be the manageress was unacceptable.

The fact we had to wait a further 30 minutes did not seem to bother the manageress and in fact she said more than once 'it was not a problem' a phrase I find really irritating.

Speaking to the driver on a very nice trip the next day, revealed they had not called him when we asked or advised him we were ready to go back when the other guests left.

Given other comments on service at this place, I think you can draw your own conclusions

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    21
    19
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
301 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Spectacular food, micro portions, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place has a fixed price and expensive menu (wine is extra). The restaurant is quite beautiful. The fixed price menu includes numerous appetizers, some of which were absolutely extraordinary--a riot of unusual tastes. One of our party was an aspiring gourmet cook and could not identify the ingredients. The main courses, which included chicken and lamb were incredible. Arguably this was the best meals I have ever had--and I am old! The lamb in particular could be cut with a fork and had incredible flavor. Even the wine was good. Moroccan wines are not the best, but they had both a red and a white from Volubilis that were quite good. The service was very good. Frankly I am at a loss to understand some of the other negative reviews of this restaurant. At least our experience was memorable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Arrogant personnel/overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The head waiter and one of the waitresses that served us were very arrogant. To their extreme disappointment, we didn't speak French and that made us unworthy of serving well in their eyes!!
They served us cold red wine and when we complained that it is cold, the answer was: "so you don't want it? it is not good?". And then the waitress just came back with another cold glass and put it on the table without saying anything. We asked her to take it back.
There is only a set menu for dinner which is slightly overpriced in relation to the quality of the food. No one gives you a paper or menu explaining the set and when we asked about the cost, we were again disappointing the arrogant head waiter.

On a positive note, the garden and the interior of the place are beautiful.

If you want to spend around 50€ for dinner in Marrakech, go elsewhere!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The restaurant is in a beautiful garden and has a lovely setting with candles, roses...
We had both lunch and dinner. The lunch is better because there is an a' la carte menu and you understand what you are ordering. Also there is a little bit of variety, from a tomato mozzarella salad and chicken brochette to the traditional tagine and couscous.
The dinner is a set menu without any options. So if you don't eat a certain type of food, you miss one course. Also the staff did not explain what the dishes were beforehand and it was not written down. The wine list had only morroccan wines which was understandable in support of their country's winemakers. But, it would have been nice to have choices from other countries.
We were also happier with the actual food (the taste) served at lunch than at dinner. The presentation of the dishes at dinner were over the top, but some of the purées tasted like floral soap. The service is also better at lunch.
It is a good option for lunch, especially since there is a full bar which is not available in every restaurant. There are better options for dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Pretentious ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The entrance is superb, cross the garden, beautifully lighted, on your left a green swimming pool with floating candlelights, enter the dining room, a bit too crowded. The menu is fixed, but you can change for fish or veggie couscous. Starter is extremely pretentious: more attention to the presentation than the taste, very good chicken with mushrooms. The rest is quite standard. You have too ask for water, as it's too upscale to let the bottle on your table, but then you are just forgotten. At the end of the day, nothing to justify the high price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Dar Rhizlane also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Dar Rhizlane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Dar Rhizlane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.