We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad ABHAR

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad ABHAR to your Saves list
Riad ABHAR
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Newcastel
1 review
“very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Riad ABHAR is situated close to the action and we were made to feel very welcome. Would recommend for sampling the local culture. It was comfortable but not luxurious. We really enjoyed our stay and are looking to return soon :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    85
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
29
86
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Riad is very beautiful and well located, but we have a lot of remarks that could have been better. We stayed there for 4 nights

- we had to stay in another riad for 2 nights (with a smaller room, though we paid for a 'superior room'). This is a comment that I have read several times here and I think they do this on purpose. It's not ideal to change rooms and building in the middle of your holiday.
- Breakfast was in the other riad, so we had to cross the street and wait until somebody opened the door in het morning. One morning we had to wait for 15 minutes, because the person who had the key was gone.
- We wanted to do the guided tour, fixed 9 o'clock, but in the morning apparently the guide would come at 10 o'clock. So we waited for another hour. When the guide still wasn't there at 10h30, we left, pissed off, because it was already getting really hot and we lost practically whole morning. They never gave us a rain check for the guided tour.
- We had several things included in our voucher, but half of them we didn't do: guide didn't show up, we couldn't go to the hammam,...
- We had two dinners included. First night, we only got some chicken (no vegetables, no couscous) and only water. Second night was better.
- Breakfast was horrible, old bread, no fruits, coffee and juice were ok
- in our first room there was almost no water in the shower and it was cold
- we only got a small piece of soap. When you think that the price is 75€/night, you'd expect at least some shampoo
- The staff was always friendly, but very slow to make arrangements and gave us several times wrong information

Some positif points: beautiful riad, in the other riad there was a turtle living in the patio.

Even when you go with a grouponvoucher, you'd expect some of these things being better. I prefer staying in a riad instead of a hotel outside the medina, but we will never come back to this one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in two owned by the same people after booking into this one - we didn't know about this but it was not an issue - both were stunning and I think we were moved to give us an upgraded room that became available - the rooms were gorgeous, the building was gorgeous, both had roof terraces with amazing views, and both were right in the souks.

Staff were lovely, particularly the cleaning staff.

Breakfast was great - dinner was good but not really for me as a vegetarian - there was little variety and one night it was just some chopped up salad as the main. This really is a minor quibble though.

I got this deal on groupon for about £160 for 4 nights, between 2 people, with breakfast, dinner, transport from the airport, a hamman each, and a massage.

Amazing value and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed 4 people at the Riad in January, we were picked up at airport which was great, as i think we would of had terrible trouble finding the place its not well sign posted but once there, its great and a great easy walk back to the main square, rooms were good but i was very cold i did ask for another blanket but the next day it was taken back so had to ask again, but otherwise was fine as pervious said the shower is funny but we managed and we also had breakfast in the deal which was fine. We took 2 trips organised by the lady there in a private taxi which was good no problems, being 4 of us it was easier. Would recommend to anyone but if you go in Jan take extra clothes it was cool especially the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our experience at Riad Abhar was pleasant enough: the staff were helpful, the place was clean and peaceful and location was good, very close to the square Djemma-El Fnaa. There were a few things that could have been better such as:

Food choices - We went as part of a kgb deal and we had breakfast and either lunch or dinner included in the package. Breakfast was good but for lunch/dinner, we ate tajine everyday, which is a fantastic dish and was very well cooked but it would have been nice to have some variety such as couscous, kefta or pastilla. There wasn´t an option to choose other dishes so if you wanted to go vegetarian you couldn´t. As you have breakfast on the courtyard, you need to be careful not to raise your voice as all other room are facing it and you can easily wake up other guests (we were awoken by a very loud group one morning)

Room - the room was on the small side but as there was only two of us, it wasn´t a major problem. I understand that the bathroom was in original Moroccan style but the shower would splash water all over the floor to the flooding point! the toilet wasn´t fixed to the floor and the pipes kept making a loud bleeping sound throughout the day.

Service - we never received our complimentary welcome pastries as 'it was too late´, the jacuzzi was supposed to be opened until 16.00 but the day we wanted to use it wasn´t working and the restaurant didn´t have any other drinks other than water (which is fine but we requested other drinks and even though they told us would be made available, never came)

The place it´s difficult to find at first but we were picked up from the airport (A great advantage) and once you a shown the way it is easy to go from and come back to. The morning tour that was included in the deal was great and the guide (Fatima I think) was fantastic and very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in March and were very happy with our choice. It is initially VERY difficult to locate(took us over half an hour), but once you know where it is you realize the location is actually perfect. Djemma-El Fnaa is on your doorstep, not even 5 minutes away.

The Riad was clean and the our room(ground floor) was nothing special, but had everything we needed- except a shower curtain! I'm not sure if any of the rooms have one. We were asked if were happy to change rooms after 2 days, as they needed to redecorate(random!) our room. We didn't mind one bit, and the room we were moved to was HUGE! it was amazing. So much Moroccan charm and character. The problem was that they moved our belongings without informing us when we had earlier agreed to move everything ourselves later on in the day. That was quite annoying. Nothing went missing, except for my Four Four Two magazine, which 'magically' seemed to move itself into one of the drawers in the old room. Good job I noticed it was missing.

Breakfast was good, but they should offer more fruit. We spoke to Sayida, and she was really helpful and organised some fruit for us. She also arranged our trip to the Atlas mountains which was great. One morning we were constantly asked to keep our voices down as the other guests were still asleep. We weren't even being loud, so this irritated us a lot.

All in all, I would recommend this Riad. We never go to the same place twice, but if I was to go back to Marrakech , I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This was the third time I've been to Marrakech and this Riad was the best placed so far, being in the heart of the Berber Souk. We stayed in this Riad for the first night and transferred to the sister Riad just round the corner for the remaining three nights. The Riad's were clean and comfortable and welcoming. Have only praise for the truly lovely helpful staff. Abdul the manager was fabulous. If you're reading this Abdul ' thank you SO much for your patience in sorting out Kgb ' Would happily stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad ABHAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad ABHAR

Address: 4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad ABHAR 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is 200 year old and consists of:4 double rooms and 2 family suitesAll are equipped with bathroom, toilet, air conditioning, additional heating (on request), hairdryer, safe, great bedding, wireless internet access throughout the house.Featuring a large patio with a fountain in the middle, Riad Abhar offers a large living room fireplace with a beautiful terrace solarium with panoramic views over the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelBookers, Budget Places and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad ABHAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abhar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad ABHAR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.