We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough but will try somewhere else when I´m back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad ABHAR

Save Saved
You added Riad ABHAR to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad ABHAR
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 185 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good enough but will try somewhere else when I´m back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our experience at Riad Abhar was pleasant enough: the staff were helpful, the place was clean and peaceful and location was good, very close to the square Djemma-El Fnaa. There were a few things that could have been better such as:

Food choices - We went as part of a kgb deal and we had breakfast and either lunch or dinner included in the package. Breakfast was good but for lunch/dinner, we ate tajine everyday, which is a fantastic dish and was very well cooked but it would have been nice to have some variety such as couscous, kefta or pastilla. There wasn´t an option to choose other dishes so if you wanted to go vegetarian you couldn´t. As you have breakfast on the courtyard, you need to be careful not to raise your voice as all other room are facing it and you can easily wake up other guests (we were awoken by a very loud group one morning)

Room - the room was on the small side but as there was only two of us, it wasn´t a major problem. I understand that the bathroom was in original Moroccan style but the shower would splash water all over the floor to the flooding point! the toilet wasn´t fixed to the floor and the pipes kept making a loud bleeping sound throughout the day.

Service - we never received our complimentary welcome pastries as 'it was too late´, the jacuzzi was supposed to be opened until 16.00 but the day we wanted to use it wasn´t working and the restaurant didn´t have any other drinks other than water (which is fine but we requested other drinks and even though they told us would be made available, never came)

The place it´s difficult to find at first but we were picked up from the airport (A great advantage) and once you a shown the way it is easy to go from and come back to. The morning tour that was included in the deal was great and the guide (Fatima I think) was fantastic and very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    83
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
27
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in March and were very happy with our choice. It is initially VERY difficult to locate(took us over half an hour), but once you know where it is you realize the location is actually perfect. Djemma-El Fnaa is on your doorstep, not even 5 minutes away.

The Riad was clean and the our room(ground floor) was nothing special, but had everything we needed- except a shower curtain! I'm not sure if any of the rooms have one. We were asked if were happy to change rooms after 2 days, as they needed to redecorate(random!) our room. We didn't mind one bit, and the room we were moved to was HUGE! it was amazing. So much Moroccan charm and character. The problem was that they moved our belongings without informing us when we had earlier agreed to move everything ourselves later on in the day. That was quite annoying. Nothing went missing, except for my Four Four Two magazine, which 'magically' seemed to move itself into one of the drawers in the old room. Good job I noticed it was missing.

Breakfast was good, but they should offer more fruit. We spoke to Sayida, and she was really helpful and organised some fruit for us. She also arranged our trip to the Atlas mountains which was great. One morning we were constantly asked to keep our voices down as the other guests were still asleep. We weren't even being loud, so this irritated us a lot.

All in all, I would recommend this Riad. We never go to the same place twice, but if I was to go back to Marrakech , I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This was the third time I've been to Marrakech and this Riad was the best placed so far, being in the heart of the Berber Souk. We stayed in this Riad for the first night and transferred to the sister Riad just round the corner for the remaining three nights. The Riad's were clean and comfortable and welcoming. Have only praise for the truly lovely helpful staff. Abdul the manager was fabulous. If you're reading this Abdul ' thank you SO much for your patience in sorting out Kgb ' Would happily stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We returned last week from an amazing stay at the Riad Abhar. We spent the first two nights of our stay at the sister Riad which was comfortable but a bit tired. We were then moved to two twin rooms in the main Riad just around the corner which was much superior. Riad beautifully clean. Rooms faultless. We were asked at the beginning of our stay what we wanted to eat as we had vegatarians in our party. The food was amazing. Massage pleasant. Henna tattoo great fun. Our stay was made all the better for the kind and attentive help of Abdul. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was a superb host!
Tip- Barter hard in the shops. Decide what a fair price would be and stick to your guns even if it means walking away from the shop. We were chased down to the end of the alley with the two bags we wanted after the shop keeper wouldnt accept our last offer and then realised he had lost the sale.
We were four ladies traveling on our own and felt safe and happy to wander on our own.
The deal was a fantastic offer and would definately go back again. Thank you Abdul, you were marvelous!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My parntner and myself stayed at the Riad Abhar for 5 nights (kgb deal) we actually ended up in the annex (riad 2) which we preferred, it was so peaceful, we had the top floor bedroom which is right by the roof terrace. On arrival it can be quite daunting but don't let the ally ways put you off, its all very safe. The half day tour was great so was the massage and the food was different every night which was always tasty. I can't recommend this Riad enough everything about it, including the friendly staff just made our stay all the more enjoyable and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Visit Le Salama, just off the main square 3 floors up is the bar where they do happy hour from 3pm u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked it because other friends found it via Groupon, and I'm very pleased. We got offered a very good price for a 3-person room. We moved on the last night to a more luxurious suite-type room, with kitchen and all.
Service was very good, Saida speaks perfect Spanish, French and English (and Arabic, I assume!). The breakfast, included, was very good, and the day we ate lunch there it was really tasty. The location is really good, very close to Jamma el Fna inside the Medina.
They also organise tours and drivers to different tourist activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in the Riad Abhar for four nights last week and I was amazed how good it was. I booked the accommodation through hostelbookers.com and having only stayed in Hotels when away, I was slightly skeptical.

Any Riad you stay in, In Marrakesh will be difficult to find as they are all tucked up down an alley somewhere. This Riad is gorgeous inside, we had a HUGE room, with massive shower, seating area and a view over the inside courtyard. The roof terrace was a perfect place to sit and watch the sun go down with a couple of beers away from the busy streets.

Abdul was amazing, ever curtious and polite. He arranged everything we needed including a free tour of the Palaces and Saadian Tombs which was free! A wonderful Guide named Fatima took us around and was funny, polite and extremely knowledgeable. Abdul also organised a trip to the Atlas mountains which was also a great day out.

We are also asked to change rooms to accommodate a family booking which we were happy to do, and for our "troubles" we were offered a free dinner in the hostel which was also very nice.

Nothing was too much for Abdul to organize for us which was unexpected and very nice of him to do so.

The Riad is literally a 3 minute walk from Jeem el Fna once you know which was you are going. The local stalls soon recognize your face and wont hassle you too much every time you walk past. The room was bright, clean, had air con available, safe if needed, clean towels, beds were made, everything you would expect of a hotel. The breakfast was very nice too and different every day.

To sum everything up, we paid £120 for four nights for two people. You will have nothing to complain about. Its beautiful and it made our stay in Marrakesh even more pleasant. Well done to Abdul and his team! We will be back.

If you want to know more about the food in the area and what to expect when you get there check out my food blog www.bparris.wordpress.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad ABHAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad ABHAR

Address: 4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 185 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad ABHAR 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is 200 year old and consists of:4 double rooms and 2 family suitesAll are equipped with bathroom, toilet, air conditioning, additional heating (on request), hairdryer, safe, great bedding, wireless internet access throughout the house.Featuring a large patio with a fountain in the middle, Riad Abhar offers a large living room fireplace with a beautiful terrace solarium with panoramic views over the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Budget Places, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad ABHAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abhar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad ABHAR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.