We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the souk's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad ABHAR

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad ABHAR to your Saves list
Riad ABHAR
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
WALES
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In the heart of the souk's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked a 5 night break in the Riad Abhar in Marrakech as a 21st anniversary getaway through a KGB deal. The whole experience of ancient Marrakech was brilliant. This hotel / riad is right in the middle of the medina, down an alleyway in the heart of old Marrakech.

The service of the riad manager Othmann was top class. He arranged everything from pick up at Marrakech airport to tour of the Medina and a ham-mam massage, lovely breakfasts and fantastically tasty 3 course dinners (all in the KGB deal).

It was like stepping back to old Arabia/morocco with so many souks/market stalls selling everything you can think of buying. the Muslim call to prayer and the general ambiance and feel of the place. Believe me if you like authentic not plastic people and places you will love this place(both marrakech and riad Abhar).

We stayed in Riad Abhar 2 (just down the street 50 metres away) - had superb room, lovely open air moroccan courthyard and delicious authentic moroccan breakfasts(tea,coffee,orange freshly squeezed juice, pancakes, breads, etc). We had dinner at Riad Abhar 1 - we had a range of authentic 3 course dinners including chicken, beef, fish and lamb all served hot in those earthenware oven pots with lots of vegetables.

I agree that the pestering from the shop keepers can get a bit much but after a day or so you just politely say NO THANK YOU and all will be well.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants the authentic Moroccan holiday.

We would definitely return one day - probably by rubbing the magic lantern and sitting on the handmade Berber carpet my wife bought in the souk !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    85
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
27
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I little difficult to find so recommend getting someone from the hotel to pick you up from the airport. We paid a boy to show us where it was and despite being down an alley and looking a little shifty. We were pleasantly surprised with how lovely the hotel was. Quirky and cute, clean and friendly. Recommend it. staff are friendly and it is situated close to the souks. Expensive to eat in the hotel so better to eat in the square.

I will def go back for a little get away

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London U.K.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights mid March and had no idea what to expect. The initial walk through the square and into the maze of alleys was slightly alarming but the Riad is an oasis where you feel comfortable and cared about. It is very simple and clean with good basic food (not brilliantly comfortable to eat on sofas but we got used to it). Information about the open top tour bus would have been useful (we found out from other guests) and although we enjoyed our trip to the Atlas mountains we would have liked a guide who gave some information about Morrocco and the things that we were passing - rather a wasted opportunity. The massage was wonderful (thank you) and I would have liked to have watched some Tagine preparation - an opportunity for you at the Riad! There was a 'drains' smell in our room and I would take a solid air freshener and ensure that the drains in the shower and sink are always covered (water in a plastic bag does the trick). Some French helps, the ability to haggle in the souks, smile at everyone and enjoy the amazing sights and smells. If you want to have a drink, look for the bar off the main square round to the left - 3 floors up and Happy Hour - a good retreat. We had a very relaxing break and would stay again - far more interesting than huge hotels. Thank you to all who make the Riad Abhar what it is and the promised sunglasses will be sent!

Room Tip: Larger rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our stay started off with a hitch, we were travelling with friends and when we arrived we were told we would be staying in "the annexe" which happened to be the other side of the square, after expressing our displeasure they moved us back the next day which was just as well as the other place was rather sparse and stunk of drains.

Riad Abhar is a great little place, spotlessly clean with a lovely roof terrace perfect for a "sundowner" The food was excellent, breakfast plentyful and a different Tagine for dinner each day

We had a lovely room and our friends a suite which were serviced daily. The staff were polite, helpul and very friendly. We would definately recommend but just check first that you will be staying here and not "farmed out" would have given an excellent rating had it not been for the hitch at the start.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked as a family of 8 - 4 couples. We booked a KGB deal almost a year ago for our stay in March 2013 to celebrate my husbands birthday. We were only informed the day before we arrived that we were being booked into the annexe. Although this was beneficial to us as a group we were disappointed not to be able to enjoy the facilities of the main riad. We had our evening dinner there which looked good but lacked any substance.
Eamon looked after us in the annexe and went out of his way to ensure we had a very enjoyable stay and saved the day. However 2 out of the 4 rooms were very damp and we had lots of problems with the hot water - or lack of it. The annexe was also quite cold and would have benefited from some sun loungers on the terrace ( the main riad has loungers).
The main riad is much more attractive - insist on rooms there - but if you do get booked out Eamon is a star!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A fantastic, traditional Riad. As a mother and daughter travelling to Marrakech for the first time we have been very happy with our accommodation. We wanted to do as traditional a holiday as we could and this place gave us the opportunity. The food was fantastic and we didn't have the same breakfast or dinner on any occasion. The staff were friendly and helpful when asked anything though the language barrier was an issue sometimes. Our room was cleaned, beds made and fresh towels left every day. A wonderful guide was arranged via the Riad, for free, to give us a tour and this was superb. To find a wonderful clean and welcoming place in the heart of the souks was amazing. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main Riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We returned here this year after an amazing stay last February. Last year had been a magical trip, staying in Riad Abhar with a lovely room, access to the superb roof terrace and the lovely breakfasts. We were really looking forward to returning. Had read reviews about people being moved to neighbouring riad when over-booked so emailed, wrote by mail and then emailed again to confirm we would be in the original main Riad. When we arrived, we weren't. We were across the street in a much smaller riad without the beautiful atrium area, seating and superb terrace. We were so disappointed, especially after the efforts I had gone to try to secure a room! The manager knew immediately we were really disappointed and offered to move us the next day into the main riad. Sadly this was then not possible, so we stayed where we were. He offered us a guided tour and free evening meal to compensate, which was really thoughtful. Sadly, we just really wanted to stay where we had booked. Being in the other riad you have to go to Riad Abhar for breakfast. The breakfasts were still lovely though. Unfortunately our room at the neighbouring riad, although lovely in style, was not serviced at all during our stay and there was no waste bin or toilet paper. It was also extremely cold. On departure we were offered a free transfer to the airport and the opportunity to return again to stay in the main house- would definitely take them up on this as it is stunning. A disappointing trip this time, but a lovely Riad- just check you are getting a room in the Riad you book!

Room Tip: Seek email confirmation you are in Riad Abhar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad ABHAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad ABHAR

Address: 4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad ABHAR 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is 200 year old and consists of:4 double rooms and 2 family suitesAll are equipped with bathroom, toilet, air conditioning, additional heating (on request), hairdryer, safe, great bedding, wireless internet access throughout the house.Featuring a large patio with a fountain in the middle, Riad Abhar offers a large living room fireplace with a beautiful terrace solarium with panoramic views over the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad ABHAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abhar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad ABHAR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;