We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad ABHAR

Save Saved
You added Riad ABHAR to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad ABHAR
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Leicester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our stay started off with a hitch, we were travelling with friends and when we arrived we were told we would be staying in "the annexe" which happened to be the other side of the square, after expressing our displeasure they moved us back the next day which was just as well as the other place was rather sparse and stunk of drains.

Riad Abhar is a great little place, spotlessly clean with a lovely roof terrace perfect for a "sundowner" The food was excellent, breakfast plentyful and a different Tagine for dinner each day

We had a lovely room and our friends a suite which were serviced daily. The staff were polite, helpul and very friendly. We would definately recommend but just check first that you will be staying here and not "farmed out" would have given an excellent rating had it not been for the hitch at the start.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    83
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southport
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked as a family of 8 - 4 couples. We booked a KGB deal almost a year ago for our stay in March 2013 to celebrate my husbands birthday. We were only informed the day before we arrived that we were being booked into the annexe. Although this was beneficial to us as a group we were disappointed not to be able to enjoy the facilities of the main riad. We had our evening dinner there which looked good but lacked any substance.
Eamon looked after us in the annexe and went out of his way to ensure we had a very enjoyable stay and saved the day. However 2 out of the 4 rooms were very damp and we had lots of problems with the hot water - or lack of it. The annexe was also quite cold and would have benefited from some sun loungers on the terrace ( the main riad has loungers).
The main riad is much more attractive - insist on rooms there - but if you do get booked out Eamon is a star!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A fantastic, traditional Riad. As a mother and daughter travelling to Marrakech for the first time we have been very happy with our accommodation. We wanted to do as traditional a holiday as we could and this place gave us the opportunity. The food was fantastic and we didn't have the same breakfast or dinner on any occasion. The staff were friendly and helpful when asked anything though the language barrier was an issue sometimes. Our room was cleaned, beds made and fresh towels left every day. A wonderful guide was arranged via the Riad, for free, to give us a tour and this was superb. To find a wonderful clean and welcoming place in the heart of the souks was amazing. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main Riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We returned here this year after an amazing stay last February. Last year had been a magical trip, staying in Riad Abhar with a lovely room, access to the superb roof terrace and the lovely breakfasts. We were really looking forward to returning. Had read reviews about people being moved to neighbouring riad when over-booked so emailed, wrote by mail and then emailed again to confirm we would be in the original main Riad. When we arrived, we weren't. We were across the street in a much smaller riad without the beautiful atrium area, seating and superb terrace. We were so disappointed, especially after the efforts I had gone to try to secure a room! The manager knew immediately we were really disappointed and offered to move us the next day into the main riad. Sadly this was then not possible, so we stayed where we were. He offered us a guided tour and free evening meal to compensate, which was really thoughtful. Sadly, we just really wanted to stay where we had booked. Being in the other riad you have to go to Riad Abhar for breakfast. The breakfasts were still lovely though. Unfortunately our room at the neighbouring riad, although lovely in style, was not serviced at all during our stay and there was no waste bin or toilet paper. It was also extremely cold. On departure we were offered a free transfer to the airport and the opportunity to return again to stay in the main house- would definitely take them up on this as it is stunning. A disappointing trip this time, but a lovely Riad- just check you are getting a room in the Riad you book!

Room Tip: Seek email confirmation you are in Riad Abhar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights in Feb, was a little dubious when we were shown down little alleyway but once inside it was a very pleasant surprise, dinner was waiting for us (we went on a half board KGB deal) and a warm welcome with a map (showing exactly where we were) was provided. We has two glorious sunny days where we made most of roof terrace (there was a jacuzzi for use in summer I am guessing). Room was great and very very clean.. In fact the whole place was spotless. Breakfasts were varied each day with fresh orange, bread and pancakes, definitely enough to keep you going until lunch. Cannot complain about anything and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingussie, Scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Abhar for a week on a kgb deal in late January/early February. We were met at the airport as agreed and thank goodness for that... we would never have found the Riad by ourselves. It is down an unmarked alley in the heart of the souks, but don't be frightened off by that. It was a lovely place to stay. Very clean and we enjoyed both the breakfasts and evening meals which came as part of the deal. There was a different tagine every night. Breakfast consisted of bread and cake or pancakes with jam and honey, as well as yoghurt and orange juice. Our deal also provided a tour of the medina which was very helpful and interesting. We discovered we were only about five minutes from the Jemaa El Fna square. The hammam visit was excellent, as was the massage (all included in our deal). We were offered advice on trips by Abdul. We did not actually go on any of them as we wanted to make the most of seeing Marrakech itself. We found the Riad very comfortable and quiet and felt safe in the city. Our room was quite dark and my husband found it difficult to shave with the amount of light available. However, that is only a small issue. We spent some time on the small sun terrace where there are some sunbeds and tables/chairs. We would certainly go back there in future.

Room Tip: Some rooms are definitely bigger than others and maybe have more light. Ours was a double on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Brought mum and dad with us for something quite different: we'd been before but never stayed in a riad.

Really nice base for a central Marrakech stay.

The place is clean and well run by very friendly team with very efficient routine.

A little disruption whilst some early season maintenance works went on but no real issue.

Rooms a little compact (narrow rather than small) but that's probably unfairly comparing with more typically proportioned, purpose-built hotels - this is essentially a traditional home now given over to guest rooms - perfectly comfortable with air con and ensuite.

Food was nice, authentic and varied.

Went with KGB - great VFM!

Included tour, massage and hamam experiences. Plus additional excursions available.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad ABHAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad ABHAR

Address: 4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad ABHAR 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is 200 year old and consists of:4 double rooms and 2 family suitesAll are equipped with bathroom, toilet, air conditioning, additional heating (on request), hairdryer, safe, great bedding, wireless internet access throughout the house.Featuring a large patio with a fountain in the middle, Riad Abhar offers a large living room fireplace with a beautiful terrace solarium with panoramic views over the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Budget Places, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad ABHAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abhar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad ABHAR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.