We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and efficient and well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad ABHAR

Save Saved
You added Riad ABHAR to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad ABHAR
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 179 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and efficient and well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Brought mum and dad with us for something quite different: we'd been before but never stayed in a riad.

Really nice base for a central Marrakech stay.

The place is clean and well run by very friendly team with very efficient routine.

A little disruption whilst some early season maintenance works went on but no real issue.

Rooms a little compact (narrow rather than small) but that's probably unfairly comparing with more typically proportioned, purpose-built hotels - this is essentially a traditional home now given over to guest rooms - perfectly comfortable with air con and ensuite.

Food was nice, authentic and varied.

Went with KGB - great VFM!

Included tour, massage and hamam experiences. Plus additional excursions available.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    83
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

You would never imagine such a quiet and clean place in the heart of the Souks. A perfect location for first time visitors to Marrakech and everything within easy walking distance. As mother & daughter travellers, we found this a great place to stay. Friendly, relaxed and very comfortable for such an excellent price. We did not do any of the tours and instead spent 5 days exploring the whole of Marrakech ourselves. Everyone was incredibly friendly and if we did get lost, there was always someone to assist. It took us a day to get used to the bartering and learning how to avoid the numerous bicycles and mopeds that insist on flying through the Souks! We were going to hire a car to see some of the outlying area.....I drive around 20,000 miles per year and am used to driving on the M25, M1 and the M6 as well as in central London, I drive regularly in the USA and driven extensively in France......but Marrakech.......I just couldn't have done it as there appear to be very few rules, other than every car and man for himself!! Pleased we went in January as it was such good weather but without lots of heat which meant we could be outside all day and even eat outside at night! We also managed to avoid all of the snow back in the UK!!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms were probably bigger than the downstairs. Rooms quite dark but that's a good thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and found this little riad to be both clean and friendly. The food was of a good standard at both breakfast and evening meal.Also included in the price of our stay was a walking tour and trip to a local hamman which were both excellent. As a budget riad right in the heart of the souks this is a great place to stay !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Abhar just after Christmas from 27 thru 1st of January. It was a wonderful place to stay. Location is superb just in the middle of the Medina and easy access to everywhere. In general it was quiet and only maybe last night we had some music till late but it was New Years. The room was fine. We had a suite as i stayed with my son, so one double and one divan. The staff did everything to make our stay confortable. The breakfest was excellent and fresh. Every day something else, pancakes, cake etc. I asked for egg as i cannot eat to much sweets which was provided everyday, fresh presse Orange jus and Moroccan tea.
The place is clean and the girl who cleaned my room was very accomdating and sweet. She even washed some laundry. Upstairs terrace is very nice. Espec it was not hot now, so lovely to sit there during day time. I certainly recommomend you to stay at this place eventhough i thought maybe you can get cheaper rooms, but for us it was a perfect stay. In general i found Marrakech too expensive, but i have the idea that it was due to the Christmas holidays....Enjoy your stay and give my warm regards to Abul, Hussein and the girls!!!

Room Tip: My rooms was quiet but a bit dark... i guess you can ask whatever you prefer... but it was spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights over my birthday! We've had a great experience! The riad itself is clean, staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable.Good dinners and breakfasts. As it was my birthday they surprised me with a beautiful birthday cake which made my stay even more special! Would definitely stay again, we loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My sister and I stayed here when we visited Marrakech, We were greeted at the airport, given breakfast and dinner every day, the room was clean and the staff friendly. We took the walking tour and also had a massage at the Riad. Staying at Riad Abhar was one of the best value places we have ever stayed and it helped us enjoy the rest of our holiday, they helped us with sightseeing, we wanted to go on a road trip so they arranged a driver and also took us around sights surrounding Marrakech. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We've just come back from a week staying in the family room at this Riad and had a wonderful time. We booked using a KGB deal and were met at the airport by one of the friendly tourist drivers who had obvious links with the Riad and became our driver for our stay. As with other reviews - it is definitely advisable to be met at the airport - whilst it is easy to find the Riad when you know where it is, it would be a nightmare to locate for the first time on your own.
The Riad pre-arranged all the pricing and travel for our excursions - we went to the Atlas mountains and climbed a waterfall, we visited Essouira for the day, and we went on a tour of the souks. We also wanted to go out for a special meal one night for a birthday treat and the friendly team at the Riad kindly recommended Yacout and arranged it all for us - it was one of the most spectacular venues and meals we have ever experienced.
The Riad itself was a peaceful retreat in a fantastic location in the heart of the souks - less than a 5 minute walk from the main square. The room was full of Moroccan charm and had the fridge, air conditioning and hair dryer promised. The roof terrace was a nice peaceful spot with shade and sun, and although the sunbeds weren't brand new, we used them happily. The top level had a great panoramic view of the Medina over to the main square and the Minaret.
The team at the Riad were really helpful, friendly and accommodating. Their English was good, and between that and our limited French, communication was easy. They also offered us sound advice on the right price to be paying for things (which was very useful as the haggling for the uninitiated can be a bit of a minefield!). They worked tirelessly cleaning from top to bottom daily. One tip is to keep the plughole closed in the bathroom to avoid any drain smells - after we quickly worked this out everything was perfect. The food was great - both breakfasts and dinners, and the team did their best to cater for the kids (aged 3 and 7) - bringing out extra yoghurts and jam. We enjoyed our complimentary massage - everyone who visits Morocco has to have one!
We would thoroughly recommend staying at this Riad and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad ABHAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad ABHAR

Address: 4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 179 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad ABHAR 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is 200 year old and consists of:4 double rooms and 2 family suitesAll are equipped with bathroom, toilet, air conditioning, additional heating (on request), hairdryer, safe, great bedding, wireless internet access throughout the house.Featuring a large patio with a fountain in the middle, Riad Abhar offers a large living room fireplace with a beautiful terrace solarium with panoramic views over the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Budget Places, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad ABHAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abhar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad ABHAR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.