We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little clean and friendly basic Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad ABHAR

Save Saved
You added Riad ABHAR to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad ABHAR
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great little clean and friendly basic Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and found this little riad to be both clean and friendly. The food was of a good standard at both breakfast and evening meal.Also included in the price of our stay was a walking tour and trip to a local hamman which were both excellent. As a budget riad right in the heart of the souks this is a great place to stay !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    84
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
27
85
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Abhar just after Christmas from 27 thru 1st of January. It was a wonderful place to stay. Location is superb just in the middle of the Medina and easy access to everywhere. In general it was quiet and only maybe last night we had some music till late but it was New Years. The room was fine. We had a suite as i stayed with my son, so one double and one divan. The staff did everything to make our stay confortable. The breakfest was excellent and fresh. Every day something else, pancakes, cake etc. I asked for egg as i cannot eat to much sweets which was provided everyday, fresh presse Orange jus and Moroccan tea.
The place is clean and the girl who cleaned my room was very accomdating and sweet. She even washed some laundry. Upstairs terrace is very nice. Espec it was not hot now, so lovely to sit there during day time. I certainly recommomend you to stay at this place eventhough i thought maybe you can get cheaper rooms, but for us it was a perfect stay. In general i found Marrakech too expensive, but i have the idea that it was due to the Christmas holidays....Enjoy your stay and give my warm regards to Abul, Hussein and the girls!!!

Room Tip: My rooms was quiet but a bit dark... i guess you can ask whatever you prefer... but it was spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights over my birthday! We've had a great experience! The riad itself is clean, staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable.Good dinners and breakfasts. As it was my birthday they surprised me with a beautiful birthday cake which made my stay even more special! Would definitely stay again, we loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My sister and I stayed here when we visited Marrakech, We were greeted at the airport, given breakfast and dinner every day, the room was clean and the staff friendly. We took the walking tour and also had a massage at the Riad. Staying at Riad Abhar was one of the best value places we have ever stayed and it helped us enjoy the rest of our holiday, they helped us with sightseeing, we wanted to go on a road trip so they arranged a driver and also took us around sights surrounding Marrakech. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We've just come back from a week staying in the family room at this Riad and had a wonderful time. We booked using a KGB deal and were met at the airport by one of the friendly tourist drivers who had obvious links with the Riad and became our driver for our stay. As with other reviews - it is definitely advisable to be met at the airport - whilst it is easy to find the Riad when you know where it is, it would be a nightmare to locate for the first time on your own.
The Riad pre-arranged all the pricing and travel for our excursions - we went to the Atlas mountains and climbed a waterfall, we visited Essouira for the day, and we went on a tour of the souks. We also wanted to go out for a special meal one night for a birthday treat and the friendly team at the Riad kindly recommended Yacout and arranged it all for us - it was one of the most spectacular venues and meals we have ever experienced.
The Riad itself was a peaceful retreat in a fantastic location in the heart of the souks - less than a 5 minute walk from the main square. The room was full of Moroccan charm and had the fridge, air conditioning and hair dryer promised. The roof terrace was a nice peaceful spot with shade and sun, and although the sunbeds weren't brand new, we used them happily. The top level had a great panoramic view of the Medina over to the main square and the Minaret.
The team at the Riad were really helpful, friendly and accommodating. Their English was good, and between that and our limited French, communication was easy. They also offered us sound advice on the right price to be paying for things (which was very useful as the haggling for the uninitiated can be a bit of a minefield!). They worked tirelessly cleaning from top to bottom daily. One tip is to keep the plughole closed in the bathroom to avoid any drain smells - after we quickly worked this out everything was perfect. The food was great - both breakfasts and dinners, and the team did their best to cater for the kids (aged 3 and 7) - bringing out extra yoghurts and jam. We enjoyed our complimentary massage - everyone who visits Morocco has to have one!
We would thoroughly recommend staying at this Riad and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here in 2011, and again in October 2012. They now have 5 riads, and I have stayed at 3. this time I stayed at Abhar 2. The property is in an excellent location, a mere 3 minute stroll to the Djema el fna, but far enough to have a quiet oasis away from the mayhem !. The staff is excellent, the property beautiful and spotlessly clean. I was trying to arrange onward transportation from Marrakesh to Essaouira over Eid, and when I asked for suggestions from the Houria (staff), she actually remembered me from the previous year and arranged for free transportation in the company van for two of us..yes free! This is just one example of how staff can be such a benefit to your travels, they make certain to make your holiday as carefree as possible. I would definitely recommend this riad to anyone ..it is a gem and I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had booked this through a KGB deal, it was for our honeymoon. On arriving, we were shown to a room with 2 single beds which had been pushed together, but were told we would be moved the following day to a larger room. To be fair, they did honour this and the room we were moved to had a double bed and was larger for the rest of our stuff, so made the rest of the stay more comfortable.

If you are a coeliac like us, it is important that you tell the Riad staff in advance what you can and can't eat, as we were nearly left without breakfast on the first day - it seems traditional to eat bread, pancakes etc, which of course we couldn't. However, after asking for different food through a local guide who could translate our requirements, we were given omlettes and fruit for the rest of the stay at breakfast time which was great. We didn't go hungry again!

The rooms are spotlessly clean but fairly basic and very comfortable with the air con a much appreciated extra. They take a real pride in the cleanliness of the entire Riad. The staff are also very friendly. If you know basic French, it'd be best to brush up on it as sometimes speaking English wasn't always easy for the staff to understand, but we got through!

The staff helped oragnise some great trips out which weren't expensive and helped make the trip more interesting. Thye location of the Riad is great, its close to everything, but really quiet once inside.

Yes, the Riad is down an alley, but it isn't unsafe at all. People aren't out to rob you, its not like in the UK where you at risk of getting mugged down a quiet alley. Of course you will always get opportinists anywhere in the world, but the locals would much rather get your money by bargaining with you in the market than through any sinister means so don't worry about that!

Overall, despite the disappointing start, we ended up having a really good time and would definately stay there again.

Marrakech is the kind of place to experience at least once in your life and staying in a Riad gives you a more authentic experience of the city, better than staying in a hotel in my opinion. We would recommend this to anyone thinking of booking it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad ABHAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad ABHAR

Address: 4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad ABHAR 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is 200 year old and consists of:4 double rooms and 2 family suitesAll are equipped with bathroom, toilet, air conditioning, additional heating (on request), hairdryer, safe, great bedding, wireless internet access throughout the house.Featuring a large patio with a fountain in the middle, Riad Abhar offers a large living room fireplace with a beautiful terrace solarium with panoramic views over the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Budget Places, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad ABHAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abhar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad ABHAR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.