We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect oasis in the middle of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad ABHAR

Save Saved
You added Riad ABHAR to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad ABHAR
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect oasis in the middle of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We've just come back from a week staying in the family room at this Riad and had a wonderful time. We booked using a KGB deal and were met at the airport by one of the friendly tourist drivers who had obvious links with the Riad and became our driver for our stay. As with other reviews - it is definitely advisable to be met at the airport - whilst it is easy to find the Riad when you know where it is, it would be a nightmare to locate for the first time on your own.
The Riad pre-arranged all the pricing and travel for our excursions - we went to the Atlas mountains and climbed a waterfall, we visited Essouira for the day, and we went on a tour of the souks. We also wanted to go out for a special meal one night for a birthday treat and the friendly team at the Riad kindly recommended Yacout and arranged it all for us - it was one of the most spectacular venues and meals we have ever experienced.
The Riad itself was a peaceful retreat in a fantastic location in the heart of the souks - less than a 5 minute walk from the main square. The room was full of Moroccan charm and had the fridge, air conditioning and hair dryer promised. The roof terrace was a nice peaceful spot with shade and sun, and although the sunbeds weren't brand new, we used them happily. The top level had a great panoramic view of the Medina over to the main square and the Minaret.
The team at the Riad were really helpful, friendly and accommodating. Their English was good, and between that and our limited French, communication was easy. They also offered us sound advice on the right price to be paying for things (which was very useful as the haggling for the uninitiated can be a bit of a minefield!). They worked tirelessly cleaning from top to bottom daily. One tip is to keep the plughole closed in the bathroom to avoid any drain smells - after we quickly worked this out everything was perfect. The food was great - both breakfasts and dinners, and the team did their best to cater for the kids (aged 3 and 7) - bringing out extra yoghurts and jam. We enjoyed our complimentary massage - everyone who visits Morocco has to have one!
We would thoroughly recommend staying at this Riad and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    81
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
80
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here in 2011, and again in October 2012. They now have 5 riads, and I have stayed at 3. this time I stayed at Abhar 2. The property is in an excellent location, a mere 3 minute stroll to the Djema el fna, but far enough to have a quiet oasis away from the mayhem !. The staff is excellent, the property beautiful and spotlessly clean. I was trying to arrange onward transportation from Marrakesh to Essaouira over Eid, and when I asked for suggestions from the Houria (staff), she actually remembered me from the previous year and arranged for free transportation in the company van for two of us..yes free! This is just one example of how staff can be such a benefit to your travels, they make certain to make your holiday as carefree as possible. I would definitely recommend this riad to anyone ..it is a gem and I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had booked this through a KGB deal, it was for our honeymoon. On arriving, we were shown to a room with 2 single beds which had been pushed together, but were told we would be moved the following day to a larger room. To be fair, they did honour this and the room we were moved to had a double bed and was larger for the rest of our stuff, so made the rest of the stay more comfortable.

If you are a coeliac like us, it is important that you tell the Riad staff in advance what you can and can't eat, as we were nearly left without breakfast on the first day - it seems traditional to eat bread, pancakes etc, which of course we couldn't. However, after asking for different food through a local guide who could translate our requirements, we were given omlettes and fruit for the rest of the stay at breakfast time which was great. We didn't go hungry again!

The rooms are spotlessly clean but fairly basic and very comfortable with the air con a much appreciated extra. They take a real pride in the cleanliness of the entire Riad. The staff are also very friendly. If you know basic French, it'd be best to brush up on it as sometimes speaking English wasn't always easy for the staff to understand, but we got through!

The staff helped oragnise some great trips out which weren't expensive and helped make the trip more interesting. Thye location of the Riad is great, its close to everything, but really quiet once inside.

Yes, the Riad is down an alley, but it isn't unsafe at all. People aren't out to rob you, its not like in the UK where you at risk of getting mugged down a quiet alley. Of course you will always get opportinists anywhere in the world, but the locals would much rather get your money by bargaining with you in the market than through any sinister means so don't worry about that!

Overall, despite the disappointing start, we ended up having a really good time and would definately stay there again.

Marrakech is the kind of place to experience at least once in your life and staying in a Riad gives you a more authentic experience of the city, better than staying in a hotel in my opinion. We would recommend this to anyone thinking of booking it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Riad with a coupon deal. This entitled us to half board stay for 3 nights, a massage, hammam, transport from the airport & tour of the city. Firstly, despite looking for around 20 minutes for our driver ar the airport, we did not find him. We took a taxi into the centre of Marrakesh and muddled our way through to the Riad. To be quite honest, we were quite scared. We had no idea how to get to the Riad, as we hadn't prepared to find it by ourselves. We paid a local to take us to the Riad, which was, terrifyingly, down a quiet alley. Luckily, I'd read another TripAdvisor review stating it was down an alleyway. Once inside the Riad we were suitably impressed. Our host, Abdul, couldn't do enough for us. He was very accommodating with our dietary requirements and supplied us with bottled water on our first night. Our room wasn't enormous, but it wasn't a holiday to be hanging about inside. The shower cubicle is a thing of beauty, however not the most practical. Every single morning we flooded the room due to the lack of shower curtain. Whilst waiting for our lift to the airport, we witnessed how meticulously the rooms are cleaned - you cannot moan about the cleanliness of the place. The Riad is in a great location, about 5 minutes walk from the main square (Djeema-el-Fna). The extras from our voucher were fantastic and we also took advantage of a tour run by the Riad. For 20Dh we were driven in their minibus to a Berber village and then on to the mountainous region. We did a brilliant hour and a half walk up to a waterfall. Again, we paid a man to lead us up. Be sure you take suitable walking shoes with you if you decide to go on this. We were hugely unprepared. If you decide on this mini adventure, be sure to watch out for the local cafes on the side of the mountain with tables and chairs situated in a running stream. The tour that was a part of the voucher was fantastic. However, we were taken to a number of vendors and pretty much expected to buy from them. This included a carpet seller who insisted on showing his products despite our protestations that we could not afford to buy anything and hadn't the luggage space to take home. Overall, this was a fantastic holiday for the price we paid. The Riad honoured the transportation and paid for a taxi back to the airport on the way home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

The staff try to help as much as they can by organising guides for you etc. We got a superior double room by paying a little bit more, but didn't feel like the room was worth it's price. However, they did give us a surprise massage for free. The breakfast was nice and the give it to you when you want: served especially for you :) Fairly clean by Moroccan standards :p

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Riad has an excellent location, a couple of minutes away from the Djeema-el-Fna and from the souks, yet it is very calm and quiet. We stayed three nights thanks to a Groupon offer and it was absolutely great value for money: we got a very pleasant massage, a hammam session, a good dinner, transportation from/to airport and a free tour of Marrakech included in the price. The tour of Marrakech was excellent as the guide (Hassan, I think) was very expert, kind, well-read and he spoke Italian perfectly. The room was clean and very spacious; maybe the bathroom should be a little more comfortable and needs a little more maintenance (the sink was leaking from below, the shower caused water spilling all over the floor and the toilet seat was unstable. Breakfast could be improved a little, with more Moroccan pancakes and local delicacies.
The bed was excellent and sleep very pleasant.
Staff was local, frendly and helpful. Marrakech is an exciting place, this was our second time in Morocco. I'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful setting, very close to main square and market; magic athmosphere of a 200 old typical riad - look at the pictures! Very warm welcome, people working there really friendly, helpful and always available. Room was clean, just there was no aeration in the toilet and could become a bit smelly; but, a part from that, we felt like in thousand and one night! Breakfast was good, as well as the light-candle dinner. The central hall was a bit cold, since it was supposed to be an open space and there was only a temporary plastic cover for the winter as roof - I think the best is just not to travel there in January! Finally they also organise tours - the one in the centre was unmissable! In conclusion: great experience!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad ABHAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad ABHAR

Also Known As:
Riad Abhar Hotel Marrakech
Riad Abhar Hotel
Address: 4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 169 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad ABHAR 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is 200 year old and consists of:4 double rooms and 2 family suitesAll are equipped with bathroom, toilet, air conditioning, additional heating (on request), hairdryer, safe, great bedding, wireless internet access throughout the house.Featuring a large patio with a fountain in the middle, Riad Abhar offers a large living room fireplace with a beautiful terrace solarium with panoramic views over the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelsClick, Budget Places, HostelBookers and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Riad ABHAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad ABHAR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.