We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in the end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad ABHAR

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad ABHAR to your Saves list
Riad ABHAR
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 233 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good in the end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had booked this through a KGB deal, it was for our honeymoon. On arriving, we were shown to a room with 2 single beds which had been pushed together, but were told we would be moved the following day to a larger room. To be fair, they did honour this and the room we were moved to had a double bed and was larger for the rest of our stuff, so made the rest of the stay more comfortable.

If you are a coeliac like us, it is important that you tell the Riad staff in advance what you can and can't eat, as we were nearly left without breakfast on the first day - it seems traditional to eat bread, pancakes etc, which of course we couldn't. However, after asking for different food through a local guide who could translate our requirements, we were given omlettes and fruit for the rest of the stay at breakfast time which was great. We didn't go hungry again!

The rooms are spotlessly clean but fairly basic and very comfortable with the air con a much appreciated extra. They take a real pride in the cleanliness of the entire Riad. The staff are also very friendly. If you know basic French, it'd be best to brush up on it as sometimes speaking English wasn't always easy for the staff to understand, but we got through!

The staff helped oragnise some great trips out which weren't expensive and helped make the trip more interesting. Thye location of the Riad is great, its close to everything, but really quiet once inside.

Yes, the Riad is down an alley, but it isn't unsafe at all. People aren't out to rob you, its not like in the UK where you at risk of getting mugged down a quiet alley. Of course you will always get opportinists anywhere in the world, but the locals would much rather get your money by bargaining with you in the market than through any sinister means so don't worry about that!

Overall, despite the disappointing start, we ended up having a really good time and would definately stay there again.

Marrakech is the kind of place to experience at least once in your life and staying in a Riad gives you a more authentic experience of the city, better than staying in a hotel in my opinion. We would recommend this to anyone thinking of booking it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyjayne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Riad with a coupon deal. This entitled us to half board stay for 3 nights, a massage, hammam, transport from the airport & tour of the city. Firstly, despite looking for around 20 minutes for our driver ar the airport, we did not find him. We took a taxi into the centre of Marrakesh and muddled our way through to the Riad. To be quite honest, we were quite scared. We had no idea how to get to the Riad, as we hadn't prepared to find it by ourselves. We paid a local to take us to the Riad, which was, terrifyingly, down a quiet alley. Luckily, I'd read another TripAdvisor review stating it was down an alleyway. Once inside the Riad we were suitably impressed. Our host, Abdul, couldn't do enough for us. He was very accommodating with our dietary requirements and supplied us with bottled water on our first night. Our room wasn't enormous, but it wasn't a holiday to be hanging about inside. The shower cubicle is a thing of beauty, however not the most practical. Every single morning we flooded the room due to the lack of shower curtain. Whilst waiting for our lift to the airport, we witnessed how meticulously the rooms are cleaned - you cannot moan about the cleanliness of the place. The Riad is in a great location, about 5 minutes walk from the main square (Djeema-el-Fna). The extras from our voucher were fantastic and we also took advantage of a tour run by the Riad. For 20Dh we were driven in their minibus to a Berber village and then on to the mountainous region. We did a brilliant hour and a half walk up to a waterfall. Again, we paid a man to lead us up. Be sure you take suitable walking shoes with you if you decide to go on this. We were hugely unprepared. If you decide on this mini adventure, be sure to watch out for the local cafes on the side of the mountain with tables and chairs situated in a running stream. The tour that was a part of the voucher was fantastic. However, we were taken to a number of vendors and pretty much expected to buy from them. This included a carpet seller who insisted on showing his products despite our protestations that we could not afford to buy anything and hadn't the luggage space to take home. Overall, this was a fantastic holiday for the price we paid. The Riad honoured the transportation and paid for a taxi back to the airport on the way home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

The staff try to help as much as they can by organising guides for you etc. We got a superior double room by paying a little bit more, but didn't feel like the room was worth it's price. However, they did give us a surprise massage for free. The breakfast was nice and the give it to you when you want: served especially for you :) Fairly clean by Moroccan standards :p

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lywli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Riad has an excellent location, a couple of minutes away from the Djeema-el-Fna and from the souks, yet it is very calm and quiet. We stayed three nights thanks to a Groupon offer and it was absolutely great value for money: we got a very pleasant massage, a hammam session, a good dinner, transportation from/to airport and a free tour of Marrakech included in the price. The tour of Marrakech was excellent as the guide (Hassan, I think) was very expert, kind, well-read and he spoke Italian perfectly. The room was clean and very spacious; maybe the bathroom should be a little more comfortable and needs a little more maintenance (the sink was leaking from below, the shower caused water spilling all over the floor and the toilet seat was unstable. Breakfast could be improved a little, with more Moroccan pancakes and local delicacies.
The bed was excellent and sleep very pleasant.
Staff was local, frendly and helpful. Marrakech is an exciting place, this was our second time in Morocco. I'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RICCARDO F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Wonderful setting, very close to main square and market; magic athmosphere of a 200 old typical riad - look at the pictures! Very warm welcome, people working there really friendly, helpful and always available. Room was clean, just there was no aeration in the toilet and could become a bit smelly; but, a part from that, we felt like in thousand and one night! Breakfast was good, as well as the light-candle dinner. The central hall was a bit cold, since it was supposed to be an open space and there was only a temporary plastic cover for the winter as roof - I think the best is just not to travel there in January! Finally they also organise tours - the one in the centre was unmissable! In conclusion: great experience!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaCocco81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had been looking forward to a 1 week break at Riad Abhar after reading good reviews
We were very dissapointed with this accomodation , our room was very dingy and dark with not much space - we did have a 4 poster metal bed but hardly any room to get in it
for the whole week we had a terrible smell from the bathroom
The breakfast was ok , but if you are a diabetic like me - its a nightmare as very sweet sugary jams , honey & bread everyday
The couple running the place were very sweet but at the end of the holiday the chap insisted that we had not paid for orange juice & water - we had paid 2 days before to the girl , but after that he was very cool towards us.
The approach to the Riad was quite scary - especially at night time when walking through the dark , dirty , smelly alleyways - with men hanging around on every corner
Beware - if you ask the way then you will get about 3 or 4 lads showing you ( and taking the wrong way on purpose ) and then demanding money from you --- very intimadating.
The Riad advertised that there was a safe & hairdryers in rooms -- NOT.
The roof terrace was sweet but could have done without the staff sleeping all afternoon on the couches that were for the guests !
Staff very noisy til late at night & very early in the morning
On the whole NOT good value for money

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Excellent experience. Perfectly located (even if, at first sight, the narrow street that lead to the Riad didn't make a nice impression) managed by nice, kind, available and professional young people. Great room with 6 windows and a little living room. The dinner has been one of the best in Marrakech! I would definetely reccomand. The balance between cost and quality is extremely positive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoniqueParma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#17 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#14 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Prestige Evanesc'ence
Riad Prestige Evanesc'ence
#31 of 233 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Katia
Riad Katia
#61 of 233 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad ABHAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad ABHAR

Address: 4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 233 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad ABHAR 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is 200 year old and consists of:4 double rooms and 2 family suitesAll are equipped with bathroom, toilet, air conditioning, additional heating (on request), hairdryer, safe, great bedding, wireless internet access throughout the house.Featuring a large patio with a fountain in the middle, Riad Abhar offers a large living room fireplace with a beautiful terrace solarium with panoramic views over the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Budget Places so you can book your Riad ABHAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abhar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing