We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Kennaria

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Kennaria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Kennaria
10 rue El Kennaria, Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #626 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“feel like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is one of the best hostels I ever been for the value. Excellent location, just 1 min to Jmaa el Fna (the square). The staff was so friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast, teas, chill out terrace, beautiful interior. You have the chance to hire trips to other cities through the hostel for a good price. So good.

Room Tip: best rooms are multiple
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
13
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
czech republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After 11days expirience with morroco this hotel was fine. We stayed for 4 nights. Although there were 2 day of national holiday, owner of hotel prepare lunch for guests, because most of restaurants in city were closed. Rooms with windows to the street are noisy a little bit. Place of Hotel is very good.
We did not have any issues with tidiness od room. I recommend checking the room before check in, because this is general for any hotel in morroco.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Terrible experience staying here. I am very confused as to why other reviews for this 'hotel' are positive. It wasn't clean - the floors were dirty, our sheets had holes in them, there were hairs on my pillowcase as well as henna stains, the light in our bathroom didn't work, there was something that resembled a cockroach in our room etc. They played loud music until we asked if they were going to turn it off. The breakfast was very poor. But the worst thing about the whole experience was the customer service. It was awful. Needless to say we didn't stay here after our first night. I am used to staying in hostels and basic accommodation but this was below par indeed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

one of the best hostels, I've ever stayed at. The staff is genuinely friendly and helpful. I'm definitely coming back to this hostel ! Located right in the center of the medina and only one block away from the Jamaa el Fna square, this hostel is a great place to explore the medina.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were two families with children travelling in Morocco. Our friends first stayed at El Kennaria and had a rather good experience. The rooms were a bit noisy, but the staff was friendly and arranged a nice meal at a restaurant which was opening in the evening. We went all together and spent a nice evening. Since we had to come back to Marrakech at the end of our trip, we booked two family rooms. I personally asked the manager to help me with cancelling another reservation through his computer, and to keep two rooms on the back because they are more quiet. But when we arrived (it was not late, maybe seven in the evening) he said there had been "a problem with planning" and we were offered a single room (two double beds and two single beds squeezed in) for seven people. We were very disappointed about this handling but would have accepted to stay for that night, if the manger would have gone down with the price. We expected they would aknowledge their mistake and be compliant. Moreover, we had to get up at five in the morning to get our flight, so we did not even need to have breakfast. But they offered just a little discount on the room price and were uncompromising. Not really a guest-oriented behaviour: a real pity!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the hotel I choose to stay at when I am in Marrakech. It's a charming little place and the staff could not be more helpful. The staff is there to help in anyway possible.
The downstairs area is decorated nicely in Moroccan style, while the top terrace where breakfast is served is open and sunny.
Some evenings, a small improvised musical jam 'happens' and we are entertained with great music.
I like the location, just a couple of minutes walk from the medina and souk, but still quiet enough. You just walk out the door and there you are - everything at your fingertips.
I notice many families at this hotel, and there are different types of rooms, to accommodate everyone's needs.
I thoroughly recommend El Kennaria.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A popular hotel as was brought up by various online search engines; although a basic offering of accommodation, whatever luxury was lacking was most definitely made up for by the friendly and helpful staff that were at our service, namely; Kamal (proprietor), Nurdin and Aadil - although not proprietors treated us as though we were guests in their own homes, and a few other assistants. We travelled to morocco as a group of ladies on our own, and the guys made sure we were 100% safe throughout our stay; advising what to do and what not to do/eat/drink etc. Also, great care was taken to ensure we did not have to leave the hotel unnecessarily late at night if felt like having any particular type of food etc, and someone was sent to collect it for us. Our visit was for 7 nights through which, we travelled up to Fes for a night n returned the next day, all with a personal driver Idriss- whom Aadil had appointed to us. Although not with us in Fes, Aadil had made a provision for us to be given a tour of the places we wanted to visit, ensuring we covered everything we wanted to in such a short space of time. He gave us all the right advice and realistic suggestions to make our short holiday as fruitful as possible. On the last day on reaching the airport whilst we were waiting to check in for our return flight, Nurdin turned up with something one of us had forgot at the hotel; if that isn't personal and great customer service, then i don't know what is!

I, along with the other ladies I travelled with were all very happy with the hotel and the service, and most definately would stay at el kennaria during any subsequent visits to Morocco, and would recommend anyone else to also do so. We would like to thank all the guys for all their help and assistance to ensure we had a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: we were on upper floor so were able to hear and see the local hustle bustle through the streets and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Kennaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Kennaria

Address: 10 rue El Kennaria, Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #626 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Budget Places, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel El Kennaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Kennaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.