We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and safe el kennaria hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Kennaria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Kennaria to your Saves list
Hotel El Kennaria
10 rue El Kennaria, Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #633 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and safe el kennaria hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A popular hotel as was brought up by various online search engines; although a basic offering of accommodation, whatever luxury was lacking was most definitely made up for by the friendly and helpful staff that were at our service, namely; Kamal (proprietor), Nurdin and Aadil - although not proprietors treated us as though we were guests in their own homes, and a few other assistants. We travelled to morocco as a group of ladies on our own, and the guys made sure we were 100% safe throughout our stay; advising what to do and what not to do/eat/drink etc. Also, great care was taken to ensure we did not have to leave the hotel unnecessarily late at night if felt like having any particular type of food etc, and someone was sent to collect it for us. Our visit was for 7 nights through which, we travelled up to Fes for a night n returned the next day, all with a personal driver Idriss- whom Aadil had appointed to us. Although not with us in Fes, Aadil had made a provision for us to be given a tour of the places we wanted to visit, ensuring we covered everything we wanted to in such a short space of time. He gave us all the right advice and realistic suggestions to make our short holiday as fruitful as possible. On the last day on reaching the airport whilst we were waiting to check in for our return flight, Nurdin turned up with something one of us had forgot at the hotel; if that isn't personal and great customer service, then i don't know what is!

I, along with the other ladies I travelled with were all very happy with the hotel and the service, and most definately would stay at el kennaria during any subsequent visits to Morocco, and would recommend anyone else to also do so. We would like to thank all the guys for all their help and assistance to ensure we had a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: we were on upper floor so were able to hear and see the local hustle bustle through the streets and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
15
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This riad was really pleasant. Despite the rooms being rather basic (and I mean only beds, bedside-tables and cupboard), the atmosphere was gorgeous, and the positives definitely outweigh the negatives.
Pros: We saw a few other families, so we could see that this was a nice family-friendly riad.
Less than a 2 minute walk from the main square (Djema El Fna) and the stunning souks
The manager (Hassan) was truly a wonderful host, telling us about top attractions, the best food places, and even how to haggle for good prices!
The roof top had a large seating area, and recliners, so it was a lovely place to have a sunny breakfast, and there was enough space for kids to run about. There was a bit of Bob Marley playing from speakers as well. Nice.
The breakfast consisted of eggs, delicious orange juice (very refreshing), mint tea, Moroccan pancakes, Berber bread, butter and hot milk. A good meal to start off the day, but a change in menu would have been nice.
The cleaning of the rooms was very prompt, and all the staff were lovely.

Cons: As said before, very basic rooms. The bathrooms were quite basic, and needed a bit modernizing. Maybe a few hooks, shelves and a larger mirror.
The terrace area could have been a tiny bit cleaner.

Overall, good for families and friends, a good atmosphere, and very very convenient location. Brilliant value for money, and I would definitely recommend this riad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

sorry, but shower is cold after 10 in the morning, electricity is VERY DANGEROUS INDEED ('we will send someone to fix it'), a cold and wet and tired cyclist neighbour had to wait for an hour for a clean towel, begging several times did not help ('no problem, it comes', rooms are around an internal patio, music and people loud till late late, very average, but the price is modest too, and it's very close to the great square, and the great Café Berganziz is right next to it!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with at least safe electricity and close to the enrance, if you want wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamraght, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very cozy Riad.. warm interior and warm smile of the personal... true Marockan atmosphere.. nice breakfast... and i have been in other places.. but here no problem.. nice pancakes.. bread... fresh juice coffe... And of course the breakfast is served at the roof terrace by the sunrise... service smooth and easy.. easy access to Marrakesh big square, taxis, buses, souk...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed in this Riad for a few days ( before ,and after few days of desert trip).
The location are great, 2 min from busy Djma El Fna ,but hidden from noise.
The bed is clean ,and comfy.
*some miss-understood when we first arrived, but it was all gone by their customer service attitude.
All I can say is,the staff there, Adil and Nordin ( ahh..sweet boy with sweet smile ) were great.
Breakfast were suppose to start at 7.30AM, but as we leave early for desert,Adil woke up at 6AM and prepare our breakfast!!!!to make sure we eat before the long journey.I almost feel sorry that he has to wake up that early..He also help me with buying local sim card,even help me to deal with the phone shop to charge my phone for 10MAD only,and help me to pick up the phone from the shop.Very patient staff and jovial and dancing for us all the time when he is free :-) ..
Oh yeah,there is always orange juice and mint tea serve as well...
Overall,the stay there was great and I may come back again if I were to come to Marrakech again.

Adil & Nordin - Thank you very much !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

i have been many times in marrakech,but the first time in this place. it is now my favorite.
very good relation price-quality. nice rooms with air con. comfortable beds,even the pillows!
hot water in shower,with your own electric heather in the bathroom.the roof terrace is nice with breakfast served in the morning. its also possible to eat in the indoor patio. the location is perfect,2 minutes from the square,but away from the noice and finally the staff was really attentive,and always friendly and made you feel very welcome. i plan to go back to this hotel soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Familiar establishment, top location: very close to Djeema el Fna and the Medina; small but clean rooms; very nice was the Arabic breakfast on the roof terrace; possible to get special meals; very helpful and friendly service; very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Kennaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Kennaria

Address: 10 rue El Kennaria, Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #633 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Kennaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Kennaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.