We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lovely El Kennaria Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Kennaria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Kennaria to your Saves list
Hotel El Kennaria
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   10 rue El Kennaria, Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #686 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The lovely El Kennaria Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This riad was really pleasant. Despite the rooms being rather basic (and I mean only beds, bedside-tables and cupboard), the atmosphere was gorgeous, and the positives definitely outweigh the negatives.
Pros: We saw a few other families, so we could see that this was a nice family-friendly riad.
Less than a 2 minute walk from the main square (Djema El Fna) and the stunning souks
The manager (Hassan) was truly a wonderful host, telling us about top attractions, the best food places, and even how to haggle for good prices!
The roof top had a large seating area, and recliners, so it was a lovely place to have a sunny breakfast, and there was enough space for kids to run about. There was a bit of Bob Marley playing from speakers as well. Nice.
The breakfast consisted of eggs, delicious orange juice (very refreshing), mint tea, Moroccan pancakes, Berber bread, butter and hot milk. A good meal to start off the day, but a change in menu would have been nice.
The cleaning of the rooms was very prompt, and all the staff were lovely.

Cons: As said before, very basic rooms. The bathrooms were quite basic, and needed a bit modernizing. Maybe a few hooks, shelves and a larger mirror.
The terrace area could have been a tiny bit cleaner.

Overall, good for families and friends, a good atmosphere, and very very convenient location. Brilliant value for money, and I would definitely recommend this riad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
24
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

sorry, but shower is cold after 10 in the morning, electricity is VERY DANGEROUS INDEED ('we will send someone to fix it'), a cold and wet and tired cyclist neighbour had to wait for an hour for a clean towel, begging several times did not help ('no problem, it comes', rooms are around an internal patio, music and people loud till late late, very average, but the price is modest too, and it's very close to the great square, and the great Café Berganziz is right next to it!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with at least safe electricity and close to the enrance, if you want wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamraght, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very cozy Riad.. warm interior and warm smile of the personal... true Marockan atmosphere.. nice breakfast... and i have been in other places.. but here no problem.. nice pancakes.. bread... fresh juice coffe... And of course the breakfast is served at the roof terrace by the sunrise... service smooth and easy.. easy access to Marrakesh big square, taxis, buses, souk...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed in this Riad for a few days ( before ,and after few days of desert trip).
The location are great, 2 min from busy Djma El Fna ,but hidden from noise.
The bed is clean ,and comfy.
*some miss-understood when we first arrived, but it was all gone by their customer service attitude.
All I can say is,the staff there, Adil and Nordin ( ahh..sweet boy with sweet smile ) were great.
Breakfast were suppose to start at 7.30AM, but as we leave early for desert,Adil woke up at 6AM and prepare our breakfast!!!!to make sure we eat before the long journey.I almost feel sorry that he has to wake up that early..He also help me with buying local sim card,even help me to deal with the phone shop to charge my phone for 10MAD only,and help me to pick up the phone from the shop.Very patient staff and jovial and dancing for us all the time when he is free :-) ..
Oh yeah,there is always orange juice and mint tea serve as well...
Overall,the stay there was great and I may come back again if I were to come to Marrakech again.

Adil & Nordin - Thank you very much !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

i have been many times in marrakech,but the first time in this place. it is now my favorite.
very good relation price-quality. nice rooms with air con. comfortable beds,even the pillows!
hot water in shower,with your own electric heather in the bathroom.the roof terrace is nice with breakfast served in the morning. its also possible to eat in the indoor patio. the location is perfect,2 minutes from the square,but away from the noice and finally the staff was really attentive,and always friendly and made you feel very welcome. i plan to go back to this hotel soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Familiar establishment, top location: very close to Djeema el Fna and the Medina; small but clean rooms; very nice was the Arabic breakfast on the roof terrace; possible to get special meals; very helpful and friendly service; very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I had already booked five days at El Kennaria when I read Mylex58's one-star review, so was concerned about staying there. Once there, though, we had an absolutely wonderful time. The staff was great. The concierge negotiated a calesh for us so we could visit the gardens at Yves St. Laurent's former house (no taxis or cars are allowed inside the medina between noon and 6 a.m., so the horse-drawn carts are really the only option), saving us at least 50 euros. He also arranged a play date with the hotel owner's children across the street. Our boys loved meeting them -- they goof around, played computer games, etc. The concierge also arranged to have a friend take us into the souk to negotiate Moroccan robes and slippers for the boys. He also cheerfully arranged transport to and from the airport. The driver who picked us up at the airport earlier in the day taught our boys how to play Moroccan drums up on the roof-top terrace. The cook Adil was fantastic -- besides cooking great food for us, he also taught our boys how to play the Moroccan guitar, answered all our many questions, advised us on bargaining in the souk, showed us how to serve traditional Moroccan tea and let the boys practice -- the list goes on and on. Very, very special. The roof-top terrace was so relaxing -- we could take a break at lunch time and relax on the cushions, sheltered from the sun. Equally lovely at night -- relaxing eating under the stars. Only one night was it a little cool and we could untie curtains to create a private "room." Our room was clean and comfortable -- the hotel is a traditional riad with a central atrium open to the sky. The only reason I give 4 stars instead of 5 -- the room had a few little eccentricities -- the shower head was cracked, so it leaked; one of our windows didn't lock (but okay, because the outer shutters did lock); and the door lock to our room was a struggle to open. Otherwise, really great value -- a block from the central square of the medina, great staff, great food (Adil's Berber omelette was better than any other we had during our stay) -- would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice -- just check to make sure your shower works and the door is easy to unlock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#309 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#55 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#126 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#380 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#263 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Layla Rouge
Riad Layla Rouge
#235 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Kennaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Kennaria

Address: 10 rue El Kennaria, Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #686 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Kennaria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Kennaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Kennaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.