We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Kennaria

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Kennaria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Kennaria
10 rue El Kennaria, Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #632 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

i have been many times in marrakech,but the first time in this place. it is now my favorite.
very good relation price-quality. nice rooms with air con. comfortable beds,even the pillows!
hot water in shower,with your own electric heather in the bathroom.the roof terrace is nice with breakfast served in the morning. its also possible to eat in the indoor patio. the location is perfect,2 minutes from the square,but away from the noice and finally the staff was really attentive,and always friendly and made you feel very welcome. i plan to go back to this hotel soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
11
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Familiar establishment, top location: very close to Djeema el Fna and the Medina; small but clean rooms; very nice was the Arabic breakfast on the roof terrace; possible to get special meals; very helpful and friendly service; very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I had already booked five days at El Kennaria when I read Mylex58's one-star review, so was concerned about staying there. Once there, though, we had an absolutely wonderful time. The staff was great. The concierge negotiated a calesh for us so we could visit the gardens at Yves St. Laurent's former house (no taxis or cars are allowed inside the medina between noon and 6 a.m., so the horse-drawn carts are really the only option), saving us at least 50 euros. He also arranged a play date with the hotel owner's children across the street. Our boys loved meeting them -- they goof around, played computer games, etc. The concierge also arranged to have a friend take us into the souk to negotiate Moroccan robes and slippers for the boys. He also cheerfully arranged transport to and from the airport. The driver who picked us up at the airport earlier in the day taught our boys how to play Moroccan drums up on the roof-top terrace. The cook Adil was fantastic -- besides cooking great food for us, he also taught our boys how to play the Moroccan guitar, answered all our many questions, advised us on bargaining in the souk, showed us how to serve traditional Moroccan tea and let the boys practice -- the list goes on and on. Very, very special. The roof-top terrace was so relaxing -- we could take a break at lunch time and relax on the cushions, sheltered from the sun. Equally lovely at night -- relaxing eating under the stars. Only one night was it a little cool and we could untie curtains to create a private "room." Our room was clean and comfortable -- the hotel is a traditional riad with a central atrium open to the sky. The only reason I give 4 stars instead of 5 -- the room had a few little eccentricities -- the shower head was cracked, so it leaked; one of our windows didn't lock (but okay, because the outer shutters did lock); and the door lock to our room was a struggle to open. Otherwise, really great value -- a block from the central square of the medina, great staff, great food (Adil's Berber omelette was better than any other we had during our stay) -- would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice -- just check to make sure your shower works and the door is easy to unlock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corato, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I've been to El Kennaria hotel for 3 days, and I was very pleased, for its central position (3 minutes walk from Jemm El Fna square), the cleaning, its beds with sheets of excellent quality, a bath with shampoo and single-dose soap, air conditioning, in a typically Moroccan structure, and its beautiful terrace, which serves a great breakfast .. definitely go back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

I booked my room through booking.com. When i arrived to Marrakesh, I found the hotel very easily.
The hotel staff was always around, helpful and polite. No matter what I needed. I got a big 3 bed room for myself with a clean bathroom, towels, and shower gel. On arrival they served mint tea (free, as welcome)
I loved every minute of my stay. The chill out area is awsome. You can have your breakfast on the roof. :)
If you can't bear the heat, there is a jacuzzi as well so you can just sit back and relax.
I haven't read the reviews before I came. I read them now. Maybe since then they changed staff.. Suring my stay The staff helped me with everything, shopping, getting things for the right price, buying my coach ticket, finding out the timetable for me, they gave me beauty tips, (for sunburn :), gave me directions, taught me few words in Arabic and Berber :)
The rooms are cleaned daily.
As a female solo traveller I was worried how people will treat me. I didn't have any problems. I felt safe in the hotel an outside too.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Marrakech for a few days in Decemeber. We arrived quite late in the city and had some trouble locating our hotel. The service at the front desk was quite helpful. Our room was a bit small and cramped. The bathroom was really tiny. The geyser's capacity for flow of hot water was not good at all. The location of the hotel is however quite good with a range of shops in close proximity including a laundry service. The two ladies who served us breakfast were very polite and provided us with great hospitality. We loved the decor which was very traditional and the set-up on the roof top for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton & Hove
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

It's the words no traveller ever wants to hear. To arrive at your hotel quite late in the evening to be told: "We have no record of your booking." I was amazed as I'd made the reservation through the booking agency, Agoda, several weeks previously and had received a written confirmation. What made things a lot worse though was the attitude and demeanour of the two rather rough-and-ready youths on reception who hadn't the first clue about customer service. They made no apology and were extremely unhelpful. When I insisted on speaking to the manager, they said he wasn't in the hotel so I demanded that they phone him. They did and then astonishingly turned to me and said the manager didn't want to speak to me. And put the phone down. All but speechless, I insisted they phone him again. This time I did speak to the manager who seemed unable to provide a credible explanation as to why they had no room for me. The hotel clearly had received confirmation from Agoda. What I suspect is because I arrived late in the evening, they thought I wasn't turning up and so sold my room to someone else. The manager promised to come to the hotel and meet me - and then failed to show. Somehow or other the reception youths found a free room for me but its facilities in total comprised two single beds, a bedside table and a sink with a cold water tap. Nothing else. No towels, no soap, no cupboard, no heat. The hotel completely misrepresents itself. It's not a quality property at all. It's a dump. Cold, dirty, noisy, unfriendly, unhelpful and intimidating. In short, a disgrace. And Agoda has not exactly covered itself in glory. I made an official complaint to them the following day after I'd checked out of the hotel as soon as I possibly could. It's been ten days now and they still haven't come back to me with an explanation, an apology and a refund of the money I pre-paid. That's not impressive. The single attraction of the hotel is that it's just two or three minutes' walk from Marrakech's famous "Big Square", Jemaa el Fna, and it's for that reason that I chose to stay there. A big, big mistake which I hope other travellers can learn from. The best advice I can give about the Hotel El Kennaria is to avoid it at all costs.

Room Tip: Don't go anywhere near the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Kennaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Kennaria

Address: 10 rue El Kennaria, Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #632 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Kennaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Kennaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.