We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect oasis in the Marrakech medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Helen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Helen to your Saves list
Riad Helen
138 derb Arset aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect oasis in the Marrakech medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We had an absolutely wonderful stay. From the charming and beautiful riad itself to the attentive service of the french and moroccan hosts and staff Riad Helen was everything we had hoped for. We stayed several places in Morrocco and Riad Helen was the best riad by far.
We had the privilege of staying in Room no. 1 which seems perfect for a honeymoon.
And maybe the best of it all was to go spice shopping and learning to cook a great Moroccan dinner with Riad Helens wonderful female chef and housekeeper - such a luminous person.

We warmly recommend Riad Helen

Lisa and Søren from Copenhagen

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi Lisa, hi Søren,
Thank you so much for this review on TripAdvisor ! We're so happy that you spent such a good time at Riad Helen. You two are very nice people and it's been a real pleasure to receive you at home. We want to thank you in particular for the wonderful words you wrote about Fatiha and the time you spent with her ; she was very touched by this attention and send you her friendship. We would be happy to receive you again if you plan to come back in Morocco. Meanwhile, we wish you a good continuation and we thank you again for your review. Best regards :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
76
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Staying at Riad Helen was an incredible experience in Marrakech. The hotel managers, Mario and Maxime, did all needed efforts to make us feel like in house.

From decoration to focus on cleaning and organizing the room, the lounge music and roses daily put on the bed, everything made us feel welcome and enabled us to experience the best of moroccan culture.

The wonderful dishes prepared by Fatiha is something that must be congratulated. Besides the excelent cost and benefit ratio, the menu offer to the hotel guests the chance to try the authentic morrocan gastronomy.

The breakfast is very well served, tasteful and traditional.

We recomend the Riad Helen for your stay in Marrakech. If you need additional information about the hotel and Marrakech, feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Allyson !
Thank you so much for having sent your review on TripAdvisor. We are so happy that you felt like home at Riad Helen, that you enjoyed Fatiha's dishes and... our company ! We really want our guests to feel as comfortible as possible.
We hope that the rest of your stay in Egypt and your comeback in Belo Horizonte went well. We saw the nice photos you posted on facebook.
Thank you again for your confidence !
All our friendship to you and Rodrigo. Take care of you two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A travellers dream, is to discover and experience staying at Riad Helen. We were met at the airport by Damian (owner) and Mario (one of the managers) and from this point our wonderful experience started. The Riad is in an area where one can feel the true Marrakech and be in walking distance of the main square and souks. Mario and Maxime were truly fabulous hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them - such kindness is hard to find. They guided us through the souks, took us on a trip to the mountains, prepared coffee and tea at any time for us with something to nibble, and were always there for help and advice, and what they did not perhaps know, would find out. The list of their many kindnesses is acually too long to mention here. Many a laugh was had as well.

The Riad itself is lovely and we felt comfortable from the moment we stepped in.

Fatiha cooked the most wonderful traditional dishes for us, and also gave us an option to say what we would like to eat. Her wonderful meals will always be remembered. Fatiha extended many kindnesses as well.

We can highly recommended staying at Riad Helen which is made so very special by Mario, Maxime and Fatiha.

If anyone would like to drop us a line via Trip Advisor, we will be happy to try and answer any of your questions.

L&D

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Lynda & Denis !
We would like to thank you for all the nice things you said on TripAdvisor, and in your private messages since you left the house. It was such a great pleasure to meet you, to receive you at Riad Helen and to help you spend a nice stay in Marrakesh. We are so happy that you liked the house, and felt here like at home ! Of course, we transmit to Fatiha all the wonderful things you said about her cooking and all your compliments. Thank you too for the suggestions you gave to us ; we will give you news about our projects, till you come back to see us ! We know that you are big travellers and want to discover many other countries, but if you come back in Morocco, come say hello ! Thanks again for your confidence, cheerfulness and everything. Take care of you two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I can´t say that the choice of Riad was easy. We visited many Riads on the website in fact were almost all very beautiful.. Fortunately I ended up making a correct choice, selected in the centre of the Medina and Souks. This Riad have one excellent location. The price is very good for the quality they offer as they try to help with everything and create a service five stars, giving the rest and confort to the guest's researching and helping to arrange everything. They offrer a mobile phone during your stay in case you get lost or if you hav any doubts. Undoubtedly important when you are in the middle of no where.
They were excellents hosts what that made ​​our stay much more confortable. I am very grateful to them. I also advise to diner at Riad is very good food was the best we did eat in Marakech, the cooker is excellent and its not expensive. We have to give them a VERY BIG THANKS because we caught the fly home early in the morning at airport in Casablanca. They rent a car, they drive and leave us in the check in at the airport. like said at begginig, better was impossible

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Diogo,
Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor. We wish we could answer you in Portuguese but we are not so sure of ourselves ! Maybe we will try to learn some words for the next time we'll see each other.
We are both delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad Helen, and we have to thank you again for your cheerfulness. It really was a great pleasure to receive you in our house.
Please convey our best wishes to Elsa.
Take care of you two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had the most wonderful time at Riad Helen. The owner Dominique is very friendly and extremely accommodating. We were so comfortable it felt like we'd lived there for years. The food we ate was beyond amazing and we were constantly delighted by our meals. The Riad is superbly decorated and has a very Moroccan feel to it. I can't recommend it enough and I really hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: We had a look around the Riad and all the rooms are of the same high standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domilo45, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Nancy and Rob thank you for your comment so nice. We spent quality time together as if to welcome you to the riad was a real pleasure for us. Customers become friends and the house becomes theirs. I hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Helen

Address: 138 derb Arset aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the great Bab Doukkala mosque and Dar El Bacha Palace, gateway to the antiques district, Riad Helen is only 10 minutes walk from the famous square Jemaa el Fna.Its 5 spacious and bright rooms are equipped with a double bed (possibility of an extra bed in one of them). In bathrooms covered with tadelakt (traditional Moroccan plaster) you will find towels, bathrobes and shower brand Les Sens de Marrakech.The Riad has a central patio with fountain where you can enjoy your breakfast or meals. Unless you prefer the dining room, convivial or terrace and a beautiful view over the rooftops of Dar El Bacha Palace.At Riad Helen there is no preset menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Helen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.