We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Marrakech to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #77 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Marrakech and we chose the 'safe' option of staying at The Four Seasons. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens and has a really stunning pool (with a separate one for children). The choice of restaurants is good and there was a really great pop up bar open when we were there. The Medina is a very easy 5 minute taxi ride away and it is actually lovely to return to the tranquility of the hotel at the end of a busy day haggling in the souks. The staff were all really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: It was really nice having a view of the pool and gardens, you can also see the Atlas mountains in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear BartandLisa88,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and as always hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
SIncerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    81
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
145
173
11
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

After having stayed at FS Marrakech in June 2012 and having encountered some teething problems, I was very much satisfied with my second stay there. The resort is now up and running and staff have learnt the lesson, the level of service is now to par with other FS hotels and resorts around the world. What I noticed was the management added some moroccan touches to the resort which was a great addition, and created a very nice setting. Private Room pop up lounge was exquisitely decorated and cocktails were okay, however it's sad to see there was nobody there on a Friday evening. The staff were great, very helpful and all smiles from doormen to pool attendants. I did some shopping at the resort's boutique which had some great finds, I just couldn't resist buying the hotel's signature scent that you can smell in the lobby, blissful. The bed was heavenly, and the bathroom great as well, however some flower arrangements in the room would've been appreciated. That's what you would expect at 500+ EUR a night. Room service was outstanding (great cheeseburgers) and Azerra Restaurant by the pool served okay food if what you need is a snack in between tanning sessions. The adults pool is exquisite and quiet which is a great bonus. I found the breakfast spread to be rather poor, especially after having experienced breakfast spreads in top hotels in Asia. However you can order any item you like, just make sure you do that. Upon checkout unfortunately, I had a very poor experience with one of the staff (Abderrahim). If you refer to my previous review of June 2012, it was the same staff that delivered a disappointing level of service. Due to a miscommunication as to a double occupation of the room (instead of 1 adult), I was told there would be an extra charge for the second adult, however no mention of this was done upon checking in, so I didn't expect this. And Abderrahim couldn't care less, just stared and told me that payment for the room was already made so we had to pay the additional charge. This was unprofessional and I should've been notified right from the beginning. Proactiveness is a must, especially in the hotel industry. A little while after though, I had a much better checkout experience with Ilyas who was very courteous and dealt with the minor situation in a very professional and polite way. I hope that in my next visit, check-in and check-out will be completely seamless and fast, with no hidden charges or problems. And I insist that reception staff, especially the one I mentioned, need extensive training as to how to treat hotel guests and how to present minor issues in a favourable way to avoid customer dissatisfaction. There's a lot of competition in Marrakech and I wouldn't hesitate to book Mandarin Oriental when it opens, so the management needs to deal with this, especially since my last review went unanswered by the GM. Otherwise, this is a great property and it was a real pleasure staying here once again. Definitely recommend it if you want a sophisticated yet very relaxing stay in Marrakech.

Room Tip: If you're booking a Superior Room, go for 217. It's got a great view of the main fountain in...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear HassanBen,

Thank you very much for your review and your detailed feedback about our resort. We especially appreciate it since it was your second review and we are glad to see that we have improved since your frist stay. Rest assured that we take all of our reviewer's feedback seriously and we use these reviews to continuously train our staff.
Please feel free to contact me at 0661 46 73 58 if you would like to discuss any further points in detail and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is classic 4 seasons. It has touches of Morocco but you could be anywhere. That said the: service, facilities, accommodation and atmosphere are all superb. We are enjoying a 5 day break as a family of 4 with 2 kids ages 9 & 7 and the hotel is exactly what we needed. If you want to know what you're getting this is place to be only 3.5 hours from London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Daniel A,
Thank you for your recent stay with us as a family. We are glad you enjoyed it and agree with you: Our location and our services are perfect for a great family vacation, especially since Marrakech is so close to all European Major hubs.
We hope you will come back in the Summer for some fun in the sun and great pool time.
Regards,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, CA
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at a couple dozen Four Seasons hotels, with our favorites being Hong Kong, Carmelo (Uruguay), and Lisbon. In fact, we came to FS-Marrakech after having stayed at FS-Lisbon. This is the first time I've given "only" four stars to a Four Seasons, but I want to be clear that it is still my preferred place to stay in Marrakech. As a relatively new (less than two years?) resort it just has a bit of work to do - much of which comes from experience.

First, the good. Architecturally it is a spectacular place, perhaps a bit modern for some, but very well executed. Like many people we contemplated staying at a five star hotel right in the Medina, but we're glad we didn't. Even in a relaxing luxurious riad the intensity can be felt, and it always felt good to take that 5-10 minute cab ride back to the Four Seasons calm oasis. We had dinner one night at the La Maison Arabe, which is also a great hotel, but I think we'd still stay at the FS.

Other items of note: the breakfast spread is fantastic, probably better than most FS we've stayed at (except Hong Kong, which is a bit over the top!). My wife had a massage and reported it was fantastic. The pools are incredible. Drinks in the bar were very tasty and laundry was perfect.

So where can it improve? Even with the "areas for improvement" I was going to still give this FS five stars until an incident on the last night. We got back from the Medina exhausted (more on why below) and just wanted a drink and a very light dinner. We loved the bar and we knew the bar waiter was great, so we sat down and ordered a drink. As we wanted a bit more than just bar food, we asked if we could order a simple salad from the restaurant that's immediately downstairs from the bar. The waiter checked with his manager, who said no - we'd have to actually "go to the restaurant during the hours the restaurant was open." It's the first time we've been told "no" at a FS, and even the waiter seemed a bit embarrassed. At the FS in Costa Rica we loved sitting in the lounge listening to live music while sampling food from the various restaurants. So this was a bit stunning, disappointing, and in my opinion the "killer of the five star rating." Sorry. Is it really that hard, or against policy, to bring a salad up one flight of stairs?

Other areas for improvement: we had a bad taxi experience on the last night. The FS called us a taxi to go to the Medina, and when we got there the taxi pawned us off on someone else to walk us a block into the souks, who then basically tried to extort us for a large amount of money. Really ruined the experience for my wife. I know the FS can't be entirely responsible, but they should probably vet some drivers and use those predominantly.

On a related note we took the FS courtesy car (a beautiful Range Rover, also used for airport pickups!) into the Medina one night, and it was very crowded. The FS driver became very frustrated, and finally just pulled to a stop a couple blocks away, opened the doors, and just pointed for us to get out and walk. We had no idea really where we were.

We booked the FS half-day tour of the Medina, which was really good... until the tour guide did everything possible to take us to specific stores where he was obviously going to get a commission. He could have been a bit more discrete - just pointing out the better stores and asking (once!) if we'd like to go in.

We booked the FS full day excursion to the berber village, and this was also really good. Except that we had told the concierge that we were vegetarian, and this wasn't communicated to the guide. Since there's a very interesting cooking class (where you're also expected to eat), this became a problem. Also - be aware (as the FS didn't make it clear) that the road is EXTREMELY winding, and on cliff edges, so it can be unnerving or even cause car sickness in some.

The dinner menu at the only restaurant, was surprisingly limited - especially for vegetarians like ourselves. We basically decided after the first night that we'd have to eat elsewhere. Again, in Costa Rica, we ate in hotel restaurants for 10 out of 11 nights, and I don't think we had the same thing twice. The waiter at was excellent though, and did his best to accommodate us.

The breakfast selection was very good, and the waiters were good, but every morning there appeared to be some chaos (with ourselves and several others) regarding the bills. It wouldn't arrive, was wrong, etc. Just not as "effortless and invisible" as at other FS.

The only other item of note is that this FS is considerable noisier than others, due to the stone floors and hallways that echo quite a bit. It was annoying the first day, but we got used to it after that. And, like we say with pretty much every FS review, we really wish this FS would follow the lead of FS-Singapore and have a "couples floor" (or section) - does a nice job of keeping things quiet.

Much of the above I'm guessing is growing pains, and soon will be worked out. And as I said at the beginning, we would definitely stay here again before anyplace else in Marrakech. And we loved Marrakech!

Oh, one final note. Recognizing the local customs, we tried to be respectful in terms of dress. My wife wore a scarf and long pants every day, even in the hotel. We were a bit surprised and embarrassed with the scantily-clad tourists in the Medina. The hotel is one thing (although we tried there too), but the Medina and especially religious areas is another.

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the family pool can get noisy. Also hallway noise is more than at most FS, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear LeanCEO,
Thank you very much for your very detailed review of our resort. We have reviewed every point, good and bad, of your review with our staff and will make the necessary changes to continuously improve the overall guest experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having spent more than a decade in Asia, I dare to say that the level of quality and luxury at the 4 Seasons and other super lux resorts in Marrakech is at a higher level than the best in Asia.

For our trip, the 4Seasons was an outstanding blend of luxury, location and style. An absolute must stay if you have children who will need a break from souks, medina and general intensity of Marrakech.

It's rare that I can find nothing wrong with a hotel/resort, but this time I am stumped.

Room Tip: With kids, a 'suite' by the main pool is a huge advantage. It is one hop, skip and a jump to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Peter M,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort and are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. We agree, we do have a great location to be able to easily access the Medina, yet be able to relax in peace and quiet after a day in the hustle and bustle of the Medina, poolside, with maybe a relaxing spa massage on the horizon. There really is nothing better than that...
Again, thank you for writing a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

perfect resort, fantastic staff a memorable experience. The staff cant do enough for you. The room was spotless with a great terrace and a truly wonderful bathroom. The spa treatments were first class and they did everything to accomodate us and move bookings from the sunday to the saturday as it was raining on the saturday afternoon. The gym is probably one of the best i have come across in hotels of this standing and i would highly recommend the new bar which opened the day we arrived above the italian restaurant. The resort is not cheap but certainly get what you pay for in every sense

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear dnm1972,
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time out of your daily schedule to write a review about your stay at our resort. I was excited to see that you enjoyed the Spa and also our Pop Up Lounge and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I went to this new hotel in Marrakech for the first time to participate in an international investment conference and I was simply charmed by the quality and beauty of the place. Superb architecture, lovely deign, excellent service and most efficient inference logistics. A most pleasant and delightful stay. Will certainly come back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Nazha A,

Thank you for your review of our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share yuor feedback and are glad to see that you enjoyed it so much. We hope you will come back for a leisure vacation next time.
Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Marrakech

Address: 1 Boulevard de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech refreshed: Located adjacent to the Menara Gardens, just a five minute drive from the exotic energy of the ancient Medina, Four Seasons offers a fresh Moroccan perspective: a calming resort-hotel with a light Moroccan touch. The inspiring retreat combines an impressive spa, landscaped pools, gardens and event space with a contemporary design that augments the sense of airy luminosity. Welcoming and uplifting, the hotel offers couples, families and groups a stylish oasis within an intriguing ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.