We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant but dissapointing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Marrakech to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“pleasant but dissapointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I am a big fan of the Four Season's brand so perhaps the bar was set too high when we arrived. I was there for a small conference and sadly the hotel felt more of a ubiquitous conference center than a luxury resort in exotic Marrakech. In fact the design of the hotel didn't resemble the location at all, looking more as it would be at home in Arizona than reflective of the romance and culture of Morocco. The service too was certainly pleasant and attentive, but here again it felt corporately congenial. We had been promised an upgrade upon arrival and at check in no one said a word and diligently put us in a regular room while they worked their way through the check in line. The room was adequate, but if you are going to raise a customer's hopes of an upgrade, you put a bad taste in their mouths from the outset if you don't honor it, especially in a half filled hotel. I said something to the manager at check out, and I got the pleasant smile saying one wasn't available - which was interesting considering the 50% occupancy and the fact others in my conference were upgraded. A measure of care in reading our record prior to quickly processing us in a room would have alleviated this.
The grounds were well manicured and the room was clean and efficiently designed. I will say that much of the common spaces seemed empty or incomplete, as if they had run out of money furnishing this huge property.
Meals were fine, but the tiny bar and it's one bartender was easily overwhelmed by our group when we descended upon it for after dinner drinks and conversation. This lead to long waits for drinks.
After touring some of the charming other hotels in the city, we came away from this experience as we had missed an opportunity to experience the flavor of the city and its many charms and history by staying in an overly corporate and westernized property. It's not like the Four Season's to miss this badly and I fear this hotel was designed in a board room in Canada instead of capturing the local spirit of Marrakech.
If you are a timid soul and feel more at home in the west but just want to sneak out for a taste of the Medina and then retreat back to the comfort and familiarity of a westernized hotel, this place is for you. If you want to feel the full experience of being in Morocco, then maybe not.

Room Tip: second floor rooms in the garden are more private than ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear trvljournalist,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am saddend to see that we did not meet your expectation during your stay.
Our resort is a calm oasis where the authenticity of Marrakech can be enjoyed in comfort and style with friendly, relaxed Moroccan hospitality. We offer a contemporary and nuanced perspective on the ancient city’s colourful blend of cultures and sensations.
We hope to welcome you in the near future on a leisure visit.
Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    92
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
157
192
14
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Sadly for me I was only visiting the hotel for lunch, as I would loved to have stayed. The Hotel is beautifully designed, light and airy ( so different to La Mamounia, which is dark and dated)If you are choosing a hotel, choose this one! The staff were all very helpful and we had a lovely lunch there. The food is not cheap but you get what you pay for, and it was delicious! The pool areas look fabulous, as you would expect from a FS resort. Having stayed in FS Sharm , it was quite similar. Hope to return and stay next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear sunseekerli123,
Thank you for such a nice review of our resort. We couldn't agree more with you: Our resort offers a contemporary and nuanced perspective on the ancient city’s colourful blend of cultures and sensations. The resort is a calm oasis where the authenticity of Marrakech can be enjoyed in comfort and style with friendly, relaxed Moroccan hospitality.
We hope to welcome you very soon at our resort.
Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Stayed there on a BMW Motorrad product launch event and stayed at the Four Seasons for 3 days and what an positive experience. The service was the best I have ever experienced, the food was wonderful - exotic, Morrocan with an European touch.

Spend a couple of afternoons by the pool and the service was absolute the best. The life guards and the waiters at the cafe were very attentive and kind. Brought clean and dry towels when we needed them (and even when we didn't need them), provided us with sun lotion, moved the parasols etc. - still without being overattentive.

Would really like to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear JaneL0809,

Thank you for your nice review of our resort. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during the BMW launch. We were very proud to have been chosen for such a prestigious event.
I have shared your feedback with our staff and they were very excited to hear it. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the FS Marrakech in September for 5 nights and had nothing short of an excellent stay. The hotel is beautiful. I was nervous because many reviews said that it was lacking in local design but I think it had the perfect touches of local flair. It was subtle but we tend to lean towards modern anyways. The architecture and landscaping was beautiful. The spa was also worth visiting. We stayed in a Pavilion Room and it was wonderful. They are in the free standing casitas if you will overlooking the resort. Next time I would try the Pavilion suite which was below our room but had a plunge pool. The service was phenomenal from the pool person to the individual in charge of creating experiences. She helped me plan an unforgettable afternoon for my husband's birthday. I would definitely recommend the hotel to couples, singles looking for some R&R and families. In fact the family pool was possibly more stunning than the adult pool! Worth the trekk to Marrakech. Well done Four Seasons.

Room Tip: Stay in the free standing casitas not the main building for a more unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Globaltraveller000,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our resort. I was very glad that you noticed how we are all about creating wonderful experiences or a "World of Wonder" for our guests. I have shared your feedback with our staff, which continues to motivate them to do better every day.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el dorado hills
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel situated close to town, not that you really want to leave. Fabulous room with lovely view. We were here with BMW for a conference and the food was terrible, boring and to be honest in edible.
The pool service was poor, no one would come by and ask if we needed anything so 0 score there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guernseyman,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectation, but as you were part of the group we asked you colleagues for feedback and we were pleased to fid out that we exceeded their expectations during their stay. Again, we are sorry we didn't meet yours and would love to try next time.
Please don't hesitate to contact me at 00212 534 359 230 should you wish to discuss this further.
Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Beautiful facility w wonderful help and food. However, for parts of our first three days we had no water and the fourth day no hot water at the time we wanted to shower before dinner. And the AC is far less than what it should be. Lastly when they took us to dinner in the hotel car it was more than ten times a taxi-i understand gross ups but the only thing missing was the gun and mask. This Four Seasons is a very poor reflection on the chain and I for one am done w them

Room Tip: My tip is another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest rjb826,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am saddened to see that you did not enjoy it. Please know that the water issue you experienced, have been fixed and we are sorry that this affected your stay.
If you would like to discuss any of these issues further, please do not hesitate me directly at 00212 524 359 230.
Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a four night break in January 2013. We enjoyed most aspects of our stay enormously, the only slight irritation was on our first night in the Italian restaurant when we were told to "Hurry up and eat your starter as your main course is here".
Other than that the staff were very helpful, including when we had gone out one evening to the Fna Square and left our safe open, we called the hotel to let them know and security managed the situation and our valuables were safely locked away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our resort. I will share your nice comments with our security team that assisted you and will also share your feedback about your dining experience with the appropriate managers at the resort to ensure it doesn't happen again.

Again, we appreciate your review and hope to see you in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Marrakech

Address: 1 Boulevard de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech refreshed: Located adjacent to the Menara Gardens, just a five minute drive from the exotic energy of the ancient Medina, Four Seasons offers a fresh Moroccan perspective: a calming resort-hotel with a light Moroccan touch. The inspiring retreat combines an impressive spa, landscaped pools, gardens and event space with a contemporary design that augments the sense of airy luminosity. Welcoming and uplifting, the hotel offers couples, families and groups a stylish oasis within an intriguing ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.