We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful haven in a sea of madness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #76 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven in a sea of madness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a four night break in January 2013. We enjoyed most aspects of our stay enormously, the only slight irritation was on our first night in the Italian restaurant when we were told to "Hurry up and eat your starter as your main course is here".
Other than that the staff were very helpful, including when we had gone out one evening to the Fna Square and left our safe open, we called the hotel to let them know and security managed the situation and our valuables were safely locked away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our resort. I will share your nice comments with our security team that assisted you and will also share your feedback about your dining experience with the appropriate managers at the resort to ensure it doesn't happen again.

Again, we appreciate your review and hope to see you in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    71
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
114
135
8
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days at the end of January. The weather was warmer than expected so we lazed by the pool most days. Some days we had the place to ourselves. It was very quiet, which for us was perfect. The staff were so helpful. They tended to our every need. Nothing was too much trouble. Everything about this hotel is perfect, not just the staff, but the breakfast, the cleanliness, the spacious room, the lounge and bar..... The hotel provides a courtesy car (v nice range rover with tinted windows and leather interior) to take you to any restaurant in the evening. The only drawback is getting ripped off by taxi drivers in unroadworthy cars with no lights on the way back!
We stayed in a standard room, which had a huge bed, balcony, tea and coffee making facilities, (expensive) mini bar, walk in wardrobe, decent sized safe, big tv with English channels (so you can remind yourself how cold and wet it is at home!). The bathroom had a big walk in shower and huge sunken bath (big enough for 2). It also had a hilarious space age toilet which had all sorts of options..... The toiletries are l'occitane. The rooms were cleaned twice a day with fresh towels, clothes folded, bottled water replenished, slippers laid out etc.
The hotel is a 10 min drive from the airport. You see the occasional plane, but it's barely noticeable.
I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff are best i have ever encountered. The only downside is it being a 15 min drive into town and having the feeling of taking your life in your hands with the taxi ride back. If the hotel had 3 or 4 restaurants, you could stay put and it wouldn't be an issue.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest Andreainessex,

I would like to thank you for writing such a wonderful review of our resort. I have shared your feedback with all of our colleagues at the resort and everyone is very proud and happy and would like to say "Shukran" to you.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've been debating for a few months about writing this review because we did like the resort: we had a lovely suite, the food was good, the spa was heavenly, and it was a lovely setting, BUT the service in general was just not up to scratch. Each of the things that went wrong was a small annoyance, but not one aspect of our stay, from check-in to departure, went smoothly, which marred the trip.

There were lots of very friendly staff and a few who really seemed to get it, but there was a general lack of coordination and staff empowerment. For example, it is all great to have a guy in a suit greet you when you arrive but we really wanted one of those hot/cool towels (I don't know which it was as we never got one) to wipe the travel dust off and one of those cool drinks we saw being carried on a tray (while we were waiting and without having to hunt down someone to ask). I'm not going to list everything, but there were two instances that were particularly disappointing:

It made our blood boil that the pool staff reserved the best spots by the family pool for VIPs. Definitely not cool. There were at least 10 loungers at the pool edge empty and we refused to be relegated to a spot farther away. It was definitely not the case that someone had taken a brief absence as one of the sets of chairs was still empty when we left and we got to see how a target family was treated when they arrived.

We were also unhappy with the guide that the hotel arranged, again perfectly nice but lacking in cultural awareness - we were put off by comments like "Berbers are tall and handsome like me, Arabs are short and fat with big noses," and jokes about polygamy and enjoying shocking European women by telling them that the flag pole on the minaret tower is used to hang disobedient wives. I'm sure someone else would have found him charming, and perhaps we don't have the same sense of humour, but this experience was not up to the standard of tour guides we've booked through FS before.

Breakfast staff were particularly lovely, the spa therapist who gave me the hamman experience was fantastic, and our housekeeper was also very accommodating (once we realised no one had passed on our preferences and she and I spoke directly).

So, why did I debate writing this review? Because it was a nice place to visit, probably even more so if you have small children, and Marrakech is a great location for a short trip in the sun from Europe. But if they want to make it as good as other FS resorts they still have work to do on the service front.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear BrownOwlLondon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our resort. I am saddened to see that you did not experience the service levels you Four Seasons is known for. Rest assured, we will use your review to improve services and we have already done so in many areas since your stay.

Again, I would like to apologize for these inconsistencies in our service that you experienced and invite you to contact me in person at 00212 661 46 73 58 if you would like to discuss this in more detail.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

For a winter break you cant beat Marrakech. Warm and sunny during the day but cold at night.
A great place to stay and highly recommended then The Four Seasons Hotel takes some beating. The hotel is beautifully presented and the surrounding grounds are just perfect. Our room and en suite shower and bathroom were contemporary luxury of the highest standard but with an elegant Moroccan twist. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were friendly and courteous but also very helpful with advice on the best places to visit during our stay. Every day fresh fruit and tiny morsels of Moroccan delicacies were left in our room for us to sample and every evening a member of staff drove us into Marrakech to try out yet another restaurant they had said we should try before we left. Nothing disappointed and nothing failed to please. It is only four hours away from the snow, ice and rain in the U.K. What's not to like?

Room Tip: On the third floor over the central garden and looking over the Atlas Mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear knightsgofar,

Thank you for your kind review of our resort. I am excited to see that you enjoyed it so much and I couldn't agree with you more: Marrakech is perfect for a little sun and warmth in the winter and our resort is in a great location to also explore the Medina at the same time.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I have been to Marrakech a few times, always staying in a Riad in the Medinah. On this trip, looking for some winter sun, we took our three kids with us, and felt a resort hotel was a better option. This hotel did not disappoint and was superb in every respect. Super efficient staff, luxurious rooms, great pool, tennis courts and gym, all in a well-manicured setting. This hotel was so good that you could easily forget you were staying in a branded hotel - just great all-round. Prices for the kids was also very reasonable - though expensive for adults - and worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear londontraveller655,

I would like to thank you for your review. It was nice seeing that you enjoyed our resort so much and especially with your 3 children, who I am sure enjoyed either the Kids Club with it's daily programs or our wonderful Teen Center, depending on their ages. We hope that you enjoyed being so close to the Medina to go Souk Shopping but still have a wonderful relaxing and quiet atmosphere in our resort.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It was all we wanted to see, trully moroccan style. Everything was just so beautiful felt like I was on Sex and the city 2. The staff was great, I couldn't ask for a better service. They really have everything to make you spend the best time you could wish to have in a hotel. I recommand it to anybody that care about good places where to rest in a beautiful environment. If you want to see marrakech just stay at this hotel there is absolutely nothing wrong about it !!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Elmed A,

Thank you for your nice review of our resort and your kind words. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the very near future. We have shared your comments with everybody at our recent staff meeting and it made us all very proud. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

In a couple of words: we go to marrakesh every year. This is simply the best place. Everything is perfect.
The amazing stuff:
- concierge desk. They get everything done for you and are really nice;
- the kids' club: fantastic and our daughter loved it;
- rooms: spacious (we took the pavilion) and with great terraces;
- the people: all nice, efficient and slick;
- the director: despite the size of the hotel, he is always present and interacts in a personal way.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear lostrilone,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are excited to see that you enjoyed the resort's staff and the amenities and services we provide. We will share your great feedback with our employees and it will certainly make everybody very proud.

Thank you again and please come back to visit in the near future.

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Marrakech

Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech Hotel
Address: 1 Boulevard de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech refreshed: Located adjacent to the Menara Gardens, just a five minute drive from the exotic energy of the ancient Medina, Four Seasons offers a fresh Moroccan perspective: a calming resort-hotel with a light Moroccan touch. The inspiring retreat combines an impressive spa, landscaped pools, gardens and event space with a contemporary design that augments the sense of airy luminosity. Welcoming and uplifting, the hotel offers couples, families and groups a stylish oasis within an intriguing ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.