We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worthy the Four Seasons Brand” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Marrakech to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #78 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not Worthy the Four Seasons Brand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Not sure how this property got all the good reviews. Currently staying here and more than disappointed. Have been fortunate enough to experience other Four Seasons and this one is clearly not up to the standard.

@Check-in: They emailed me in advance asking for the guests name (good). Only then to address everybody by my name (really bad). So why bother asking me at all? Furthermore, check-in was unnecessary long.

@Room: Got room with no view on ground floor (which they call deluxe, not lowest category) despite promises to the contrary before. Reception told me I got worst room, because only pay special rate (which is correct, but still 400 Euro per night). So unless you pay top rate, you are treated as second class citizen.

In addition, room was not properly cleaned. Windows at least not cleaned for two weeks. If you position yourself as 5+ star property and currently charge up to 700 Euro/ night for standard room, you might consider cleaning the windows more often. Room also misses a desk to work which I find surprising. Plus, e.g. fittings in bathroom or furniture not of highest quality (more like 4 star hotel and not comparable to FS Park Lane in London).

Even worse, my friends were put in room with connecting door and NO noise isolation. They can hear everything what is said and done in room next to theirs. Talking to reception did not even get a feedback. Manager has now acknowledged the problem (we are aware), but can´t help (as hotel booked). My advice: Tell people when they book and they can then make a decision if they want to come despite that.

@Service level: They are trying, but for a hotel now open since 1.5 years they should have figured it out by now. Apparently, breakfast room too small for a full hotel (don´t ask). Instead of a) opening other restaurant for breakfast, b) offering in room breakfast for free or c) offering breakfast until 12 instead of 10:30am, hotel has decided to use banquet chairs and tables in addition. Never mind that whole atmosphere of place is being destroyed by non fitting furniture.

@Resort: Definetely not five stars. Gym & sauna (both too small for hotel this size) not connected to main building. So guests have to walk there with coat (currently cold at night and in the mornings). Same story for spa. Tennis courts are clay - which is great in case you make sure everybody plays with proper shoes. That is not the case. Btw: Gym machines are not disinfected after usage. Sauna is not heated.

Overall, this is at best a four star property (when compared to places like Dubai, Maldives, Austria etc.). Certainly not up to usual Four Seasons standards.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Jens1974,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectation during your recent visit at our resort.

As advised in the email correspondence with you prior to your arrival, we were not able to confirm an upgraded room until the day of your arrival due as the New Year's Eve dates are a very busy time in Marrakech. On the day of your arrival, we had no upgrades available and assigned a room in the room category you reserved and we chose a room that all of our guests enjoy the most due to it's high ceiling and a private terrace. We are sorry that you did not enjoy this room.

We have trained our staff to provide the best service to our guests and to create long lasting memories and we are very proud about the service we provide to our guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we are sorry we did not meet your expectation.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    89
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
151
188
14
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Luxury - peace and calm - uber stylish - and worth every penny. At first we stayed in a Riad in the Medina, but what a dump! We were very happy to move to the Four Seasons. Everything here is faultless. The staff are friendly and welcoming - and very professional. The food is top quality and edible - unlike most of the stuff found within the Medina. You will be very happy to stay here rather than a Riad. As always, a faultless product from the Four Seasons family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear TobyJake,

Thank you for your nice review of our resort. We are very happy that you enjoyed it so much and hope to welcome you back soon. Please let us know how we can assist in creating a truly personalized experience the next time you come back.

Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parede, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Could not think of a better weekend getaway from Europe. A short flight to paradise.
Got to the Four Seasons Resort Marrakech just in 5 minutes ride from the airport.
It is not easy to describe the feeling: great service, top facilities, excellent food, etc...
One as to go there to feel it!
Will be back soon for sure. This time without kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Paulo G,

I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us so much. We could not agree more: It is perfect for a short break, especially from Portugal with such a short flight, both with kids AND also just as a couple as we have 2 separate pools: One for families and then the other one for couples and adults (Quiet Pool). We hope to see you again at the Resort soon.

Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This five star hotel oozes luxury from the miute you step onto the pathway leading to Reception.

One of the top five hotels I have ever stayed at.

The Hotel is situated only five minutes drive from the Airport and easy access to touring the local farming areas leading to the Atlas Mountains.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the gardens and perhaps adjacent to the Solano Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear PhillipKorn,

Thank you for your great review of our resort and I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much. We have worked hard in the last 2 years to create special experiences for all of our guests.

We hope to see you again at the Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel was beautiful, very very smart with lovely outside seating areas, pools and was simply stunning, Think its only very new. Food was amazing, service was faultless, would love to stay again. Amazing views of the Atlas mountains and only 10 mins from the airport which was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Tracey C,

Thank you for your lovely review. It is very much to the point and highlights all the things that I too believe makes our resort great: Lovely staff, great layout and amenities and gorgeous views of the mountains.

We hope to see you again at the Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Four Seasons in Marrakech during November. It is still very warm here compared to the UK, and it was nice to enjoy the weather. The hotel itself is very palatial and quite big. When I was being taken to my bungalow it felt like I'd never find my way back to reception! The room was very clean and was very comfortable, the bath and shower were nice and big in all senses of the word. The food at the hotel was good, at breakfast there was a fair choice although sausages and bacon seem only the same in name to that served in the UK! The location is very handy being near the airport, however once outside the hotels boundaries it is a very different place to that environment in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Arnage_T,

Thank you for your nice review of our resort and the great comments.

I am glad you liked the resort layout and our location: It is a perfect way to explore the Medina and all of it's treasures, yet be able to disconnect and relax in peace and quiet by our pool or in the Spa.

Ps: The weather is still amazing here and all throughout the winer with beautiful sunshine and blue skies and around 15-20 degerees Celsius during the day.

We hope to see you again at the Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

A Great Four seasons resort, the staff are all very helpful, the property is fantastic, they have a super spa, and separate gym facility. It is close (but without any noise) to the airport. The medina and Center of town is a quick ride away. A very well run property...Very peaceful, great multiple swimming pools... Really good base to explore Marrakesh and day trip into the High Atlas Mountains...

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Markqn1,

Merci beaucoup for your review of our resort. We are glad you liked it and will share your feedback with our employees who get a lot of motivation out of these reviews to continue to create memorable experiences.

We hope to see you again at the Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,
Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Marrakech

Address: 1 Boulevard de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech refreshed: Located adjacent to the Menara Gardens, just a five minute drive from the exotic energy of the ancient Medina, Four Seasons offers a fresh Moroccan perspective: a calming resort-hotel with a light Moroccan touch. The inspiring retreat combines an impressive spa, landscaped pools, gardens and event space with a contemporary design that augments the sense of airy luminosity. Welcoming and uplifting, the hotel offers couples, families and groups a stylish oasis within an intriguing ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.