We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Marrakech to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #78 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

What a superb hotel. Our room was lovely and the staff were fastidious in their desire to make our stay stress free and enjoyable. There were so many great touches. If we left our books lying around in the room the staff popped in a book mark for us; if we took a taxi from the hotel they provided us with fresh water bottles for the journey; they provided us with free water melon and ice cream when sitting round the pool. The general manager was attentive and responsive to our comments and has done a great job in ensuring his staff follow strict guidelines in customer service. Food although a little on the pricey side was extremely well-presented and tasty. Thank you Four Seasons. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    89
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
151
188
14
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

As usual, Four Seasons perfection. Our room was spacious and immaculate. The staff were top-notch and service was excellent. The FS Marrakech has done a wonderful job of incorporating local design and flair into this property while balancing the brand's usual tasteful neutral style. At this property, you know you're in Morocco- from the plethora of beautiful lanterns, elaborate archways, the man serving mint tea in the lobby- the whole hotel is beautiful. The grounds are gorgeous- palm trees everywhere. They have done a great job with this hotel. It's also a great location, very close to the Medina but away from the hustle and bustle. I've been wanting to go to Morocco for a long time, and when the FS opened a hotel in Marrakech, I knew it was time to go! Just a perfect stay all around. You can't go wrong with a FS!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at the Four Seasons Resort for four nights in a Premier room (490 EUR/night) with a great view on the entire resort and the Atlas Mountains. We enjoyed a fantastic time in Marrakech and also had a good time in the hotel, but the hotel was failing on some key points it just shouldn't. We have informed the concierge on our second day and the receptionist at departure, but there was no reaction from the hotel.

The hotel is located between the airport and the Medina. It takes around 10 minutes to get to "la place" at a cost of around 30 to 50 MAD in a mini taxi.

The facilities of the hotel are great. The spa is reasonably priced and is very relaxing. The staff at the reception, the concierge, and the guys at the taxi pick up were outstandingly nice and helpful. The resort is quite large and has to offer something for everyone.

Room service is highly inconsistent. It's so inconsistent that you can't believe it, especially when considering that it should be a five star hotel. No replacement of empty shower gel bottles, missing toilet paper, taking away half full bottles of water and not replacing them, not making up the room, etc... we called the room service number at least 20 times during our stay. And the best, the next day they made the very same mistakes - unbelievable. I've traveled in many five star hotels around the world and I'm generally not that picky, but it was just so noticeable.

One evening we decided to eat at the Blue Orange restaurant in the resort. The venue is quite spectacular but that was quickly destroyed by a disastrous service and a highly impolite manager. I must say that the staff and the processes in our company canteen are more professional than in this restaurant. And check your bills, they had errors in ours. The food was ok, but nothing special.

At breakfast they serve great pastries. During the week we had a very relaxed breakfast and almost everything seemed fine. Well, I ordered black tea every morning and they brought some herbal tea instead - each time. On Saturday morning there were more guests at breakfast and the managers were all running and commanding around, and you could feel and see that the staff were stressed by the presence of the managers.

Would we recommend the hotel? If you are not picky about an inconsistent room service and if you are willing to eat out every night, then I could recommend the hotel. But they should dramatically improve these elementary hotel service components.

Room Tip: Premier rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear SwissGlobalTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and for the invaluable feedback you have given us. I am sorry that your experience was not what you had expected but please know that we have already raised your concersn in regards to Room Service inconsistencies with our Chef and our Director of Food & Beverage and are taking the necessary steps to improve in this area.

Should you wish to discuss this further, I welcome your call at ++ 212 661 46 73 58 and again, I thank you for your feedback and we hope to have you back soon at the resort to experience the improvements for yourself.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

A fairly inauspicious start - 20 minutes before the welcome drink arrived, dark room with a view of a nearby block of flats - eventually gave way to a thoroughly memorable and enjoyable stay. After a few other hiccups, the hotel number two, Nick Yarnell, moved us to a delightful suite with an equally delightful view. From that point on we could not fault the hotel. The staff (friendly and efficient), the amenities (kids and adult only pools), the rooftop bar (great DJ), and of course the food (varied and delicious), combined with highly professional hotel management means that we will return next year.

Room Tip: Management is very responsive. So if you have any issues raise them at once and don't wait to po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Lovely property,great pools,comfortable rooms........had all the characteristics of what would be expected from a 4 Seasons Hotel. We arrived for a 13 night stay and were greeted with mint tea and a relaxed welcoming check in . The weather was fantastic and all fared well for a great restful vacation.
But..........our experience was marred by service inconsistency, a very average food choice (keep well clear of the Moroccan restaurant where they destroyed the traditional tagine), the noise from an open air roof top bar. and an over night pool cleaning team scraping heavy pool furniture across tiled surfaces.
Most people would only visit the hotel for a 3 or 4 night stay and want to take advantage of the variety of restaurants in Marrakech. So its difficult to build an interesting food offer at the hotel. But after 9 or so months of operation this should have been fixed.
The lack of service consistency is more surprising. Four nights without turn down;when it came there would be a night with water, then a night without. A night with replacement toiletries ,then a night without.Basically not the seamless service usually provided by 4 Seasons.
But I guess this is manageable.
But try 3 nights of broken sleep because of ridiculous noise levels. Two nights due to the the opening of a new open air roof top bar;which is set right in the centre of the resort over looking the children's pool. Standing in reception at 12.30 am asking that the DJ turn down the volume was not a great experience. The same happened the next night; having been promised that it would not happen again. Eventually on the second night the Front Office Manager came to the room and was visibly shocked by the noise level. But 2 nights of appalling late noise; more appropriate to the 18-30 Club, not a 4 Seasons was not fun
.And then a third night of noise as the pool team jet washed the pool area and didn't bother to lift the heavy sunbeds, but just scraped them across the floor.
Both of these examples seemed to illustrate just a lack of management fore-thought and eye for detail .Very disappointing.
To be fair ,the management team did re-act and refunded 2 nights of room charge and provided a complimentary dinner. But we would rather have had a relaxing time.
This hotel has potential to be very good...........................but needs work.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Mike B,

I would like to thank you for your very detailed feedback about our resort and at the same time apologize for not meeting your expectation on your recent stay.

You have raised very interesting points that we have reviewed with managers in Housekeeping, Restaurants and all other areas to address the points you have raised.

My apologies also for the noise level from Zest Rooftop Lounge: We were celebrating the opening of the lounge during your stay and had higher than usual noise levels. Please know that the Zest Lounge has since adapted a very laid back and soothing music lounge style, which does not affect our guests negatively at all.

Should you wish to discuss anf of this further, I welcome your call at ++ 212 661 46 73 58 and thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have you back soon at the resort to experience the improvements for yourself.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed for five nights in May - very hot (41C).

The hotel is on the whole very good, with some minor issues that were dealt with in one of the most professional reactions I have seen from a hotel and it's management team.

Pros:
* Very well designed
* Gardens are superb for a hotel open less than a year
* Excellent beds - as with all FS hotels
* Breakfast is fairly limited compared to Dubai and SE Asian 5* hotels, but sometimes less is more - the fruit was delicious and the omlettes to order very tasty. The milk seemed to be UHT, so we switched to espressos - as many as you can handle!
* Great staff - genuinely friendly and aimed to please
* Superb pool area (adults and kids pools both brilliant and brilliantly separate)
* Transfer and immigration clearance was slick
* Free shuttles to local restuarants, whilst busy is actually a Mercedes and driver is there's just two of you - a nice touch
* Pool service was good
* Good management - Nick the GM was a good guy
* Saria the concierge was excellent - good suggestions and left printed notes confirming what she had booked - very helpful.

Cons:
* Checking in took too long for a hotel at <50% occupancy - lot's of people saying hello and shaking your hand etc. - they should really work out a way to do the check in formalities IN the room itself
* Room service/turn-down was a bit of a farce. Example: If you called to say "can you do this later whilst we we are out?" the response was "are you refusing the turn-down service?" Er, no not exactly......
* Mini-bar not re-stocked with beer and/or glasses
* Asked for extra coat-hangers - took 2 days
* Dirty cups/plates left outside room for two days...
* Laundry shrank two of my wife's tops.......I could go on, but it's more important to comment that although it took a few times to get the message across, when it hit Nick, the GM - they really were very serious at addressing our concerns. This was highly appreciated and shows the general ethos is one of "Let's do this better"....
* Check out was a bit of a palava
* Some of the lunch food isn't great - and at €20 for a salad which wasn't that fresh or good the need to sharpen up. That said the grilled chicken (it was actually fried which why it tasted so good!) was slightly addictive.
* Club sandwich at room service - that benchmark of a 5* hotel - was also average.

However the pros totally outweighed the teething problems with service. We had a great time and if you go in warm/hot weather, the pool is simply a lovely place to hang out, do laps and catch some rays.

The staff and the personality of the staff make it hard not to like this place. Add this to the great sunny climate, a 3 1/2 hour flight and a GMT timezone - this hotel and Marrakech itself is a wicked place for a long weekend.

In time, this could be a real ripper of a hotel. They must remember that some of the rooms are the same cost as an Aman resort and the service needs to up a notch - maybe not in friendliness - but in efficiency and competency.

Go if you can!

Room Tip: Pavillion rooms are near the pool - and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The service we received during our 5 days stay was nothing short of amazing. From the front desk to the pool boys to the cleaners, each member of staff seemed to be falling over themselves to ensure that our experience at the hotel would be an unforgettable one. We received an upgrade to a Pavillion room on arrival which was a lovely surprise. The grounds of the resort are immaculate and pools are spacious and inviting. I could go on forever with the superlatives but it wouldn't come close to capturing how good this hotel really is - everything you would expect from a Four Seasons and more. We cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: Pool side "Pavilion" rooms are the best albeit a short walk from the main hotel and the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Marrakech

Address: 1 Boulevard de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech refreshed: Located adjacent to the Menara Gardens, just a five minute drive from the exotic energy of the ancient Medina, Four Seasons offers a fresh Moroccan perspective: a calming resort-hotel with a light Moroccan touch. The inspiring retreat combines an impressive spa, landscaped pools, gardens and event space with a contemporary design that augments the sense of airy luminosity. Welcoming and uplifting, the hotel offers couples, families and groups a stylish oasis within an intriguing ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.