We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant restaurant with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amaia Restaurant

Amaia Restaurant
84 avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-57181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 541 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, French, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Near the post office of Marrakesh Gueliz, on the Hassan 2 boulevard, the Amaia restaurant is Open from Monday to Saturday. Food is served all day. Eat in or take out, food is tasty, healthy, light and so are the prices. For lunch and dinner, in a cozy atmosphere, check out the large menu with its good wines and daily suggestions. At aperitif time, a large variety of cocktails and tapas are also available.
Chelmsford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A pleasant restaurant with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant deserves its positive reviews! It offers a pleasant eating environment with friendly,eager to please staff. The food was tasty and reasonably priced with a relatively good selection. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you Kimberley for your positive comment about Amaia.
We hope to see you again in Marrakech.

Kind regards.

E. Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    127
    36
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The steak was highly reviewed on TA so I ordered it. It was a good size portion but was only warm when it came out. Based on other reviews I expected amazing but it was only ok. Service was very good, other than not asking me how my food was. Atmosphere was nice. Definitely don't think this restaurent belongs in the top 10.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir
Sorry that your New York steak did not pleased. You ordered it “medium”, so warm inside. It was served immediately after preparation,( you were the only customer at 4.00 pm!). As you enjoy the wifi connection, you delayed to start eating ...

Kind regards

E. Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont Saint Peter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Our number one choice in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We'd been to Amaia back in 2012 and had to rely on TripAdvisor to look it up again in 2014 - this place should be number one in Marrakech, it's that good.
In fact, it's so good we went twice. First and foremost, the food is superb - whatever you have. Succulent steaks, great salads, brilliant burgers and tasty tagines. Great starters and drinks too.
Then there's the service - really friendly, attentive and nothing is too much trouble.
The interior is cool (literally) and comfortable, which is an additional bonus, and there's even a contemporary soundtrack in the background.
A restaurant like Amaia would do well in London - in Marrakech it's a real find. Try it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you again Steve for your excellent feedback about Amaia.. I blushed reading your post.
Hope to see you again very soon in Marrakesh.

Kind regards.

E. Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surpise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Amaya was reccomended to us and sounded like it was worth a try. We traveled extensively in Morocco and by the time we got to Marrakech we wanted different kinds of cuisine. (Had a few too many tajines). Amaya was a nice change of pace.

The restaurant is tiny but comfortable. The menu has a nice varried selection of dishes. We had a really nice basil and tomato salad and a good steak. I ordered their green curry and asked if they could make it extra (super) spicy. In the end it barely registered on the heat meter.

The owners were welcoming and service was good. I would have liked to go back and try out their breakfast menu which sounded really good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Sim

Thank you for your post on tripadvisor. Next time you will have your extra spicy curry. I promise!

Kind regards

E. Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant on 4th August 2014 for birthday dinner. Had read some of the reviews and thought i would give it a try and it was worth it. Very stylish restaurant with modern design. Serivice was great and the steak i had was one of the bests i ever had. The chef was accommodating to my tastes as i love flavour and asked for extra garlic and rosemary! Also very much value for money, two meals large bottle of water came to 270dh!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Miss from London

Many thanks for your post.
You should have told us about your birthday, there is always a surprise for this occasion....

Best regards.

E. Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Amaia Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amaia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.