We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our number one choice in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaia Restaurant

Amaia Restaurant
84 avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-57181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 602 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, French, International, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Near the post office of Marrakesh Gueliz, on the Hassan 2 boulevard, the Amaia restaurant is Open from Monday to Saturday. Food is served all day. Eat in or take out, food is tasty, healthy, light and so are the prices. For lunch and dinner, in a cozy atmosphere, check out the large menu with its good wines and daily suggestions. At aperitif time, a large variety of cocktails and tapas are also available.
Chalfont Saint Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Our number one choice in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We'd been to Amaia back in 2012 and had to rely on TripAdvisor to look it up again in 2014 - this place should be number one in Marrakech, it's that good.
In fact, it's so good we went twice. First and foremost, the food is superb - whatever you have. Succulent steaks, great salads, brilliant burgers and tasty tagines. Great starters and drinks too.
Then there's the service - really friendly, attentive and nothing is too much trouble.
The interior is cool (literally) and comfortable, which is an additional bonus, and there's even a contemporary soundtrack in the background.
A restaurant like Amaia would do well in London - in Marrakech it's a real find. Try it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you again Steve for your excellent feedback about Amaia.. I blushed reading your post.
Hope to see you again very soon in Marrakesh.

Kind regards.

E. Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    188
    42
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surpise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Amaya was reccomended to us and sounded like it was worth a try. We traveled extensively in Morocco and by the time we got to Marrakech we wanted different kinds of cuisine. (Had a few too many tajines). Amaya was a nice change of pace.

The restaurant is tiny but comfortable. The menu has a nice varried selection of dishes. We had a really nice basil and tomato salad and a good steak. I ordered their green curry and asked if they could make it extra (super) spicy. In the end it barely registered on the heat meter.

The owners were welcoming and service was good. I would have liked to go back and try out their breakfast menu which sounded really good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Sim

Thank you for your post on tripadvisor. Next time you will have your extra spicy curry. I promise!

Kind regards

E. Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant on 4th August 2014 for birthday dinner. Had read some of the reviews and thought i would give it a try and it was worth it. Very stylish restaurant with modern design. Serivice was great and the steak i had was one of the bests i ever had. The chef was accommodating to my tastes as i love flavour and asked for extra garlic and rosemary! Also very much value for money, two meals large bottle of water came to 270dh!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Miss from London

Many thanks for your post.
You should have told us about your birthday, there is always a surprise for this occasion....

Best regards.

E. Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best food we had in Marrakech.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The extremely polite owner himself came out to give us assurances on how the food was prepared. This gave us a lot of comfort. It is quite a small establishment, and there is a small outside seating area. Whilst the price was a little high and the portions quite small, the food - especially the lamb was tender and tasted amazing. Would highly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasteful and lovely ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Eating in Amaia means: lovely atmosphere, great food, alcohol (!) and friendly staff! Especially the chicken curry and also duck breast are superb! As a dessert we had the wildest chocolate noir with Illy coffee and Grandmarnier... Great to have found a spot like Amaia, really close to the train station and the bigger hotel chains of Marakech.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaia Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amaia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.