We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection of wine & the food good too.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amaia Restaurant

Amaia Restaurant
84 avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-57181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 603 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, French, International, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Near the post office of Marrakesh Gueliz, on the Hassan 2 boulevard, the Amaia restaurant is Open from Monday to Saturday. Food is served all day. Eat in or take out, food is tasty, healthy, light and so are the prices. For lunch and dinner, in a cozy atmosphere, check out the large menu with its good wines and daily suggestions. At aperitif time, a large variety of cocktails and tapas are also available.
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great selection of wine & the food good too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We'd had a large lunch so were only looking for a snack and a glass or two of wine. Luckily this place showed up on the TA app and was just round the corner from our hotel. Despite arriving around 8pm the French manager / owner had no problem with us ordering a couple of tapas with a bottle of Moroccan wine. The tapas were tasty, well presented and reasonably priced. There were many other dishes on the eclectic menu that would have been tempting had it not been for the lunch, especially after a few too many tagines. Main courses were around the 120 dirham level, so while not cheap also not overly expensive given the apparent quality and attractiveness of the place. What really impressed us though was the Touareg wine we had, which I've not managed to find any information about and the manager couldn't tell me what grape it was made from but if you like a full bodied, smooth red wine I urge you to try it. And if you find out anything about it please let me know.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you Simon for your great post about Amaia.
I made researches about the Touareg wine and i finaly can answer your question.
The Touareg red is: Syrah, tempranillo & grenache grapes.
On our new menu you can now taste the Touareg rosé: Syrah & cinsault grapes.
Hope to see you again for tasting reviews another time.

Best regards.

E. Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    188
    42
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This restaurant was well reviewed and so we decided to pay it a visit. It was a bit of a walk from the Medina and the pavement (sidewalk) close to the restaurant was difficult to negotiate but the food made it worthwhile. It was very quiet the night we were there even allowing for the British tending to eat earlier than the locals and French tourists so the atmosphere was muted. Nevertheless we were welcomed, served well and the food was very good and very reasonably priced. An enjoyable evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank You Richard for your contribution on Tripadvisor, and thanks for enjoying our work!
Hope to see you again soon when the street works will be finished!

Kind regards

Eric Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went here because we wanted a change from the tajines and the couscous. Beautiful restaurant, relaxing atmosphere and great burgers!! Excatly what we needed!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for enjoying our food & ambiance!
Next time ask for our Italian burger, just different but amazing!

Kind regards.

Eric Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“A variety of tasty food in modern setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you're looking for a restaurant in the new town, which offers a few select dishes of world food (as well as one tagine option), this is the place. A really friendly owner, nice setting and amazing food. We went to this restaurant twice in our 5 night trip it was that good - the burger, thai curry, tagine and carbonara were all great.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great little place - do visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Luckily, we found this little gem when looking through Tripadvisor for some ideas for where to go. We wanted something away from the tagines and couscous and the reviews indicated that was possible here! Our driver was not aware of Amaia but managed to locate it. It does suffer from its location as it might struggle to attract the passing, uncommitted diner. When we went, there were two young women sitting outside on the terrace area and the interior was deserted which was a shame.

The proprietor was very friendly and helpful, the range of dishes interesting with its blend of European/French and Thai/Oriental influences. (Unlike reviews of some other establishments, our steaks were really giood!) There is a good choice of wines by the glass as well as bottles - local and French and reasonably priced. We were really pleased to have found Amaia and would happily go back again whenever in Marrakesh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaia Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amaia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.