We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class for a very reasonable price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaia Restaurant

Amaia Restaurant
84 avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-57181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 582 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, French, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Near the post office of Marrakesh Gueliz, on the Hassan 2 boulevard, the Amaia restaurant is Open from Monday to Saturday. Food is served all day. Eat in or take out, food is tasty, healthy, light and so are the prices. For lunch and dinner, in a cozy atmosphere, check out the large menu with its good wines and daily suggestions. At aperitif time, a large variety of cocktails and tapas are also available.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A touch of class for a very reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Whilst not offering traditional Moroccan food this is a very welcome retreat for the evening in a lovely restaurant with delicious food. The owner, a very welcoming relaxed host offers a lovely range of food and wine at great prices. A must vist!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for "must a visit"....very kind of you. We hope to see you again for an other culinary tour.

Kind regards
Eric Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    147
    37
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stylish, Fresh, Clean, Sheek, Delicious & Tasty, You must try this hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I can honestly say this is the best restaurant experience we had in Morroco. The atmosphere is very clean and inviting. The owners and staff we very friendly and accommodating to our child. Now the food was the tastiest French/Asian I have ever had. Very fresh and FULL of flavor. I loved the shrimp/calamari wok, it was unreal. Thank you Amaia staff for your suggestions and excellent service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakesh, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience with our kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a long overdue review that should have been written in August 2012, after a most disappointing b-day dinner at Amaia, a well-known local restaurant recommended by a friend. We chose to sit outside since inside was smoky. Patron didn't want to turn on the mist spray despite the intense heat. He mentioned condensation and dripping as evening temperatures dip, but seriously in late August this is ridiculous. Service was S-L-O-W. Kids finished their overpriced spaghetti bolognaise 45 minutes before my husband and I got our meals. My hamburger was fine, although nothing special, but my husband's (Thai?) chicken in coconut sauce was totally bland - no salt and possibly no spices. Will never return and try to dissuade others from going.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I'm sorry for your bad experience at Amaia ... was it in 2012 or in 2013, because it is very difficulty to give a realistic answer with such a confusion ....
Regarding the mist spray I would like to say That the system is only working if the temperature Exceeds 35 ° C, otherwise it blows water All which is not expecting the effect ...
If the restaurant was smoky - so full - I'm sorry about that, We Have No local laws about tobacco in Morocco. We Have a non-smoking area, next time, please book your table!

King regards.
Eric Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We do not recommend it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Small restaurant/bistro with an ordinary decor, in a busy road of the commercial area: We went there after a shopping incursion. Warm reception and decent service, but the food was very far from the expectations that the high ranked position on Tripadvisor had engendered. We do not recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yummy Amaia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Please don't be fooled by the craziness going on outside this restaurant- for once you get through the doors, it is a peaceful haven in Marrakesh! The service was friendly and the food lovely. I ate the Amaia salad and my partner had the spaghetti bolognese. Very modern and clean. Would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your post and your appreciation on Amaia.
Marrakech is a very noisy city with a lot of motorcycles....but good music and good food are a good cure! Thank's for appreciate.

Kind regards

Eric Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaia Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amaia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.