We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaia Restaurant

Amaia Restaurant
84 avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-57181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 595 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, French, International, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Doing business, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Near the post office of Marrakesh Gueliz, on the Hassan 2 boulevard, the Amaia restaurant is Open from Monday to Saturday. Food is served all day. Eat in or take out, food is tasty, healthy, light and so are the prices. For lunch and dinner, in a cozy atmosphere, check out the large menu with its good wines and daily suggestions. At aperitif time, a large variety of cocktails and tapas are also available.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

And would echo all the good reviews from other Tripadvisor writers.

Small, friendly environment and the food, whilst preserving some of the local flavour, was also fresh and cosmopolitan enough not to be out of place in Paris or Florence.

Extremely helpful and knowledgeable service - dollar for dollar, our best meal in MK.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    184
    41
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb starters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Followed Tripadvisor recommendation. Starters were amazing but we thought main dishes were only average. Nice desert but simple. Good service & nice atmosphere overall

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A friendly place with great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Another reward for following tripadvisor reviews!

Amaia is a small restaurant in a modern style situated in the new town area of Marrakech. We had to traverse road works to enter after our taxi dropped us off but once inside the journey out there proved very worthwhile.

The menu was French influenced but with Moroccan choices as well. We chose two Moroccan wines from the wine list which we found very drinkable. The owner, who was affable and attentive, is a Scicilian raised in France which is reflected in the menu and indeed in reverse by us starting as we did with a pastis and ending with a grappa and espresso.

The Rum Babas for dessert were a particular hit. Oh dear, this is sounding a bit like we consumed nothing but alcohol while we were there which is largely true but I can confirm that we did actually eat as well and that it was superb.

An excellent value for money evening for what was probably a third less than you might expect to pay in the UK for the same quality. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food and hospitality, I had the chicken in a wok . Beautiful decor! A little gem. Menu was in English which was a welcomed plus

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant - with a great Buzz & Super Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Delightful little restaurant with a great Buzz . Excellent food - so much so that I had the Steak Tartare which was excellent - I only eat this dish in restaurants that I am 100% confident about cleanliness and food turnover - absolutely spot on.

The Patron was charming and attentive , great ambience . Altogether an excellent experience .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaia Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amaia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.