We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly place with great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaia Restaurant

Amaia Restaurant
84 avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-57181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 551 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, French, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Near the post office of Marrakesh Gueliz, on the Hassan 2 boulevard, the Amaia restaurant is Open from Monday to Saturday. Food is served all day. Eat in or take out, food is tasty, healthy, light and so are the prices. For lunch and dinner, in a cozy atmosphere, check out the large menu with its good wines and daily suggestions. At aperitif time, a large variety of cocktails and tapas are also available.
Peterborough
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A friendly place with great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Another reward for following tripadvisor reviews!

Amaia is a small restaurant in a modern style situated in the new town area of Marrakech. We had to traverse road works to enter after our taxi dropped us off but once inside the journey out there proved very worthwhile.

The menu was French influenced but with Moroccan choices as well. We chose two Moroccan wines from the wine list which we found very drinkable. The owner, who was affable and attentive, is a Scicilian raised in France which is reflected in the menu and indeed in reverse by us starting as we did with a pastis and ending with a grappa and espresso.

The Rum Babas for dessert were a particular hit. Oh dear, this is sounding a bit like we consumed nothing but alcohol while we were there which is largely true but I can confirm that we did actually eat as well and that it was superb.

An excellent value for money evening for what was probably a third less than you might expect to pay in the UK for the same quality. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    133
    36
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food and hospitality, I had the chicken in a wok . Beautiful decor! A little gem. Menu was in English which was a welcomed plus

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant - with a great Buzz & Super Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Delightful little restaurant with a great Buzz . Excellent food - so much so that I had the Steak Tartare which was excellent - I only eat this dish in restaurants that I am 100% confident about cleanliness and food turnover - absolutely spot on.

The Patron was charming and attentive , great ambience . Altogether an excellent experience .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
1 review
“excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We found this beautiful little restaurant "by accident", and had to come back 4 times in a week :-), atmosphere, food, service excellent. The chokolate fondant even beyond excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Last dinner in Marrakech. Currently you have to fight through the roadworks to get there, but don't be put off. Interesting mix of cuisines, and it is all produced to order and fresh. WIne prices average for Marrakech, but the white we had was more than reasonable (Larroque). Starter salads are really good and the couple of wok dishes clearly done to order. Not a huge place so if you are in season/eating late or on a weekend, it will probably be best to book. Finally, had I known about this place to start, i may well have been in there more often during our stay. Eat there! The man deserves success. if only he would open a branch in London!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaia Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amaia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.