We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaia Restaurant

Amaia Restaurant
84 avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-57181
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #6 of 509 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, French, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Near the post office of Marrakesh Gueliz, on the Hassan 2 boulevard, the Amaia restaurant is Open from Monday to Saturday. Food is served all day. Eat in or take out, food is tasty, healthy, light and so are the prices. For lunch and dinner, in a cozy atmosphere, check out the large menu with its good wines and daily suggestions. At aperitif time, a large variety of cocktails and tapas are also available.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Last dinner in Marrakech. Currently you have to fight through the roadworks to get there, but don't be put off. Interesting mix of cuisines, and it is all produced to order and fresh. WIne prices average for Marrakech, but the white we had was more than reasonable (Larroque). Starter salads are really good and the couple of wok dishes clearly done to order. Not a huge place so if you are in season/eating late or on a weekend, it will probably be best to book. Finally, had I known about this place to start, i may well have been in there more often during our stay. Eat there! The man deserves success. if only he would open a branch in London!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    277
    116
    33
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“So good we went there twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We broke our holiday rule and returned and it was great again. This time the star of the evening was the salmon tartar which was out of this world - the owners have created a contemporary restaurant with a lovely gently buzzy atmosphere and matched with superb service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The food here is outstanding. When you factor in the reasonable prices it is very easy to see why it is so highly rated.

The owner was kind enough to share one of his recipes with us.

I ranked the atmosphere as average as it was early evening when we attended and the restaurant was not even half full. We passed by later and it was full of smiling faces

If in Marrakech do not miss out on good food at great prices

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Warm welcome, offered smoke free area (a rarity in Marrkesh). the menu doesn't do justice to the exceptionl quality of the food. a cappacio of beef with a basil and lemon dressing that simply sang. The sauce on the sea bass was as good as anything we've ever tasted and the wok chicken was light and fresh. The focus is on the best ingredients and it really shows. Rum baba as light as a feather and a chocolate fondant with the twist of a raspberry inside. This is cooking at its best. If only we weren't going home tomorrow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went here on the recommendations of T A and was not disappointed,excellent food, great value, lovely decor and brilliant service

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaia Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amaia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.