We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amaia Restaurant

Amaia Restaurant
84 avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-57181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 587 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, French, International, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Near the post office of Marrakesh Gueliz, on the Hassan 2 boulevard, the Amaia restaurant is Open from Monday to Saturday. Food is served all day. Eat in or take out, food is tasty, healthy, light and so are the prices. For lunch and dinner, in a cozy atmosphere, check out the large menu with its good wines and daily suggestions. At aperitif time, a large variety of cocktails and tapas are also available.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Came across this restaurant while exploring the area.Had a great welcome from the staff who took the time to explain what foods we didn't know.Was good to see that the Pasta meals came in two sizes(l and xl)with large being enough for me,Friend ordered chicken,rice and veg and found it to be a very generous sized meal.We also had a very good bottle of Morrocan white wine(which we also went back and had the following evening)The atmosphere is relaxed and charming with soft jazz music playing unintrusively. Would recommend a visit both for eating or if you just want to sit and enjoy a drink.Great place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    180
    41
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had lunch here, the place was almost empty but the food was great and the service was very good also (although a bit too slow). Great to get away from the typical Moroccan food.
The kitchen is behind a big glass window, you can see inside, everything looked organized and clean.
The portions should be larger and/or the price should be lower but this was one of the best restaurants we tried in Marrakech.
Tip: Avoid the tables outside, there is way too much pollution on that street, stay inside.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant ive visited for a very long time. 5*****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went to Marrakech on the 18th of January 2013 for a short 3 night break with my wife. After looking for somewhere to eat on the Saturday and going by a review on trip advisor we found the Amaia just down the road from our hotel the Opera Plaza.It was quiet as we visited quite early (around 6.00 p.m ) but the staff were very polite and friendly. We both ordered the phuket salad for starters,a dish more than ample enough which was so tasty and light you could be forgiven for wanting it as a main dish. Our mains were the beef fillet and the New York sirloin which came with fresh stir fried veg and fries if you wanted them which again were delicious and plentyfull,washed down with a lovely bottle of Morrocan red wine. This restaurant is tastfully decorated and with the music and atmosphere I would recomend anyone coming to Morroco to find this wonderful place.Our bill came to approx £40 when I think I would have paid double that back home for the same quality of food. Thanks to the staff for making our visit very enjoyable

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
“Great food, but very small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the large pasta dish for lunch (80dh) and got 15 pieces of pasta each. It was very tasty, but very small portions. Service and decor is great.

Overall, come for dinner, not lunch, and expect to pay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 stars restaurant and a wonderful New Year’s Eve evening!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went to Marrakech to take a relaxing break and celebrate New Years Eve with 3 of my friends.
This restaurant was recommended by our riad for its good atmosphere and cheap prices.
We went there for lunch and got to enjoy the nice weather on their outside tables. The staff was really helpful and advised us on places to visit, in fact, we got on so well that we decided to come back for our New Year's Eve dinner (and try more of their delish food!)
We went back there and had a lovely dinner (should I even say "gourmet"?!) and once again the prices were more than affordable. We had a great evening in a very chilled out atmosphere, cosy. You could see they'd made a nice effort on the decorations as everything was gold and there was fresh flowers on all the tables, it was very elegant.
We were surrounded by all kinds of people, families, couples, friends like us, there was such a good general atmosphere, good music etc.
We went for the 5 course menu, it was tasty and sophisticated, especially the foie gras which was like heaven...... :-)
Once again the staff was lovely and we didn't regret our choice to come back there. Such a pity we left the next day!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaia Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amaia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.