We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaia Restaurant

Amaia Restaurant
84 avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-57181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, French, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Near the post office of Marrakesh Gueliz, on the Hassan 2 boulevard, the Amaia restaurant is Open from Monday to Saturday. Food is served all day. Eat in or take out, food is tasty, healthy, light and so are the prices. For lunch and dinner, in a cozy atmosphere, check out the large menu with its good wines and daily suggestions. At aperitif time, a large variety of cocktails and tapas are also available.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

After trying many places in Marrakech, we were glad to find this place on tripadvisor. We really enjoyed our dinner. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the food was excellent. The owner made us feel very welcome and he even let us try the wine before ordering a bottle. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    145
    37
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Found this place by pure accident when doing some wandering around, tried the tapas it was brilliant I would recommend the salmon to anyone staff were really friendly and polite will most definitely be going back before our trip is over.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice change from the tagine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

the owner is a very relaxed, calm and helpful person. He knows well about the food he serves. We had a very relaxed evening her and amazing food. During 8 days of stay in Marrakech, honestly this was the only place where me and my wife liked the food

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our dinner here. The service was great, the price was reasonable and the food was great. We were a little sick of couscous so it was great to go somewhere and order other things. Located on a main road in the newer part of the city it was easy to find and a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A lovely little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Much nicer than the restaurant we'd been to the evening before on the Plaza (fancy address, fancy prices - will try to review that one if I can think of the name). Amaia is tiny, intimate and friendly with good value for money food. I had the beefburger (boring I know, but it was what I fancied) and it was delicious. I don't normally finish a burger as I get bored but this was way up there and I ate every morsel, much to my daughter's surprise. She had the cheeseburger and asked for something to be added (can't remember what) but it was no problem for them. Her friend had some tapas which were equally good - the only disappointment was the cheese and tomato bruschetta which had Argan oil (an acquired taste, but non-one's fault) drizzled over it.

The wine (la gazelle de Mogador) was nice and when we first ordered it we were asked if we'd had it before and the waiter or manager (so sorry, we didn't get his name) described it to us. It was so awful (winking emoticon) we had to have another bottle when we'd finished it just to prove that it was that bad (then the next day bought 3 bottles in the Acima supermarket purely for research purposes).

We were never rushed even though we were the next to last to leave and it WAS very late, the prices were very fair and, bonus, the waiter (or manager) opened a bottle of wine that we'd brought with us to take back to our hotel as we didn't have a corkscrew. (We sound like real lushes, don't we?).

I would certainly recommend Amaia to anyone visiting Marrakech - it is only about a 10 minute straight walk from the train station and is open all day, and would like to give a big THANKYOU to all the staff for a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Hoozit

Thank you much for your funny contribution it was so refreshing reading it!
We are really pleased that you've enjoyed your meal at Amaia.
Our burgers...only good products...and 0%fat beef meat! That's the secret....
You also tasted the Italian mozzarella & tomato bruschetta: marinated in olive oil and pesto (basil) not Argan oil (a very special ingredient to discover next visit...).
We also like to share our experience of Morocco and moroccan wines. Some good products.! You have tasted a white wine from Essaouira, a recent region of production.
Hope to see you again for more discoveries.

Kind regards.

E. Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaia Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amaia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.