We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Green Mango

Save Saved
You added Riad Green Mango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Green Mango
36 Derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly with attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Everything at the Green Mango is top quality, right down to the light fittings and straw hats by the loungers. Olivier, Sebastian and staff are always available, and always willing to provide information or a cup of tea. Particular mention for the night porter who is a true gentleman. Sebastian also has some great recommendations on restaurants and clubs to visit, that didn't appear on any "10 things to do in Marrakesh" lists.

The room was nice, clean and spacious, and surprisingly dark in the mornings, enabling us to sleep in. The rooftop is really relaxing and peaceful, with a beautiful shaded area, sun lounges and a jacuzzi that was a blessing after a day walking the streets-as Shakira says, the hips don't lie. The Riad has very few rooms which meant we practically had this area to ourselves. A fantastic breakfast is available any time of day - the quality of which was really brought home (no pun intended), when staying at an Irish hotel the night we returned.

The Riad is well located, with three main routes off it that will take you pretty much everywhere. A few reviews of other Riads mentioned safety so for the record, the area was very safe, getting to know a few of the local lads while we where there. A taxi service is provided from the airport, so probably worth taking advantage of this, until you have got a feel for the area..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

You will not find better food, service, cleanliness and first class attention to detail than the Green Mango. The host Olivier was outstanding in providing us all the info we needed with regards our visit. You will not find better food and hospitality than here and the surroundings in which you eat are amazing with an open fire and fresh roses all around the restaurant. The hammam (Massage) was also amazing and such good value. Coupled with this, you are staying in the real Marrakech - full of hustle and bustle and people milling on every corner but you will grow to love this in the first few hours and you will be amazed to find just how friendly the people of Marrakech are. I loved this place and will be coming back to both Marrakech and the Green Mango.

Room Tip: Just book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This riad is a tranquil break from the manic streets of Marrakech. Moments away from the markets and bustle that most people come to see, it is located a couple of turns from one of the squares. Inside it's peaceful and all accommodating. Sebastian (French) and Sarah (Moroccan) razed the previous building to the ground and rebuilt the perfect Riad. It was very quiet at night and spotlessly clean. I understand that they had previously employed people to run it (hence the odd -ve review). It is perfect now. The food served for breakfast was like a feast - set us up for the day's walking. I would suggest eating there at least once as we found it to be our best evening meal in our stay. The porter was available to walk us to restaurants in the evening, we were picked up from the airport and trips arranged when we wanted. Nothing was too much trouble. If you are in to your music then speak to Sebastian who, while being one of Morocco's few DJs, is also involved in Jazz clubs across Morocco. i can certainly see why this place gets booked up by families booking the whole place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Riad Green Mango offers a 5 star hotel standard of customer service and attention to detail. Sebastien and his lovely wife are helpful and hospitable without being intrusive and every detail is carefully thought of.

We recently spent 2 nights here as part of our honeymoon. We arrived around 730pm on the first evening, when it was already dark, and were welcomed by Sebastien who gave us some tips on Marrakech over a mint tea. We then had a lovely candle-lit dinner in the courtyard, including the best tagine either of us have tasted during our trips to Morocco!

Be warned that, like with all the other riads, you will get lost when venturing out into the souks. But it's half the fun! We had a great time wandering around Marrakech and coming back to this relaxing haven for a king sized bath or a glass of grey wine on the roof terrace.

Recommended.

Room Tip: There are just four rooms which adds to the lovely intimacy. We stayed in Warda which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I don't normally write reviews, but was so bowled over by our experience when staying at Riad green Mango, that I felt the need to re-emphasise what others had previously shared.

My wife and I had a 3 night stay with Sarah and Sebastien who were superb hosts. Nothing was too much of a problem and made us feel extremely welcome from the start.

The Riad is beautifully decorated, and offers a real oasis of calm and r&r away from the hub-bub of the nearby souls. The food was fantastic (particularly the breakfast served on the terrace) and the spa and jacuzzi offered a wonderful way to relax post our days trekking through the Souks and Palaces of Medina.

I highly recommend this place on all fronts. Thank you for a wonderful stay Sarah and team.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you're looking for an Riad close to the busy, and vibrant area of the Marrakesh medina, the Green Mango is your oasis. This small and beautiful Riad has every thing you'd want. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, great service, perfect location, and delicious food. All the rooms, including the the 4 bedrooms are tastefully decorated and provide a relaxing ambiance.

The owners, Sabastian and Sarah will do anything for you to make your stay as stress free and comfortable as possible, including escorted familiarization walks to the medina to help get our bearings set. Upon check in, Sabastian gave us his cell phone number with invitation to call anytime 24 hours for any assistance we might need. His staff, was attentive and willing to help us with any our needs.

I would highly recommend the Green Mango to anyone interested in a small, quite, peaceful Riad only minutes walk from the hectic medina.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nothing we had read even comes close to describing our experience at the Green Mango!
Paradise in a small, beautiful, perfectly balaced ,beautifully put together oasis in the craziness that is the medina in MARRAKECK!
Sebastian and sara the most wonderful, attentive, knowledgeble and gracious hosts who let us have the run of the Riad as we were a party of 8 and so took over all 4 rooms.
The rooms , fabulous in their decor and attention to detail made it an authentic stay! From the beautiful sunken baths to extremly comfortable beds to beautiful accessories! Simple but Taseful!
The Hammam, small but effective!!!! a wondeful 'day in' was had by the husbands while he ladies shopped ! A perfect finish to a perfect weekend for all the ladies as well!
The food..... well breakfasts for kings, lunch for queens and dinners .......well I'm lost for word!!!
The cook was superb and we eagerly await the 'Green Mango cookbook'!!! Nothing was too much trouble for her!
The staff, fathy, raidda , nothing was too much for them!!!! running up and down 3 flighs of stairs and staying up to let us in at 3-4 in the morning!!! And everyhing done with a big smile, day or night!! Great guides to the medina too!
Sebastian, a fabulous host with a great passion for good music, fabulous customer service and care. His words are 'it can be done' to almost all requests!!!! He helps you book great tables at fantastic restaurants and takes you shopping to the great places in marrakech that cannot be found on any websites!
Lastly ,the location of the riad allows you to experience the day to day living of the locals !!! the hustle and bustle, the shaing of the road with people, bikes, scooters, donkey carts and horse carraiges! the local spice shops , fruit and veg, butchers where locals buy their foods and lots of little shops selling street food!!! A different experience each time you step out!
Thank you all at Riad Green Mango and we hope tha our return to 'Nirvana' is not too far away!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Green Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Green Mango

Address: 36 Derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Green Mango is one of the most recommended riads in Marrakech; well situated in the centre of the Medina close to the souks and the principal historical monuments and only a 10 minutes on foot from the Jamaa el Fena square. Sebastien and Sarah master the art of hosting with so much refinement. Their Riad, located in the Antiques district, offers a great feeling of calm and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Green Mango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Green Mango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.