We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Green Mango

Save Saved
You added Riad Green Mango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Green Mango
36 Derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Belfast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I did a lot of research to choose the perfect Riad in Marrakech and if you are reading this review you will know just how many excellent options there are to pick from.

I can honestly say this Riad was exceptional in every way. Step out of the hustle and bustle of the busy medina straight into a tranquil oasis.

On arrival we were greeted by Sebastian and his staff who genuinely are interested in ensuring your stay is the best it can be. The Riad is so beautiful, I viewed every room and in my option no room is better than the other, each has its own personality.

On one of my days I was enjoying the ambience so much I did not even leave the Riad. I sunbathed on the beautiful roof terrace cooling down in the Jacuzzi. Enjoyed an afternoon massage in their spa and was served the most delicious evening meal up on the terrace that night. The food here was the best I enjoyed in Marrakech, the attention to detail and crockery were a very high standard. Candles were always lit through out the Riad creating the perfect atmosphere.

The walk to the square takes 7-10 hassle free minutes, along the way you get a real feel for the medina and the workings of its everyday life.

Sebastian has exceptional taste in music and as such the Riad feels alive, ambient music is played all day. This is the ultimate Riad experience.

Room Tip: There are four rooms and each of them are beautiful. They are all 5 star with a very luxurious finis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We love the atmosphere, the welcome and stay. The owners are a young couple of lovers of travel and it can also be appreciated in the details of this Riad.
Care and attention at all times, I would recommend booking a delicious dinner!
All is harmony, relaxation (which you can also enjoy in the jacuzzi overlooking the rooftops of the Medina!) and perfumes...
Last but not least the possibility to book a massage with a choice of Argan oil with different fragrances ...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We've just stayed 3 nights at the Riad and had the most fabulous time!

The Riad itself is an absolute gem and has been totally refurbished from top to bottom with exquisite taste mixing boutique style with Moroccan touches. All the different bedrooms have their own personality and the common spaces - be it in the patio or the roof terrace make you want to stay in the Riad rather than face the hustle & bustle of the souk.

In terms of service, I have to say top notch and genuinely one of the best service I’ve had in a long time! Marie & Francois (the owner’s parents) were fabulous – welcoming us warmly on arrival with a traditional mint tea, giving us great tips & drawing maps so we wouldn’t get lost in the labyrinth of the Medina, helping us book restaurants and taxis so that we didn’t worry about a thing. I can’t speak more highly of them as they were both present when we needed help & advice but also very discreet which meant that we had a great romantic break without having the feeling that there was always someone around which for me is the perfect combination!

The rooms are all fantastic! When we arrived all the rooms were empty so Francois and Marie took us for a little tour and I have to say that all the rooms are stunning and all have their unique individual style & design which adds to the quirkiness of the Riad.

The roof terrace & outdoor Jacuzzi are pure heaven and we loved having breakfast in the sunshine overlooking all the roofs of Marrakesh.

We’ve even experienced the new spa which they have recently built and had a couple’s hamman and massage. Again, couldn’t fault a thing – my skin was so soft after the hamman and the massage was probably one of the best I’ve had!
I would have loved to stay longer and fully intend to come back!

Marie, Francois, Greg and everyone at the Riad – thank you ever so much for your kindness and for looking after us so well. You’ve truly made our holiday special!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The most beautiful, idyllic little hideaway I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. Tucked away within the busy, bustling streets of the Medina, this stunning, serene and calm riad lies just waiting to greet you warmly and wrap it's arms around.
This has a real family feel to it as Sebastien (the owner) his wife Sara and his Parents run the riad together which really makes you feel part of it all and truly welcome and looked after.
The whole place is immaculate from top to bottom with breathtaking decor and architecture all hand crafted and selected to make for a traditional and elegant Moroccan feel.
Myself and two girlfriends stayed in three different suites which were all uniquely decorated to the highest of standard with fresh linen, dressing gowns and slippers and fluffy white bath towels laid out each day.
Everything was spotless and completely clean, nothing was too much effort, all of the staff at the riad are very hard working and so friendly. We were even given a guide to escort us to the main square upon our first night so we did not get lost. We felt very safe.
The chef is honestly amazing, we sampled breakfasts each day which were huge and varied and served elegantly.
On one night we decided to skip the bustling square's food markets for a cosy candlelit night at the riad and we are very glad we did, we had the chance to sample some beautiful Moroccan dishes including the famous pastilla which blew our minds.
From being tucked away in the snug drinking mint tea under the soft lights to sunbathing on the flowery, sunny roof terrace and relaxing in the dipping pool / hot tub there is always something lovely to do here. We were advised and assisted with our travels and tours and given some handy advice which we are glad we received as it made for an excellent trip.
We trip some Hamam and Massage treatments at Sara's spa which were just perfect, true relaxation and zen with some gorgeous argan oils.
Not only would I reccommend this riad I will definitely be going back again, it really is a rare and special treasure. Thank you Green Mango. Wishing you a prosperous and happy future.

Room Tip: In all honesty each room we saw was absolutely perfect and of a similar size and standard, you liter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Patrick and Marie were excellent stand in hosts for their son.

Nice top floor room typical of a Riad, lovelly and clean and just refurbished. Flowers everywhere and orange trees growing in reception area.
Food on an evening we stayed in was beautiful traditional Moroccan with special effort from everyone for an aniversary meal and a bottle of local wine.
Breakfast was always very nice, fresh and a great start to the day with a good mixture of eggs,bread,cake,preserves,pastries, fruit and drinks.

Great location from walking out the door to being in the Souks and main square within minutes. Hard to believe the turmoil only a few feet outside the Riad and the tranquility inside. Only noise was the religious chanting early in the morning that would last around ten minutes sometimes coming from the residential area the Riad is located. The Riad even organised a member of staff to take us out the first morning free of charge to orientate ourselves.
You really need to get orientated quickly to find your way out and into this location as its entrance is in a back street that leads onto the main bussle of one of the buisier residential streets and really exceptionally busy outside with just the locals buying and selling within a few metres of the door from stalls and local little cupboard type shops.
Also watch out for motor bikes flying around in the whole of Marrakech between pedestrians in all the streets and footpaths as well as in the Souks and markets,it can be a bit daunting at first and quite dangerous.
Just beware of people in the street telling you in this area as well as the whole of Marrakech any story to guide you to go with them to local places then wanting money.
The Riad organised a taxi to and from the airport that saved a load of hassle as noone knows where half the riads are so it was door to door. The Riad also organised a trip to the sea for us and a trip to the Atlas mountains, both excellent trips and great English speaking drivers and payment direct to the Riad rather than having to haggle not knowing if you were safe or not.
A great first experience and we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcaidesa, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Fantastic hotel and beautifully decorated.

Our room was spacious and very luxurious with all the trimmings! Fresh roses and towels in every room too!

The food at the hotel was made for when we wanted with traditional Moroccon style. It just kept coming too! Yum!

The hosts were very accommodating even lending us one of their staff to help us find our way to a restaurant we had booked for an evening meal one night.

Would most definatley reccomend to anyone wanting to visit Marrakech whilst also maintaing a quiet oasis to come back to every evening.

Thanks for a fantatsic time.

Room Tip: Book the ramelle suite! Its lovley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algeciras, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Amazing Riad!! Absolutely brilliant... amazing service, amazing rooms and would recommend this hotel for anyone.

The rooms are to an amazing standard, really clean and finished to a high standard. The Raid itself is really well decorated and clean. The owners are very helpful and went over and above to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Green Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Green Mango

Address: 36 Derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Green Mango is one of the most recommended riads in Marrakech; well situated in the centre of the Medina close to the souks and the principal historical monuments and only a 10 minutes on foot from the Jamaa el Fena square. Sebastien and Sarah master the art of hosting with so much refinement. Their Riad, located in the Antiques district, offers a great feeling of calm and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Green Mango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Green Mango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.