We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Salama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Salama to your Saves list
Dar Salama
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   59 Derb Bouaanan | Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #675 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

So glad that I booked the arrival transfer with the riad directly, as soon as I walked out of baggage claim, the host was waiting there with a huge smile and I knew I had made the right decision. We arrived at the riad and had a glass of mint tea, what a way to start off. The room was clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable that I ever laid in. A great location, close enough to the square yet far enough away. My kids loved all of the staff, one of whom showed us the way to the square on the first day (we would have been so lost without her!). Breakfast was waiting for us every morning. I have nothing but positive things to say about this riad and definitely recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Any port in a storm is welcome, especially at 10pm in the rain, lost in the medina. Perhaps I should have booked somewhere, but then even with GPS how would you find it amongst the 1000+ riads in a rabbit warren of lanes and alleyways? Anyway a waiter in a cafe took me to this (his relative's?) place- just a small door in a blank wall down an empty lane.

Spooky: but I had a warm welcome. Nice inner courtyard and lounge seating in a refurbished house that must be 300 years old. Room 5 on the roof was comfy, but might be cramped for 2. Even at new year high season 400 dirham seemed pricy but this was a distress purchase!

Next day I moved across the alleyway to their other property for a lot less, but the room was basic. Their menu is limited and expensive. Good coffee at breakfast, but don't expect quick service with the bread and jam. Last night was very chilly and someone had forgotten to order gas for the heater but we were handed out blankets. Nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just a minut of walking from the busy roads this was a nice escape from the streets of Marrakech.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. They offer tour bookings and Hamam (in the building itself!) as well as an included breakfast.
The common areas were a great place to relax and meet other travelers and the rooftop provided some nice view over the neighborhood and the night sky.
Service were good and especially the owner puts a smile om your lips.

Room Tip: Lookup directions in advance as Marrakech in general is lika a maze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

Dar Salama is an oasis of luxury, serenity and comfort amid the bustle of the Fes medina. Our room was spacious, nicely furnished and interestingly decorated. The bath was large and modern. We even had a small balcony for our afternoon wine interlude. The central terrace is especially inviting. It is shaded in part with lemon and other trees, has several tables for breakfast and has a smallish dipping pool for especially warm days. Owner and host Michel is helpful with site seeing, shopping and dining recommendations. Michel prepares wonderful dinners served either on the terrace or inside the stylish dining room. Esmae is also especially helpful and charming. Salama is bright and cheery, open and warm. A very nice hideaway in the alleyways of the medina.
Salama is an excellent choice in the Fes medina.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Salama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Salama

Address: 59 Derb Bouaanan | Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #675 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dar Salama 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Salama is a small, homely guest house located in the heart of Marrakech Medina. Short walk away from the famous Djaama El Fna square and other main attractions, Dar Salama is the perfect place to stay. Dar Salama offers you a quiet place to relax after a busy day of sightseeing, enjoy a cup of Moroccan tea or home cooked meal and take in the beautiful view from our terrace overlooking the Medina and Atlas mountains. Our friendly staff will be happy to answer your questions and help to make your stay in Marrakech truly memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Dar Salama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Salama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.