We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay but originally a bit mislead” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Villa Mouassine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Villa Mouassine to your Saves list
Riad Villa Mouassine
86, derb Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #281 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
1 review
“Pleasant stay but originally a bit mislead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a cute ilttle riad right in the center of the souk in the old part of Marrakesh. It was very enjoyable to be in the old city walls, walking through the market. However, unfamiliar with the city, we were not aware of what this really meant in terms of travel. We elected to have the riad arrange for someone to pick us up from the airport, as they offered. However, we were unaware that you cannot bring cars into the souk. This means you have to travel on foot for quite a distance. This was fine by us, since we traveled light, but also involved being lead by a barrowman, whom we did not willing hire and then expected a tip (as is true often in Morocco) after he showed us the riad. This would've been fine, had we been told ahead of time, but we were not prepared while arriving in the middle of the night. Otherwise, the staff was very accommodating and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
沖縄
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

セール割引のお陰か、非常にお値打ちに宿泊する事が出来ました。 また、パティオに植えてある大きなオレンジの木が、時期的に、ちょうど花が満開で、宿・部屋中に素敵な香り漂っていました。 キッチンや冷蔵庫も気兼ねなく使わせて頂く事が出来ました。 宿のスタッフは、皆、とても親切でフレンドリーでした。 場所はGPSと地図さえあれば、さほど難しくないと個人的には思いました。スーク内にあり、広場から近いものの、とても静かな場所でした。 The room was clean and cozy, not small, although very nice value for money. There is a big orange blossom in the patio, which smells really nice everywhere in the Riad. The staffs are very kind and friendly, helpful. They would tell you enough information that you need if you ask them. Plus they allowed us to use the kitchen and fridge as we liked. The location is also good, it's in the souq and close to the main square, just 5-10mins walk or so, but still quiet. I thought it looked a bit tricky to find the place first, but it would not be difficult to find the place if you've got a map(you can get it from the staffs) and GPS, in my opinion.
滞在中、私達はハマムに通っていた為、結局、部屋のシャワーは一度も利用していませんが、最後まで、水跡が- あり湿っていました。また、排水溝からか、少し臭いもありましたが、大したレベルではありません。 私のマスターカードが何度トライしても使えませんでした。(磁気不良かとも思いましたが、帰国後は難なく使えています)その代わり、ダイナースカードは使えました。 I found a bit damp in the bathroom and something smelled a little, but no problem to use the bathroom. Actually we didn't use a shower during our stay as I wanted to try local Hamam, but the floor and wall around the shower had been wet somehow. I couldn't use master card after all which doesnt have any problem at the moment in the UK although I tried it several times, but I could pay by using Diners card instead.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a recommendation and we weren't disappointed. The riad is in a good location, just a short walk to Jemaa el Fna and close to the souks. The rooms were clean with a comfy bed and serviced daily. Breakfasts were more than ample, with fresh orange juice, eggs, bread, delicious homemade jams and tea/coffee. Although dinners were available, we didn't have any here as we preferred the open air stalls of the square (try Chez Ali No.65). The rooftop terrace is a nice place to sit in the cool of the evening. The staff were genuinely friendly and very helpful. With free WiFi and reasonable rates, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for 5nights

The staff are very welcoming and service was great

Rooms very clean,

Cozy roof terrace to catch the sun

Although when we booked we didn't know there was wi-fi which is an added bonus.

The staff were very friendly and there was just a welcoming and homely feel about the place.

Room Tip: Top room has direct access to the terrace!!!! Follow the stripes on the wall if you get lost on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013



We stayed at the Riad Moussine for 10nights, the team made ita bsolutly amazing, very genuine people, theÝ made the experience perfect- they really did go out of their way to make sure our stay with them was perfect. A very welcoming and humble atmosphere, the service is very fast and very accommodating and more than polite and very respectful. Which is very important as we were 3 females and felt completely safe and at ease at the Riad, the premises was SPOTLESS and VERY CLEAN!! Fresh linen and towels every day.it was a little tricky to find at first as the streets all look the same, but they showed us two routes to the Riad -

there is also Good wi-fi connection, local kiosk type shop open quite late. The souk is a short walk from the Riad which leads to the main Jeema el Fina square ( 10min walk which is very convenient).

The breakfast was very delicious with traditional morrocan tea or breakfast tea- freshly squeezed orange juice. Lunch and dinner is quality home cooked traditional food.

There is also a roof terrace which was lovely to sunbathe in the day-time and to relax on a warm night under the stars.
Really going to miss having tea downstairs in the lobby area before going up to our room to bed.

I would definitely stay here again because the team were so humble and accommodating through out our entire stay.


Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratoath, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We never usually make a mistake when booking for holidays but we did this time as it really wasn't what we thought it would be from looking at the pictures. We booked the rooftop room with its own terrace which wasn't really private as there was still a communal area opposite it. On occasion we were disturbed by people outside using the communal terrace as we could hear them in our room but that was only for a short time on one occasion and rest of the time we did have the terrace to ourselves but suppose anyone could have come to use the communal area at anytime if they so wished, which is fine but then not entirely private if that is important to you which it was for us. Lovely lounging when we did use it though.

The room, was stuffy on arrival, dusty and with tiny insects on the ground. I understand that it can be difficult to keep insects at bay considering the location and type of accomodation (a riad) but we didn't find this acceptable as we were looking for a complete retreat away from the outside dust hussle bussle and insects! The wardrobe space was not suitable due to it being low and inbuilt and damp with a musky smell and not practical. The room however was a good size and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was fine and towels replaced the shower drain was a nightmare though as it was mostly blocked. The drainage system does leave a smell in the bathroom due to the being within the medina this will be found anywhere, however it was not so in the Riad which we moved to which had the drain open/close option so smells could be kept out. The staff at this Riad were brilliant, lovely breakfast every morning served at your leisure and they were very helpful with our complaints and willing to co-operate with us in allowing us to leave early and change Riads. If you are not too fussy this Riad is not bad its just not what we were after. Great location. Don't get us wrong, we were and still are for the 'Riad' experience as its fantastic but jsut make sure you know what you want and go for it as we did with the second Riad we ended up in and had an amazing stay in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is fairly small Riad consisting of 3 floor. 1 room on the ground floor, 3 rooms in the 1st floor and 1 room in the top floor. We booked the room on the top floor which had its own terrace. The courtyard was comforting and had a tree in the middle. I am glad that I had booked a transfer with the Riad. The experience of going from the Airport to the Riad was a great one. The driver was very friendly and welcoming. We then met a barrowboy who carried our bags to the Riad. It can be a bit difficult to find at first but the location is great for visiting the souks (1min) and going out of the Old town (5mins). Good restaurants nearby (tried most of them). The staff at the Riad were very helpful and attended to every need. They spoke English, Arabic and French. The breakfast was plentiful but repetitive each day. The receptionist talked me through the places I could visit. It was great to relax at the Riad after a Harsh day at the Souks. It was clean throughout and its easy to see how much the staff care about the Riad. I would like to thank all the staff at the Riad for making our stay so enjoyable at the Riad.

Room Tip: Book the room on the top floor as its so relaxing and has its own small terrace area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Villa Mouassine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa Mouassine

Address: 86, derb Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Villa Mouassine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Villa Mouassine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.