We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decor is great but, the hospitality makes it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Granvilier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Granvilier to your Saves list
Riad Granvilier
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #638 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Decor is great but, the hospitality makes it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was the final night of our 2 weeks in Morocco. Our first 8-days were on a mini-bus tour with forgettable, supposed 4-star hotels. The final 6-days on our own and we stumbled on a series of incredible riads (traditional Moroccan houses with interior courtyards).

Each riad is unique and incredible in it's own way. I would suggest moving around to discover a few.

Riad Granvilier was the perfect conclusion to our trip. The decor was wonderful and the accommodations were incredibly clean. However, it was the service that made it special.

It started when the reception host met us at the car. As he walked us in, he would stop and point at landmarks to ensure we could find our own way. While the traditional offering of mint tea boiled, he gave us a tour of the riad with a tangible sense of personal pride.

The incredible service was equaled by his overnight counterpart. The historic Jemaa el-Fnaa Square does not sleep and having a night host allows guests to come and go anytime . The overnight host was a good cook and breakfast was fantastic.

Even though we had to check out at 11am, we were allowed to leave our bags for a late flight. After we got completely lost in the market for hours, we picked up our bags. We were pleasantly surprised to be offered a small suite if we wanted to freshen ourselves before heading to the airport.

The location is special too. It is worth the long walk from the car. You must pass through the craziness of the square but you will find yourself isolated down a quiet alley.

See our video review in the photo gallery to watch the riad come alive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
146
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Staff were very very friendly and good they made many recommendations for places to go. Breakfast was generous however almost the same every morning which got a little repetitive. We tried to book a suite but they only had it available for one night. The suite was beautifully decorated with high ceilings and his and hers basins. However the room we got the night was below average it was on the roof and it was stuffy and very very hot even with the aircon functioning at full strength. We had dinner there one night and it was very good, they even had musicians play live music for us. Be cautious if you order wine- they overcharge. Overall an excellent stay- great location close to the medina with lots of shops and restaurants just around the corner without the noise associated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent one w-e in this place. The team is amazing, very welcoming, always available and ready to show you anything.
Breakfast is very good, nice bread and pastry, frech orange juice, homemade yogurt. Very frech and tasty.
We booked 2 rooms but one was not available as ordered, they gave us an other available regular room instead of the suite. Off course they adjusted the price and gave a us a 10 euro discount. This was OK but we came for a Birthday w-e so I was still disappointed but accepted the case. The room was OK. Nice linen and towel, small bathroom but very nice. Air conditioning and TV (but almost no French channel). I found the place very quite as long as nobody is moving. As soon as someone open a door, everybody can ear it. The worst for me were the windows that do have veil but no curtain and blind only shut 2/3 of the window, as a result I was awake at 6:30
I am not a fan of Riad, I prefer a comfy 5 stars hotel, I came here because our family never been to a riad ever. So overall, not comfy as a 5 stars but 5 stars attention !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spend three amazing days in the Riad Granvilier. Recommend by a friend, the Riad and its team exceeded all our expectations.

The service that Hicham, the receptionist, and the complete team offered was authentic and helpful throughout the whole stay. It started with an upfront phone call to offer us a dinner at the house due to our late arrival, went on with recommendations for activities like a relaxing Hamman and concluded with personal assistance for the transport to our next hotel. In the Riad Granvilier guests are actual friends and service is authentic hospitality; that’s what makes this place so unique.

Another outstanding asset besides the team is the Riad itself. The typical red walls of the historical building enclose a hidden and peaceful oasis amidst the noisy crush of the Medina. There is no better way to prepare for a sightseeing day in Marrakech than enjoying the rich breakfast on the roof top terrace of Riad.

We traveled Latin-America, Australia, South-East Asia and various places in Europe: The Riad Granvilier ranges clearly in the Top 3 of all places we have ever stayed.

Additional hint at the end: Book the suit; is definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were met at the airport by a very patient driver after our flight had been delayed by an hour or so, he drove us to the edge of the Medina where we were met by Hashim who carried (all! despite my protestations) our luggage through the square and windy streets back to the Riad all the while giving us a potted history of the town and the main Pois (ATMs, currency exchange, post office etc). Once we had arrived, he sat us down with mint tea and explained all the main places and how to navigate the very complicated medina with a map, he told us where to go and where to avoid, very valuable information that served us well while we were there.
Our top floor room was blissfully quiet and tastefully decorated featuring traditional moroccan furniture and a modern tv (although we never turned it on), it was metres away from the riads roof terrace which was simply stunning, an Oasis of calm in the bustle of the city.
There was a slight leak in our ac unit and when we arrived back from our evening exploration we were looked after very well for the 30 minute wait that we endured and the problem was fixed.
The daily breakfast was extensive and delicious, varying each day with fresh juice and coffee.
Ok our last night we booked a dinner at the riad on the upstairs terrace and were not disappointed, we had the whole terrace to ourselves and were waited on diligently. The food was exquisite and the best that we had in marrakech.
Hashim and his staff literally could have done no more to make our stay any more comfortable or relaxing, they were always on hand to offer mint tea or advice and I couldn't fault them at all. In summary, this is a riad to be very proud of and I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Before continuing I would like to make a remark about the review posted by a fellow guest ‘AlsterHamburg’ with whom my stay at the Riad happened to coincide – in a word ‘ A load of Tosh!’ This ancient city seemed to have not spruced itself up enough for my fellow guest, who was perhaps hoping for a Disneyland version, rather than the real thing. Perhaps a faceless corporate chain hotel would have suited his needs better, though I suspect his temperament is best suited to avoiding foreign travel and simply staying at home.

This Riad is an exquisite gem! A calm and peaceful oasis with tastefully decorated suites/rooms leading off a delightful courtyard, and situated a convenient ( and easily retraceable) 10 mins from the main square . More a bijou boutique hotel, this is the perfect location to explore the bustle of the medina, in the knowledge that your cool and tranquil oasis is within easy reach and you can escape at any time to a sunbed on the terrace or to sip mint tea by the orange tree in the courtyard.

What makes this Riad a standout however is the warmth, hospitality and effortless grace of its staff. With professional ease, the manager Hicham hand held through my ATM traumas- cheerfully acting as an unflustered concierge/PA. The always willing to attend to your needs Badre, conjuring up a delicious breakfast at 6am, then personally accompanying you with your baggage to a waiting taxi across the square. The excellent culinary skills and charming smiles of Asna and Khawala. We also tried the food in a couple of recommended restaurants but the food in the riad was far superior.

If you want to experience the magic of Marrakesh, then you could do no better than staying here at Riad Granvilier and asking Hicham to book a local tour with an excellent English speaking guide (I think his name was Mohammed).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have decided to book this Riad because of good reviews from guests. After having done the booking I have received friendly mails from HICHAM, who is caring about this hotel. He wanted to make a reservation for dinner in his RIAD. I have refused that because Marrakech has so many restaurants that will be 1000 times more interesting than a Riad.
After reaching Marrakech we have called the Riad to get informed how to find and reach it. Hicham came to the end of the DJEMA EL FNA square to pick us up and to carry one suitcase. He came without a cart. This means if you have more than one piece of luggage you need to carry it yourself. The cars are not allowed to drive on the square after 1:00 p.m.!! Then we had to walk and cross the square as well as through the souks of Marrakech. The pedestrian way, the square and the floor in the souks are covered with wholes. It took about 15 minutes to reach the RIAD. If it is raining you will become very wet. When you will return to your Riad then you need to go trough narrow, cramped small streets or narrow streets. The Riad is hided and without help on the first day you cannot find it. So because of these problems it cannot be recommend for handicapped people. After entering the Riad we were shown to our room, The patio was very small and furnitered with only 3 tables. Try to imagine that you will have your breakfast or dinner nearly alone. The athmosphere in the room was conflicting. Behind the double bed there was a warm light design. In the middle of the room was a step which can be dangerous in the darkness if you do not switch on the light. Here was another lamp (light) which containes a bulb with white light to save energy. This was total opposite of the warm colour of the light behind the bed where they use a different type of bulbs. Half of the room was covered with a pile carpet. The doors and window frames were only like decoration. Between the walls and frames there were a space ( a gap) of about 5 cm. This means the rooms have no privacy. Everybody can be able to listen to your talk or noises. The room and especially the bath room has a mouldy musty smell. The reason you will find in the sewage pipes. The seat of the wc was loose (slack). The bath tub has a design which is open to the floor. There is only a gap of 10 cm between the floor and the bottom of the bath tub. That means you can only fill in 10 cm of water otherwise the floor will be flooded!!!!The back of the bath tub is upright. As a result to take a bath is nearly/almost impossible. We have got informed that the water needs 10 minutes to get warm. 10 minutes we were waiting and then the water stopps running. Of course there was no water anymore. Before we have checked that inside the pipes there was only air. So we could not use the water one day. Of course Hicham already has left the Riad. So we only could inform him next day. The design of the bathroom is poor. Because of 2 different types of remote controls we were unable to use different TC channels, In the early morning you can hear the noise of running water through the pipes of the neighbours. So there is no isolation. You cannot open the window to get fresh air except that you open the door to the floor. Of course an AC is available. There is no telephone in the room. The breakfast is poor. At the first day of a 2 day stay HICHAM has asked me to give him the details of the credit card to prepare the invoice for the next day..On the second day he appears at about 09:30 a.m. and I have asked him for a discount for the first day because we have not had water. Then he has informed me that he already charged my credit card bank account without my okay and without my signature. So I have had no chance to check the invoice. Of course he has not presented the invoice before. I was very disappointed about this inacceptable behaviour and will inform the authorities. After my complaint he was unwilling to give me a statement in written form that he took this charge without my signature. Of course we needed to bring down our luggage and to carry it to our car.
My suggestion:Stay away from this Riad!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Granvilier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Granvilier

Address: 100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #638 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Granvilier 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Granvilier is a luxury hotel in the heart of the old Medina of Marrakech. It has been tastefully and lovingly restored with great attention to detail. Decorated with the finest traditional materials, exclusive, hand-crafted furniture and contemporary Moroccan art. It is ideal for people looking for personalized service. Riad Granvilier is the perfect base to enjoy the wonders of Marrakech. You will live an authentic and unique Moroccan experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Granvilier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Granvilier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.