We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Granvilier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Granvilier to your Saves list
Riad Granvilier
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #645 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Burnham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Riad Granvillier for 3 nights and it was the best experience we had.
Mohammed, Hasna and Mustafa were extremely accomodating. Mohammed the manager upgraded us to a suite upon arrival knowing it was our 1st Wedding Anniversary.
It is located in Dabbachi which was literally a 10 min walk to the main Medina square, again Mohammed helped us get around and handed us a map to all local attractions.
We had a lovely meal on our 2nd night cooked by Hasna and it was great homely cooked moroccan tagine food.
I would highly recommend this Riad especially if you are a couple it has a real ambience and quiet atmospehere away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina.
Overall a great trip, excellent accomodation,great hospitality and amazing culture, we will be going again. I would definetely recommned the excursion trip arranged by Granvillier to the Atlas Mountains.

Jas & Sol
London

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mounabia Suite, excellent accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    21
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
144
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

It is difficult to top all the other great reviews.. Riad Granvilier stands out...our spacious and elegant suite (complete with terry robes), the professional and warm staff, the excellent dinners, the very convenient location, both the beautiful and picturesque courtyard and rooftop terrace, the special events that we celebrated there, all put this Riad at the top of the list

My husband and i were on a 13 day private tour of Morocco. Marrakech was our final destination. We spent 3 nights and 3-1/2 days at the Riad. After staying at a variety of very nice Riads and Resorts, Riad Granvilier was truly the Grand Finale' to a remarkable trip; one that was far more incredible than we had imagined.

The Riad in partnership with our tour company planned a fun and memorable birthday party for my husband complete with musicians, belly dancer and birthday cake. Also, arrangements were made for a private cooking class with the Riad's chef. We spent the afternoon shopping at the local market with the chef. Then we participated in preparing the evening's dinner with an entree of tagine of checken with preserved lemons and olives. Magnificant!

It was the staff of Mohammed, Moustafa, Hosnae and her assistant who made the stay special. The bed was comfortable, the food terrific, the setting out of a picture book, but it was the care and thoughtfulness of all the staff that made it our home for 3-1/2 days. Our days were busy, intriguing and interesting, but it was always a happy moment to make that last left turn down a narrow lane and have someone come to the door to welcome us "home". Needless to say, when in Marrakech we would not just walk but "run" to return to the Riad Granvilier.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

As a New Yorker who travels frequently, I'm quite picky about where I stay. Your choice in hotel can make/break a trip! So when I decided to stay at a Riad (traditional Moroccan bed and breakfast) instead of my usual luxury hotel, I was a little nervous. But honestly, choosing to stay at the Riad Granvilier was the best decision I've ever made.

Not only was the Riad Granvilier lovely, with it's open interior courtyard, private rooftop, and comfortable rooms, but the staff is unparallelled in their hospitality. Mohamed, Mustafa and their team made us feel truly cared for the entire time. They answered our questions, helped with itineraries and even cared for me when I caught a cold (tea + local honey is the best medicine!). Breakfasts were served with a smile on the rooftop. Rooms were kept very clean, including subtle incense. And despite the hot Moroccan sun, the air conditioner kept us incredibly comfortable.

The location of Riad Granvilier was also perfect, found on a winding road just beyond the Jamaa el-Fna square. Very exciting, convenient place to stay and within walking distance of many sites we wanted to experience. We also felt very safe, which is important.

Our expectations were exceeded, which is rare, and I would highly recommend this riad to anyone visiting Marrakech. Thanks to all for a lovely time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the Riad in April 2013. I chose this property after a careful research of the reviews on TA and other sites. This riad survives only due to the welcoming employees working there. We felt very warmly welcomed, but when we arrived we were given a room - tiny by Moroccan standards (we spent 2 weeks in Morocco and stayed in different Riads)- the room smelled terrible, we were told there was a leak but it's taken care of. We can just spray the air freshener and it will be fine. No Way! Then we were given a room on the roof. Tiny as well, but no stinking smell. But, for 2 nights we spent we had absolutely not hot water and very weak water pressure. After this was mentioned to the manager, he assured us that the technician is fixing the problem and we will have hot water. No dice! On top of everything ,the room was so tiny and the bathroom has a huge window into the room without any glass. Open arch! So the whole room smelled like toilet, but of course, there was the air freshener. Terrible experience. And then, doing this review, I just noticed the Warning! by TA for questionable reviews and tempering. Be careful when booking at this Riad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have just left the Riad Granvilier and I am feeling quite sad. We had a brilliant stay and were made really welcome by both the owner and everyone who works there. The Riad is beautifully finished and it seems no expense has been spared in decorating and refurbishing the house. Centred around an airy courtyard with an orange tree and water, there are beautiful mosaics and an airy feel to the house. Windows open on to the courtyard from the rooms and there is a balcony running around the courtyard. Simone the owner was very friendly and attentive and there are plans for a hammam too.

We loved having breakfast on the roof terrace in the sun, followed by sitting up there in the shade surrounded by bird song.

Breakfast was a selection of pastries, yoghurt, bread, local jams, fresh orange juice, fruit and cheese. We were also offered eggs.

We were kept supplied with mint tea and pastries and one night we had a truly wonderful meal at the riad. It is within easy reach of the souks, in the heart of the medina.

I would recommend it highly

Room Tip: The Mamounia suite is good! The rooms have AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We were given a very warm welcome and this friendly and helpful attitude continued through our stay. Very clean throughout. Beautiful room, bed and bathroom. Plenty of soft, thick towels and each day they were tumble dried and returned ready for an evening shower. Bedding was spotless. Comfortable internal courtyard with sofas, books and magazines to enjoy. The sun terrace was private and well appointed with sunbeds, chairs, tables and a shaded lounging area. Our room, the Alounia, was very quiet at the top of the riad next to the sun terrace. The staff were very attentive and kind, they went far and beyond the normal service at other hotels we have stayed in. Always welcomed us by name, offered to book restaurants, arranged fantastic day trips for us which were reasonably priced. We've never stayed anywhere so comfortable. Made to feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Mohammed, Mustafa and Hisham were incredible. Homemade yoghurt and plentiful breakfast set us up until evening time. We had a meal at the riad on our first night, which was gorgeous. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our wonderful stay at Riad Granvilier started before we even arrived at the Riad. After a complementary airport pickup we were met at the Jamma El Fna by Hisham, the excellent Riad Manager. He suggested a freshly squeezed orange juice (delicious!!) while he helped us to get our bearings of the Medina. This was a good indication of the incredible care and attention to detail that we would be shown throughout our time at the Riad Granvilier. Hisham's recommendations for places to eat and things to do as well as his clear directions helped to make our visit in Marrekesh enjoyable and stress-free. The food offered at the Riad is delicious, especially the homemade yogurt served at breakfast and the tasty tagines in the evening. Little touches such as being delivered tea on the roof terrace made us feel at home and well cared for. A big thank you to the owners and all the staff at the Riad Granvilier! We can't wait to stay with you again!

Room Tip: Follow Hisham's directions (of landmarks) rather than attempting to follow a map!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Granvilier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Granvilier

Address: 100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #645 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Granvilier 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Granvilier is a luxury hotel in the heart of the old Medina of Marrakech. It has been tastefully and lovingly restored with great attention to detail. Decorated with the finest traditional materials, exclusive, hand-crafted furniture and contemporary Moroccan art. It is ideal for people looking for personalized service. Riad Granvilier is the perfect base to enjoy the wonders of Marrakech. You will live an authentic and unique Moroccan experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Granvilier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Granvilier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.