We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Granvilier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Granvilier to your Saves list
Riad Granvilier
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #664 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the Riad in April 2013. I chose this property after a careful research of the reviews on TA and other sites. This riad survives only due to the welcoming employees working there. We felt very warmly welcomed, but when we arrived we were given a room - tiny by Moroccan standards (we spent 2 weeks in Morocco and stayed in different Riads)- the room smelled terrible, we were told there was a leak but it's taken care of. We can just spray the air freshener and it will be fine. No Way! Then we were given a room on the roof. Tiny as well, but no stinking smell. But, for 2 nights we spent we had absolutely not hot water and very weak water pressure. After this was mentioned to the manager, he assured us that the technician is fixing the problem and we will have hot water. No dice! On top of everything ,the room was so tiny and the bathroom has a huge window into the room without any glass. Open arch! So the whole room smelled like toilet, but of course, there was the air freshener. Terrible experience. And then, doing this review, I just noticed the Warning! by TA for questionable reviews and tempering. Be careful when booking at this Riad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    24
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
149
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have just left the Riad Granvilier and I am feeling quite sad. We had a brilliant stay and were made really welcome by both the owner and everyone who works there. The Riad is beautifully finished and it seems no expense has been spared in decorating and refurbishing the house. Centred around an airy courtyard with an orange tree and water, there are beautiful mosaics and an airy feel to the house. Windows open on to the courtyard from the rooms and there is a balcony running around the courtyard. Simone the owner was very friendly and attentive and there are plans for a hammam too.

We loved having breakfast on the roof terrace in the sun, followed by sitting up there in the shade surrounded by bird song.

Breakfast was a selection of pastries, yoghurt, bread, local jams, fresh orange juice, fruit and cheese. We were also offered eggs.

We were kept supplied with mint tea and pastries and one night we had a truly wonderful meal at the riad. It is within easy reach of the souks, in the heart of the medina.

I would recommend it highly

Room Tip: The Mamounia suite is good! The rooms have AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were given a very warm welcome and this friendly and helpful attitude continued through our stay. Very clean throughout. Beautiful room, bed and bathroom. Plenty of soft, thick towels and each day they were tumble dried and returned ready for an evening shower. Bedding was spotless. Comfortable internal courtyard with sofas, books and magazines to enjoy. The sun terrace was private and well appointed with sunbeds, chairs, tables and a shaded lounging area. Our room, the Alounia, was very quiet at the top of the riad next to the sun terrace. The staff were very attentive and kind, they went far and beyond the normal service at other hotels we have stayed in. Always welcomed us by name, offered to book restaurants, arranged fantastic day trips for us which were reasonably priced. We've never stayed anywhere so comfortable. Made to feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Mohammed, Mustafa and Hisham were incredible. Homemade yoghurt and plentiful breakfast set us up until evening time. We had a meal at the riad on our first night, which was gorgeous. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our wonderful stay at Riad Granvilier started before we even arrived at the Riad. After a complementary airport pickup we were met at the Jamma El Fna by Hisham, the excellent Riad Manager. He suggested a freshly squeezed orange juice (delicious!!) while he helped us to get our bearings of the Medina. This was a good indication of the incredible care and attention to detail that we would be shown throughout our time at the Riad Granvilier. Hisham's recommendations for places to eat and things to do as well as his clear directions helped to make our visit in Marrekesh enjoyable and stress-free. The food offered at the Riad is delicious, especially the homemade yogurt served at breakfast and the tasty tagines in the evening. Little touches such as being delivered tea on the roof terrace made us feel at home and well cared for. A big thank you to the owners and all the staff at the Riad Granvilier! We can't wait to stay with you again!

Room Tip: Follow Hisham's directions (of landmarks) rather than attempting to follow a map!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We did not stay here but we were invited by the owner to visit our friends who were staying there. We were warmly welcomed shown around the Riad and served tea on the roof terrace. We were shown the kitchen were the cook had made the lovely little cakes we ate with our tea. We also tasted the sauces she was preparing to go with the evening meal. We only stayed an hour and a half but the hospitality and welcome were excellent if we return to Marrakech this riad will be top of our list as a place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Riad Granvilier and had an amazing time. Hisham the manager and the rest of the staff were absolutely wonderful. We stayed in a suite which was huge and stunning. It is just off the main square and as soon as you walk in the doors its an oasis of peace from the hustle and bustle outside. They have a wonderful roof top terrace and the forecourt was beautiful. But the staff and their hospitality was just outstanding, I have travelled to many places and have never experienced anything quite like it - wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: They have just five rooms and all are beautiful, go for a suite if you want a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was my first time in Morocco and what a crazy experience. What made it the most memorable was this Riad.

Everyone here was nice, personal and welcoming. Their service made my trip stress-free and extremely comfortable.

But what topped it all was their food - especially their chicken tangine. It was to die for! I had many tangine throughout the trip but nothing beats the taste here. It was absolutely delicious!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Ammonites
Riad Les Ammonites
#142 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#61 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Ayadina
Riad Ayadina
#335 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#22 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#3 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Granvilier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Granvilier

Address: 100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #664 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Granvilier 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Granvilier is a luxury hotel in the heart of the old Medina of Marrakech. It has been tastefully and lovingly restored with great attention to detail. Decorated with the finest traditional materials, exclusive, hand-crafted furniture and contemporary Moroccan art. It is ideal for people looking for personalized service. Riad Granvilier is the perfect base to enjoy the wonders of Marrakech. You will live an authentic and unique Moroccan experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Riad Granvilier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Granvilier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.