We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful welcome in Marrakesh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Granvilier

Save Saved
You added Riad Granvilier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Granvilier
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #731 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome in Marrakesh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our wonderful stay at Riad Granvilier started before we even arrived at the Riad. After a complementary airport pickup we were met at the Jamma El Fna by Hisham, the excellent Riad Manager. He suggested a freshly squeezed orange juice (delicious!!) while he helped us to get our bearings of the Medina. This was a good indication of the incredible care and attention to detail that we would be shown throughout our time at the Riad Granvilier. Hisham's recommendations for places to eat and things to do as well as his clear directions helped to make our visit in Marrekesh enjoyable and stress-free. The food offered at the Riad is delicious, especially the homemade yogurt served at breakfast and the tasty tagines in the evening. Little touches such as being delivered tea on the roof terrace made us feel at home and well cared for. A big thank you to the owners and all the staff at the Riad Granvilier! We can't wait to stay with you again!

Room Tip: Follow Hisham's directions (of landmarks) rather than attempting to follow a map!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    23
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
117
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We did not stay here but we were invited by the owner to visit our friends who were staying there. We were warmly welcomed shown around the Riad and served tea on the roof terrace. We were shown the kitchen were the cook had made the lovely little cakes we ate with our tea. We also tasted the sauces she was preparing to go with the evening meal. We only stayed an hour and a half but the hospitality and welcome were excellent if we return to Marrakech this riad will be top of our list as a place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Riad Granvilier and had an amazing time. Hisham the manager and the rest of the staff were absolutely wonderful. We stayed in a suite which was huge and stunning. It is just off the main square and as soon as you walk in the doors its an oasis of peace from the hustle and bustle outside. They have a wonderful roof top terrace and the forecourt was beautiful. But the staff and their hospitality was just outstanding, I have travelled to many places and have never experienced anything quite like it - wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: They have just five rooms and all are beautiful, go for a suite if you want a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was my first time in Morocco and what a crazy experience. What made it the most memorable was this Riad.

Everyone here was nice, personal and welcoming. Their service made my trip stress-free and extremely comfortable.

But what topped it all was their food - especially their chicken tangine. It was to die for! I had many tangine throughout the trip but nothing beats the taste here. It was absolutely delicious!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Riad Granvilier is truly an oasis in the centre of the Medina of Marrakech.

This was our first trip to Morocco and we booked a weeks' accommodation at the Granvilier in the Oriental Suite, we were not disappointed!
The Riad is a tranquil bolthole in the centre of the hustle & bustle of the Medina.
We were greeted at the airport in the evening by a member of staff who drove us to the Jemaa el Fnaa, we were then escorted through the thriving square at night by Hicham who thoughfully pointed out various "landmarks" to help throughout our stay (We would never have found the riad without him). Hicham then gave us a tour of the Riad whilst other members of staff make us a welcoming drink of Moroccan mint tea and carried our luggage up to the suite.

The ambience of the Riad is wonderful and the breakfast's & dinners are amazing with all the staff genuinely "going the extra mile" to make sure your stay is one to remember.

Thankyou to all of the staff at Riad Granvilier for a very memorable holiday. ( you truly deserve the high praise in these reviews).

B & K

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was our favorite place that we stayed while in Morocco. What made it stand out so much was the service (as mentioned in all the other reviews, Hicham went out of his way to make sure that our time in Marrakech was enjoyable and went smoothly). But even without the service, the hotel was beautiful and comfortable. Our room (the oriental suite) looked better than it did on the website, there were nice toiletries, hot water was fine, the towels were SO fluffy, heater for the winter, safe in the room, wifi....I had been expecting to have to give up on nice hotel amenities to experience staying in a riad, but was so pleasantly surprised! Location was perfect as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For me, being in Marrakech was beautiful! I loved the place! Never had traveled to a place like this! Also, I was very pleased with where I stayed, Riad Granvilier! Truly a hotel with 5-star service, excellent quality service. Rooms super comfortable and well appointed and very clean. Food, pleasant surroundings! It was a dream!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Granvilier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Granvilier

Address: 100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #731 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Granvilier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Granvilier is a luxury hotel in the heart of the old Medina of Marrakech. It has been tastefully and lovingly restored with great attention to detail. Decorated with the finest traditional materials, exclusive, hand-crafted furniture and contemporary Moroccan art. It is ideal for people looking for personalized service. Riad Granvilier is the perfect base to enjoy the wonders of Marrakech. You will live an authentic and unique Moroccan experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Riad Granvilier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Granvilier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.