We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Highly Recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Granvilier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Granvilier to your Saves list
Riad Granvilier
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #664 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would Highly Recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was our favorite place that we stayed while in Morocco. What made it stand out so much was the service (as mentioned in all the other reviews, Hicham went out of his way to make sure that our time in Marrakech was enjoyable and went smoothly). But even without the service, the hotel was beautiful and comfortable. Our room (the oriental suite) looked better than it did on the website, there were nice toiletries, hot water was fine, the towels were SO fluffy, heater for the winter, safe in the room, wifi....I had been expecting to have to give up on nice hotel amenities to experience staying in a riad, but was so pleasantly surprised! Location was perfect as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    21
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
140
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanzarote, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For me, being in Marrakech was beautiful! I loved the place! Never had traveled to a place like this! Also, I was very pleased with where I stayed, Riad Granvilier! Truly a hotel with 5-star service, excellent quality service. Rooms super comfortable and well appointed and very clean. Food, pleasant surroundings! It was a dream!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Riad Granvilier has to be one of the best places we have every stayed. Our room (the Oriental suite) was exactly as pictured on the website, comfortable and more than enough space for a 7 night stay. The staff were amazingly helpful and so, so friendly. The location was perfect - so close to Jemaa el Fna and the souks - but a world away once you were inside the Riad. The food was unbelievable, so fresh, so tasty, so good. Our highlight - watching the sun set on 2012 from the rooftop terrace of Riad Granvilier. Simply perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We should have written this review a long time ago.

I wish I could pay extra to be able to rate this Riad higher than 5. This wonderful little slice of heaven is a diamond in the rough. When we arrived we were greeted by the charming and all knowing host, Hecham. We didn’t know at the time, but he would be our guide to everything wonderful and enchanting about Marrakech. We have never had better service (or better food) anywhere in the WORLD than at Riad Granvilier. The day we arrived, Hecham guided us from the busy square to our Riad, pointing out milestones and (VIEWPOINTS) along the way. We later appreciated that these hints helped us find our way to and from the riad for the rest of our vacation. Marrakech can be quite a maze but Hecham’s directions made it easy as pie.

Arriving in the riad, we were instantly offered breakfast before continuing the tour. We didn’t know it at the time but that was the best advice we’d ever heard from a concierge. When we had eaten after our very long journey we suddenly realized we were in a gorgeous setting. Having a little food in our tummys made us so much happier and excited to take in the sites. The first sight being the stunning Riad. We could see straight up into the blue sky, and all around us was beautiful tile work and fluffy pillows. It was a dream!

We have travelled a lot, but at the riad we met people that we truly considered to be friends, and surprisingly enough this was the riad staff itself. Asna, the chef makes the best yogurt we’ve ever had, and ever will have, and anyone will ever even think could exist, and so, and so on, and so on ☺. The food there was the best we have ever had abroad. Ever.

Hecham pointed us out to a few places, and took his time to draw us a detailed to ensure that we wouldn’t get lost. And his help made our stay comfortable and kept us from feeling vulnerable, which as two women was very important.

At every juncture, someone at the riad was suggesting something that turned to be magical. From the palace, to the Medina, to the dinners on the terrace; there is no way to accurately express how utterly enchaining our experience was. But we know without a doubt that Hecham and the riad were the reason we fell in love with Marrakech.

Morocco is still our favorite place we have been in the whole world, and we truly believe that is thanks to the staff at the Riad Granvilier. We miss you all!!! See you next year!

Fondly,
Chelsea

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We loved this cozy little gem hidden in a little alley behind the grand square of Jamaa el-Fna.

As the manager told us when he picked us up from the taxi stop, the city is SAFE, and so we felt while walking around the medina.

He also gave us good advice on many other things, and even arranged for us to help in the kitchen to prepare the most incredible cus-cus i've ever tasted, so fluffy & tasty and learn the "secret" from the cook Hasna, herself.

Everything was so lovely that i forgot to mention the hot water took long to arrive in the shower (bad habits one acquires in Finland -instant hot water, i mean :-)

All in all; a riad worth staying at, not only for its beautiful decoration, but specially for the 5-star service of all the staff working there 24/7 to make sure guests are enjoying their vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

for our wedding anniversary we decided to go to Morocco and we chose the Riad Granvilier the various comments on TA, we have not been disappointed riad is identical compared to the photos on the website of Riad.
very good organization on the part of the home team.
Our suite was beautiful and superbly equipped not to mention the bathroom which was very typical, really very conveniently close with fluffy towels and sponges high quality.
the breakfasts were very varied and plentiful. We recommend half board as the food is exquisite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binzen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We arrived at Riad Granvilier and we were delighted with the perfect home airport.

Riad very good, very well placed a few steps from the famous Place jema el Fna. A remarkable cleanliness.

Staff very helpful and a rare kindness, we organize a stay in the desert with the staff of the Riad, a great stay and faultless.

3 days of happiness Merzouga and we are back at the Riad Granvilier in the evening and we have a nice dinner and our room was very nice and very well equipped.

Thank you all for that stay was just perfect.
Thanks again Mustapha, Hicham, Asna et Our driver Mustapha

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Granvilier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Granvilier

Address: 100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #664 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Granvilier 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Granvilier is a luxury hotel in the heart of the old Medina of Marrakech. It has been tastefully and lovingly restored with great attention to detail. Decorated with the finest traditional materials, exclusive, hand-crafted furniture and contemporary Moroccan art. It is ideal for people looking for personalized service. Riad Granvilier is the perfect base to enjoy the wonders of Marrakech. You will live an authentic and unique Moroccan experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Granvilier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Granvilier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.