We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quality Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Granvilier

Save Saved
You added Riad Granvilier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Granvilier
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #691 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Lanzarote, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Quality Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For me, being in Marrakech was beautiful! I loved the place! Never had traveled to a place like this! Also, I was very pleased with where I stayed, Riad Granvilier! Truly a hotel with 5-star service, excellent quality service. Rooms super comfortable and well appointed and very clean. Food, pleasant surroundings! It was a dream!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    23
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
125
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suzhou, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Riad Granvilier has to be one of the best places we have every stayed. Our room (the Oriental suite) was exactly as pictured on the website, comfortable and more than enough space for a 7 night stay. The staff were amazingly helpful and so, so friendly. The location was perfect - so close to Jemaa el Fna and the souks - but a world away once you were inside the Riad. The food was unbelievable, so fresh, so tasty, so good. Our highlight - watching the sun set on 2012 from the rooftop terrace of Riad Granvilier. Simply perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We should have written this review a long time ago.

I wish I could pay extra to be able to rate this Riad higher than 5. This wonderful little slice of heaven is a diamond in the rough. When we arrived we were greeted by the charming and all knowing host, Hecham. We didn’t know at the time, but he would be our guide to everything wonderful and enchanting about Marrakech. We have never had better service (or better food) anywhere in the WORLD than at Riad Granvilier. The day we arrived, Hecham guided us from the busy square to our Riad, pointing out milestones and (VIEWPOINTS) along the way. We later appreciated that these hints helped us find our way to and from the riad for the rest of our vacation. Marrakech can be quite a maze but Hecham’s directions made it easy as pie.

Arriving in the riad, we were instantly offered breakfast before continuing the tour. We didn’t know it at the time but that was the best advice we’d ever heard from a concierge. When we had eaten after our very long journey we suddenly realized we were in a gorgeous setting. Having a little food in our tummys made us so much happier and excited to take in the sites. The first sight being the stunning Riad. We could see straight up into the blue sky, and all around us was beautiful tile work and fluffy pillows. It was a dream!

We have travelled a lot, but at the riad we met people that we truly considered to be friends, and surprisingly enough this was the riad staff itself. Asna, the chef makes the best yogurt we’ve ever had, and ever will have, and anyone will ever even think could exist, and so, and so on, and so on ☺. The food there was the best we have ever had abroad. Ever.

Hecham pointed us out to a few places, and took his time to draw us a detailed to ensure that we wouldn’t get lost. And his help made our stay comfortable and kept us from feeling vulnerable, which as two women was very important.

At every juncture, someone at the riad was suggesting something that turned to be magical. From the palace, to the Medina, to the dinners on the terrace; there is no way to accurately express how utterly enchaining our experience was. But we know without a doubt that Hecham and the riad were the reason we fell in love with Marrakech.

Morocco is still our favorite place we have been in the whole world, and we truly believe that is thanks to the staff at the Riad Granvilier. We miss you all!!! See you next year!

Fondly,
Chelsea

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We loved this cozy little gem hidden in a little alley behind the grand square of Jamaa el-Fna.

As the manager told us when he picked us up from the taxi stop, the city is SAFE, and so we felt while walking around the medina.

He also gave us good advice on many other things, and even arranged for us to help in the kitchen to prepare the most incredible cus-cus i've ever tasted, so fluffy & tasty and learn the "secret" from the cook Hasna, herself.

Everything was so lovely that i forgot to mention the hot water took long to arrive in the shower (bad habits one acquires in Finland -instant hot water, i mean :-)

All in all; a riad worth staying at, not only for its beautiful decoration, but specially for the 5-star service of all the staff working there 24/7 to make sure guests are enjoying their vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

for our wedding anniversary we decided to go to Morocco and we chose the Riad Granvilier the various comments on TA, we have not been disappointed riad is identical compared to the photos on the website of Riad.
very good organization on the part of the home team.
Our suite was beautiful and superbly equipped not to mention the bathroom which was very typical, really very conveniently close with fluffy towels and sponges high quality.
the breakfasts were very varied and plentiful. We recommend half board as the food is exquisite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binzen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We arrived at Riad Granvilier and we were delighted with the perfect home airport.

Riad very good, very well placed a few steps from the famous Place jema el Fna. A remarkable cleanliness.

Staff very helpful and a rare kindness, we organize a stay in the desert with the staff of the Riad, a great stay and faultless.

3 days of happiness Merzouga and we are back at the Riad Granvilier in the evening and we have a nice dinner and our room was very nice and very well equipped.

Thank you all for that stay was just perfect.
Thanks again Mustapha, Hicham, Asna et Our driver Mustapha

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you want to really experience Marrakech you should try to stay in a Riad and not a big modern hotel, and Riad Granvilier was perfect for us and ticked all the boxes. We had a great time, the entire staff were the nicest people you could wish for. Nothing was too much trouble for us. From being met at the airport and taken to the main square, right up to being taken back to the airport, it was a joy. Hisham our receptionist met us at the square, which was by then heaving with people as it was just getting dark, and nothing prepares you for the first time you see this amazing square. It is very hard to describe just how you feel, you just have to experience it yourself! You are right in the midst of what can only be described as a totally different, with all its smells, noise, bustling people, horse-drawn carriages, bikes, scooters, handcarts, you name it, everything is there! You cant help but be drawn in to their way of life and if you absorb it and join in you will really enjoy yourself. The riad is only 5 mins or so walk then to the Medina and Granvilier was lovely. Only 5 rooms and we had the Orientale Suite, which was the nicest of all and it is just as it is shown on the riad main website. The bathroom was lovely, very unusual and quite exotic, and we always had lots of lovely fluffy towels, and bathrobes.There is a really nice top terrace with sunbeds and a seating area, and we had breakfast here one morning in the sunshine. We ate in Granvilier on two nights, and both meals were beautiful, with accompanying really nice wine from Cassablanca. Mustapha looked after us wonderfully both at breakfast and in the evening, and we couldnt have asked for a more caring person. Hassna did the cooking and she was a lovely person, always smiling, as was our lovely lady who tidied our room each day. Hisham was a joy. He was charming, spoke excellent English and could organise anything needed. He spent time with us next morning telling us the best places to visit and booked us into a local restaurant, which although quite expensive, was not to be missed. The upstairs terrace was a great place to have a cocktail. We ate in the local square one night, which was great fun, and at no time did we ever feel vulnerable or unsafe. The Riad looks difficult to find when you first arrive, but is actually very straightforward and we had no problems coming and going. If you like to experience local culture and like to haggle, then you will enjoy staying here. There are lots of places to sight see and Hisham arranged for us to have a tour of the area and see the Atlas mountains with Mustapha (who had collected us from the airport), driving us personally, and we also had a guide to take us climbing up the mountains to see the waterfalls. Another lovely experience. So, if you want a totally different experience, excellent service, lovely staff, and a comfortable bed, then you cant go wrong with Riad Granvilier. One minor thing to remember, it would be easier to take enough stirling or euros to pay your bill on departure, because it wasnt possible to use your bank card, and it would save going to the cash machine. It wasnt a problem for us, but it could be for some, but I think others have made this point in their reviews.

Room Tip: The suites were both best rooms. Orientale was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Granvilier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Granvilier

Address: 100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #691 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Granvilier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Granvilier is a luxury hotel in the heart of the old Medina of Marrakech. It has been tastefully and lovingly restored with great attention to detail. Decorated with the finest traditional materials, exclusive, hand-crafted furniture and contemporary Moroccan art. It is ideal for people looking for personalized service. Riad Granvilier is the perfect base to enjoy the wonders of Marrakech. You will live an authentic and unique Moroccan experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Granvilier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Granvilier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.