We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Granvilier

Save Saved
You added Riad Granvilier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Granvilier
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #683 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
france
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

for our wedding anniversary we decided to go to Morocco and we chose the Riad Granvilier the various comments on TA, we have not been disappointed riad is identical compared to the photos on the website of Riad.
very good organization on the part of the home team.
Our suite was beautiful and superbly equipped not to mention the bathroom which was very typical, really very conveniently close with fluffy towels and sponges high quality.
the breakfasts were very varied and plentiful. We recommend half board as the food is exquisite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    20
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
129
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binzen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We arrived at Riad Granvilier and we were delighted with the perfect home airport.

Riad very good, very well placed a few steps from the famous Place jema el Fna. A remarkable cleanliness.

Staff very helpful and a rare kindness, we organize a stay in the desert with the staff of the Riad, a great stay and faultless.

3 days of happiness Merzouga and we are back at the Riad Granvilier in the evening and we have a nice dinner and our room was very nice and very well equipped.

Thank you all for that stay was just perfect.
Thanks again Mustapha, Hicham, Asna et Our driver Mustapha

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you want to really experience Marrakech you should try to stay in a Riad and not a big modern hotel, and Riad Granvilier was perfect for us and ticked all the boxes. We had a great time, the entire staff were the nicest people you could wish for. Nothing was too much trouble for us. From being met at the airport and taken to the main square, right up to being taken back to the airport, it was a joy. Hisham our receptionist met us at the square, which was by then heaving with people as it was just getting dark, and nothing prepares you for the first time you see this amazing square. It is very hard to describe just how you feel, you just have to experience it yourself! You are right in the midst of what can only be described as a totally different, with all its smells, noise, bustling people, horse-drawn carriages, bikes, scooters, handcarts, you name it, everything is there! You cant help but be drawn in to their way of life and if you absorb it and join in you will really enjoy yourself. The riad is only 5 mins or so walk then to the Medina and Granvilier was lovely. Only 5 rooms and we had the Orientale Suite, which was the nicest of all and it is just as it is shown on the riad main website. The bathroom was lovely, very unusual and quite exotic, and we always had lots of lovely fluffy towels, and bathrobes.There is a really nice top terrace with sunbeds and a seating area, and we had breakfast here one morning in the sunshine. We ate in Granvilier on two nights, and both meals were beautiful, with accompanying really nice wine from Cassablanca. Mustapha looked after us wonderfully both at breakfast and in the evening, and we couldnt have asked for a more caring person. Hassna did the cooking and she was a lovely person, always smiling, as was our lovely lady who tidied our room each day. Hisham was a joy. He was charming, spoke excellent English and could organise anything needed. He spent time with us next morning telling us the best places to visit and booked us into a local restaurant, which although quite expensive, was not to be missed. The upstairs terrace was a great place to have a cocktail. We ate in the local square one night, which was great fun, and at no time did we ever feel vulnerable or unsafe. The Riad looks difficult to find when you first arrive, but is actually very straightforward and we had no problems coming and going. If you like to experience local culture and like to haggle, then you will enjoy staying here. There are lots of places to sight see and Hisham arranged for us to have a tour of the area and see the Atlas mountains with Mustapha (who had collected us from the airport), driving us personally, and we also had a guide to take us climbing up the mountains to see the waterfalls. Another lovely experience. So, if you want a totally different experience, excellent service, lovely staff, and a comfortable bed, then you cant go wrong with Riad Granvilier. One minor thing to remember, it would be easier to take enough stirling or euros to pay your bill on departure, because it wasnt possible to use your bank card, and it would save going to the cash machine. It wasnt a problem for us, but it could be for some, but I think others have made this point in their reviews.

Room Tip: The suites were both best rooms. Orientale was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My trip to Marrakech was a success! Very memorable! I fell in love the beautiful landscapes and places, but I was very satisfied with the place where I did my stay, Riad Granvilier! It really surprised me with the first service and the rooms comfortable and beautiful that my family and I slept! I want to congratulate the owners and staff of Riad Granvilier the great work, you are truly a successful team! Never before have I felt so welcomed and treated at a local how I felt at Riad Granvilier !Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a very pleasent stay at Riad Grandvilier which is a place where you feel like home. Icham and the entire staff are very warm and nice and the structure is quiet and with all the comforts. Food is great. what you want more?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Sealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and were happy.

The place is very small - only 5 rooms, renovated just 2 years ago.

The riad is located in the medina, 5min walk from the main square and easy to find once you have been showed the way. The receptionist met us at the sqare and walked with us to show the way. After this it was very easy to find it - we only had to remember 1 turn to take.

When you walk to this riad, you walk through local families living there. At no time we felt unsafe. Even at night there are lights, and local people did not show much interest to us.

While the place itself is good, but not exceptional (I have no idea how they can obtain 5 stars without the pool and restaurant - restaurant is only on demand if you prebook dinner), but what they win on is SERVICE. You are "home safe" at this place, if you should need any assistance. If you don't, probably this place is as good as many others with great reviews.

When I say service - it's all those extra small things:
- very good english speaking skills (quite a difference from many other riads)
- meeting us at the main square upon arrival and showing us the way
- extra breakfast on arrival before check-in, because our flight from home destination left very very early morning. It was so nice to start Marocco experience with a full stomach instead of searching for a coffee shop.
- and especially, since one of us had gotten stomach problems, those people were very kind and offered us their assistance (boiled rice on request at NO charge, gave us yoghurt at NO charge, brought us drinks on request and only afterwards we had to take care of payment).
- in general, everything went smooth and easy here.

The internet was fine, but in the reception area only (cosy to sit there, no worries).

Upstairs they have a great roof terrace! Both beach beds and a cosy corner for book reading or just hanging out with other guests (if you meet any - afterall this place only has 5 rooms).

Both Hicham (day time receptionist) and Mustafa (night time receptionist) were very kind and helpfull.

Breakfast was fine - youghurt, white bread with butter and cheese, panckakes with 4 different jams and different fruits from day to day. Good (and free) minth tea at any convenient time on request.

A little downpart of this place is that they do not accept credit cards, so you have to walk to touristed areas, cash money at the machines, pay withdrawal charge of course and get back to the riad.

So all in all - nice place, and here you are "home safe", if you should need any assistance during your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you want to experience the real Medina of Marrakech you must stay at this Riad! We had a beautiful suite in the heart of the Medina, but what made it so special was the incredible staff! Everyhting was perfect, from the airport pick up, to greeting us at the Medina to walk us to our hotel, the room was impeccable, the dinner and wait staff were fabulous! The staff were so attentive, they booked our tours, gave us advice on sights, restaurants it was a stress free vacation because of the staff! I would recommend this Riad to everyone, my husband and I travel all over the world, and this place is at the top of our list, our only regret our vacation was to short, we are planning on going back and visiting the desert and of course staying at our favourite Riad!

Room Tip: Dont be afraid in staying in the Medina, this was the best decision about our vacation, we got to ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Granvilier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Granvilier

Address: 100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #683 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Granvilier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Granvilier is a luxury hotel in the heart of the old Medina of Marrakech. It has been tastefully and lovingly restored with great attention to detail. Decorated with the finest traditional materials, exclusive, hand-crafted furniture and contemporary Moroccan art. It is ideal for people looking for personalized service. Riad Granvilier is the perfect base to enjoy the wonders of Marrakech. You will live an authentic and unique Moroccan experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Riad Granvilier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Granvilier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.