We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing is probably an understatement...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colours of Morocco Day Tours

Colours of Morocco Day Tours
Marrakech, Morocco
00212 661 349 338
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #28 of 412 activities in Marrakech
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Colours of Morocco tours organises and offers a variety of tours and excursions all around Morocco. Imperial cities, Atlas mountains , camel trek in the Sahara , berber trail, the atlantic coast ( Agadir , Essaouira ) and the north of Morocco ( Tangiers,Chefchaouen)..a colourful landscape With it's people, their traditions and customs are presented to you to make your own tailor-made trip ..to experience , to live real colours of Morocco.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Amazing is probably an understatement...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My friend and I found Colours of Morocco on Trip Advisor and chose it over another highly ranked company based on reviews and the description of the tours available. It was the best decision. We spent three days with Mohamed touring different aspects of Morocco- Casablanca (the mosque makes the visit worthwhile), the Ouzoud Cascades (watch out for the monkeys during lunch), and Essaouira (spend more time here!!) Mohamed was friendly, punctual, knowledgable and generous. Sometimes when people, especially in the tourism industry, do extra things for you it feels like its done only for an extra tip on the end, but this is not the case with Mohamed. He went out of his way for us with no ulterior motives. After talking about the confusion of finding restaurants in the medina, he picked us up one night after a day tour and took us out to dinner in the new city. Upon learning our airport ride had fallen through, he came back to pick us up and take us to the airport and waited while we checked in. Our days in Morocco we fine before we met Mohamed, but our experience with him turned an average trip into one we won't soon forget. Prices are more than fair and we felt he was owed more than he charged, so we paid accordingly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best part of our trip to Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Mohamed was an incredible guide. Three friends and I took the three valleys tour through the Atlas Mountains with him. We only had four days in Morocco, but this was definitely a highlight. Mohamed was incredibly knowledgable about the history of Morocco, the Berbers, the landscape, etc. He was also quite funny and personable. Every story was tinged with a personal anecdote that brought the color to the colours of Morocco tour.

I've been on more than a dozen tours in a dozen countries, but Mohamed was the best guide I've ever had. And WHEN I go back to Morocco, I will take another tour with him for certain.

It was clear to us that Mohamed didn't just know the area, he loved it. Kids rushed up to the car to say hi - not to ask for anything - but just to see that he was there. Of course, he was generous with them, even going to the market to get a soccerball for a kid he had made a promise to on a previous trip. He was a part of the community and welcomed us into it as well.

Some of the highlights: mint tea at a Berber home, incredible colors of the doors and buildings, stunning variations in the colors of the red clay, green hills and white mountains; the smiling faces of the children we met, the hustle bustle of the Berber market (just for passing through not buying the goods), seeing stunningly beautiful visages of Morocco far from the image that you had in your head before you took the tour.

Definitely bring your camera. You could take pictures for days. Also, bring some snacks. You will stop for lunch, but having a few bites along the way will help.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Using Colours of Morocco was the highlight of my trip. A friend and I spent two days in Marrakech by ourselves and were feeling a bit overwhelmed and done with Morocco. However the experience was completely reversed by Mohamed's expertise and hospitality. His English is fantastic and he is even kinder and more generous than you would ever expect a tour guide to be. He is personable and knowledgable about everything. He had the perfect balance between conversation and quiet, just letting us absorb the scenery and beauty of the places we went. He helped us find places to eat and even negotiated and picked a guide for us at the Cascades of Ouzoud. My friend and I felt like we were leaving a friend behind when we left. If I ever go back to Morocco, I will only be going on Colours of Morocco tours. Thank you Mohamed!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakesh, Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our trip to Morocco was unique. We fully enjoyed our two weeks. We did many km with Colours of Morocco and we appreciated every moments. They are professionals, interesting and educationals. We would go back soon to see more of that country. Thanks for the memorable experience!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very memorable experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I went on a very rush 1-week vacation in Morocco back in late December 2012. When we planned this trip almost half a year ago, we had requested for quotes from many tour agencies and finally we picked Colours of Morocco mainly for its fair price (almost half price of what other agencies quoted us) and the very good review mentioned here related to Mohammed. When we first arrived at the airport being picked up by the driver, we were a little bit upset that it wasn't Mohammed, but afterall December is a busy season for most tour agencies and we understand that there were only 2 of us so it is understandable that Mohammed could be leading a bigger group happening at the same time. So we weren't that unhappy about it, and met this young driver named Ahmed. He was very accommodating throughout the trip, although his english skills are fairly limited in our expectation so a bit difficult to maintain a fair conversation. But he tried to answer most of the questions that we had throughout the trip. He kept mentioning to us the car was ours, we can stop and take pictures whenever we liked to.

The highlight of the trip was definitely 1-night stay at the Sahara Desert and the 2-hours camel ride from sunset to pitch darkness in the middle of the desert. The moonlight landscape was very beautiful and definitely unforgettable. However, we feel a little unprepared for the night of stay at the desert, because we weren't told in advance to pack only 1 night of clothes. So we were rushing to get all the clothes and stuff we need for that night just when we arrived at the hotel where we started the camel ride and made us forgot to bring our down-jacket and tuque that we did bring along in the luggage. End up that night was pretty cold (almost 0C) and we could have enjoyed more if we had those items with us. Other than that, the sunrise the next morning was again a very sensory experience. At the tent, we were waiting for the guide to bring us to a good spot to see the sunrise, but we waited for awhile and still didn't see anybody, until we saw a group was already walking on the huge sand dunes behind the tent to reach the top just in time for the sunrise. We went running on the sand trying to catch up with them, but couldn't make it to the top because it was very tiring especially running on the sand. So we were again a bit disappointed because the guide didn't wait for us! And the sunrise was supposed to be the HIGHLIGHT of the entire trip, to me at least!

I read some reviews about driver taking you to buy souvenirs (fossils, rugs, robes, tagine, etc) throughout the trip, but we were okay with that as part of contributing to the economy. I also want to mention about lunches. Each day we were brought to nice restaurants for lunches, we were okay on the first day, but then we wanted to try some local food. We later understand that we were on the road, so it was not easy to find safe and clean local foods. If you really want to try local foods, save it for Marrakech.

After the 4 day road trip back from the desert, we had 1 day at Marrakech. A tour guide named Zubida was arranged for half a day of the tour. She mentioned that Mohammed had treated us to take the carriage from the main square to Jardine Majorelle. So we feel very pleased as although he couldn't take us personally on the tour, but he did something to make up for it!

Overall, the trip was very good, but I couldn't give full 5 stars given the reasons above. But definitely the scenery from Marrakech to the desert through the Atlas mountains was amazing...you will see mountains in different colours, transition ranging from very green, to few trees, 1 tree, then no trees, and then pure sand and rocks, very fascinating! A must-see country!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colours of Morocco Day Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Colours of Morocco Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colours of Morocco Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.