We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Italian restaurant in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Qui Rit

Le Chat Qui Rit
92 Rue de Yougoslavie Nouvelle Ville, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524434311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French, Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A good Italian restaurant in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Le chat is located outside the medina and we decided to go there for lunch on our way to essaouira. The food was great and the owner was personally engaging with all the customers in the restaurant. The service was good as well.
I would def recommend this place for a nice hearty Italian meal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    197
    90
    25
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We thought this would be a nice change from tagines etc as other reviewers have said, but I was so disappointed with Le Chat qui rit. The dishes are quite old fashioned and uninspiring, italian food at its worst. There are some other Italian restaurants in Gueliz which I wish we went to instead. My carpaccio was OK but way too much of it, and the pasta was described as having a chorizo and chilli sauce so I assumed it would be tomato based, but it was a big brick of dried pasta stuck together with a sickly rich creamy sauce. My partner had more success with his choices but was not overly thrilled either. Compared to London where you can get fantastic quality food and better service for less money, this place is a real let down.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Typical Italian restaurant. Not french as in tripadvisor. ... Busy with good various menu. Not to expensive. Very good wine. Friendly staf.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Makes a pleasant change, nothing much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

It's a good opportunity to get to the newer part of Marrakech and taste some different ingredients. Clearly tripadvisor is ensuring a good supply of Europeans visiting this joint, but when you take away the branding (quirky, French restaurant in Morocco which serves Italian food), then there is not much else to say about it. Service was functional - I expected it to have a few characters working there - not so. Food was OK - the bread was superb and best I've had in Morocco. Comical translations from French to English on the menu are a likely talking point. Decor looked almost deliberately 'aged' and was full of interesting classic posters for famous French and international products. Noticeboard was of interest, including an advert for a five tonne elephant. Booze was fine. It's worth going there and great for young couples but not as inexpensive as I had hoped it would be, with lots of dishes in the 130 dirham range.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Instow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We chose the restaurant after a recommendation from he hosts t our riad. He food was good, particularly the speciality pasta with Corsican ragu. But or lunch, there were only 4 tables occupied and it was a rather hurried and sterile visit. Maybe it would have Ben better for dinner?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Qui Rit also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Le Chat Qui Rit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chat Qui Rit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.