We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best getaway from tagines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Qui Rit

Le Chat Qui Rit
92 Rue de Yougoslavie Nouvelle Ville, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524434311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 547 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $25
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best getaway from tagines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Being a vegetarian, I was feeling done with Tagines and Couscous pretty quickly into our Marrakech trip, and this adorable place was just what I needed. Great food, friendly staff and was a perfect evening out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    92
    26
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Becket, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cute Italian restaurant in the new town of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed two different pastas at this cute restaurant. The walls are filled with many framed posters from various countries. The food was tasty, and far better than most Italian restaurants in the US. It was also very reasonably priced for very generous portions.

The other diners seemed to be locals, and most knew the owner well which indicates that most are regular patrons. We'd come back too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went with two friends to this restaurant, for an evening meal. The service was very good, the menu was extensive (including elephant, which we were not tempted by!). We all chose different dishes, and had a taste of each one, all very good indeed. The owner came to see if we were happy with the food, and mentioned that the vegetables were all organic, which was interesting to know, but wouldn't have bothered us, if they hadn't been.
The place was full by 8:30 so we were pleased that we had booked.
Would be happy to pay another visit to this restaurant, but there are so many to try, in Marrakech! However, as the title says, an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinecrest, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and, at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A friend highly recommended that restaurant to us. Knowing her high culinary standards, we went right ahead and we were not disappointed at all. In fact, we were lucky to get a table at the last minute thanks to a football match.
It is not a fancy 5 Stars restaurant but, you can't go wrong.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Not wanting to eat tagines or Cous Cous & having read the reviews for this restaurant we gave it a go.
On arrival we were promptly greeted & seated & didn't have to wait long for the menu & drinks by Marrakech standards.
The room had acFrench Bistro look, clean & tidy with a nice buzzy atmosphere. The owner came round a few times to ask if we needed anything further, & kept a paternal eye on his staff.
Sadly the only negative was the food. We both had mozzarella & tomato to start which was ok. I had rigatoni Diablo which was supposed to be with chilli, garlic & salami. There was plenty of pasta, no taste of the garlic or chilli, & the salami was rock hard. Weirdly it came with a creamy sauce & not tomato which didn't help. My husband had spaghetti with lobster, & asked before ordering if it was out of the shell to which they said yes. When it arrived it was in the shell with enough pasta to feed 4 people. The lobster was over cooked & dry.
I was surprised as other reviewers had said the food standard was good; maybe the chef was having an off day?
We had a decent bottle of red wine for 200 dirhams, 2 beers & 2 digestives coming to 950 dirhams (about £70) for 2.
All in all a nice change from the medina, but don't expect great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Qui Rit also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Chat Qui Rit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chat Qui Rit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;