We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best getaway from tagines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Qui Rit

Le Chat Qui Rit
92 Rue de Yougoslavie Nouvelle Ville, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524434311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 699 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $25
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best getaway from tagines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Being a vegetarian, I was feeling done with Tagines and Couscous pretty quickly into our Marrakech trip, and this adorable place was just what I needed. Great food, friendly staff and was a perfect evening out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katyayini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cute Italian restaurant in the new town of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed two different pastas at this cute restaurant. The walls are filled with many framed posters from various countries. The food was tasty, and far better than most Italian restaurants in the US. It was also very reasonably priced for very generous portions.

The other diners seemed to be locals, and most knew the owner well which indicates that most are regular patrons. We'd come back too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jelyapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went with two friends to this restaurant, for an evening meal. The service was very good, the menu was extensive (including elephant, which we were not tempted by!). We all chose different dishes, and had a taste of each one, all very good indeed. The owner came to see if we were happy with the food, and mentioned that the vegetables were all organic, which was interesting to know, but wouldn't have bothered us, if they hadn't been.
The place was full by 8:30 so we were pleased that we had booked.
Would be happy to pay another visit to this restaurant, but there are so many to try, in Marrakech! However, as the title says, an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sdbsjb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinecrest, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and, at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A friend highly recommended that restaurant to us. Knowing her high culinary standards, we went right ahead and we were not disappointed at all. In fact, we were lucky to get a table at the last minute thanks to a football match.
It is not a fancy 5 Stars restaurant but, you can't go wrong.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Not wanting to eat tagines or Cous Cous & having read the reviews for this restaurant we gave it a go.
On arrival we were promptly greeted & seated & didn't have to wait long for the menu & drinks by Marrakech standards.
The room had acFrench Bistro look, clean & tidy with a nice buzzy atmosphere. The owner came round a few times to ask if we needed anything further, & kept a paternal eye on his staff.
Sadly the only negative was the food. We both had mozzarella & tomato to start which was ok. I had rigatoni Diablo which was supposed to be with chilli, garlic & salami. There was plenty of pasta, no taste of the garlic or chilli, & the salami was rock hard. Weirdly it came with a creamy sauce & not tomato which didn't help. My husband had spaghetti with lobster, & asked before ordering if it was out of the shell to which they said yes. When it arrived it was in the shell with enough pasta to feed 4 people. The lobster was over cooked & dry.
I was surprised as other reviewers had said the food standard was good; maybe the chef was having an off day?
We had a decent bottle of red wine for 200 dirhams, 2 beers & 2 digestives coming to 950 dirhams (about £70) for 2.
All in all a nice change from the medina, but don't expect great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Windymillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Qui Rit also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Chat Qui Rit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing