We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Qui Rit

Le Chat Qui Rit
92 Rue de Yougoslavie Nouvelle Ville, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524434311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 586 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, French, Mediterranean, Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went with two friends to this restaurant, for an evening meal. The service was very good, the menu was extensive (including elephant, which we were not tempted by!). We all chose different dishes, and had a taste of each one, all very good indeed. The owner came to see if we were happy with the food, and mentioned that the vegetables were all organic, which was interesting to know, but wouldn't have bothered us, if they hadn't been.
The place was full by 8:30 so we were pleased that we had booked.
Would be happy to pay another visit to this restaurant, but there are so many to try, in Marrakech! However, as the title says, an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    110
    32
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinecrest, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and, at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A friend highly recommended that restaurant to us. Knowing her high culinary standards, we went right ahead and we were not disappointed at all. In fact, we were lucky to get a table at the last minute thanks to a football match.
It is not a fancy 5 Stars restaurant but, you can't go wrong.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Not wanting to eat tagines or Cous Cous & having read the reviews for this restaurant we gave it a go.
On arrival we were promptly greeted & seated & didn't have to wait long for the menu & drinks by Marrakech standards.
The room had acFrench Bistro look, clean & tidy with a nice buzzy atmosphere. The owner came round a few times to ask if we needed anything further, & kept a paternal eye on his staff.
Sadly the only negative was the food. We both had mozzarella & tomato to start which was ok. I had rigatoni Diablo which was supposed to be with chilli, garlic & salami. There was plenty of pasta, no taste of the garlic or chilli, & the salami was rock hard. Weirdly it came with a creamy sauce & not tomato which didn't help. My husband had spaghetti with lobster, & asked before ordering if it was out of the shell to which they said yes. When it arrived it was in the shell with enough pasta to feed 4 people. The lobster was over cooked & dry.
I was surprised as other reviewers had said the food standard was good; maybe the chef was having an off day?
We had a decent bottle of red wine for 200 dirhams, 2 beers & 2 digestives coming to 950 dirhams (about £70) for 2.
All in all a nice change from the medina, but don't expect great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Purrrfect (sorry!!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Friendly little restaurant. Top quality food, we had the carpaccio (fish and beef), pasta and then superb puddings. profiteroles as big as your head! Really good and a fantastic surprise and treat if you are bored of slow cooked lamb.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I think this place could be fantastic if the prices were not so outrageous for what it is and the deco sooooo kitch and passé...Service is hit and miss too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Qui Rit also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Chat Qui Rit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chat Qui Rit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.