We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Qui Rit

Le Chat Qui Rit
92 Rue de Yougoslavie Nouvelle Ville, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524434311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 595 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, French, Mediterranean, Pasta
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Mid Sussex
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good food, cosy ambiance, friendly staff and reasonable price. Take a trip from the overpriced old town restaurants and enjoy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    112
    33
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I cannot recommend this place enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend went here on our last night in Marrakech and it was sublime! I can safely say it was one of the best italian meals I have had in a long long time! It is great that the owner comes out to say hello and meets everyone in the restaurant and I would say that you could order anything off the menu and you would enjoy it- just leave room for the tarte tartain!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food; great surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The first restaurant we visited in Marrakech. A great find! Food excellent, especially the anchovies as a starter (Anchois à la Bastiaise). Good carafe red wine as well (La petite Ferme ). The default element with the mains seems to be cream sauces, which is not always apparent from the menu. Service smooth and unobtrusive. Definitely a recommendation!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“An oasis of fine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived before they actually opened but we were welcomed and shown to a table by our host who asked if we would mind waiting for ten minutes while setting up was finished. We had been to another and told to come back at 7.30, I am so glad we didn't.

The food was sublime, good honest, fresh food, organically grown locally. Each course was a pleasure and the home made dessert was a treat. If you only had one of the home made bread rolls it would have been a pleasure.

The real killer was the bill, at twice the price it would have been great value.

If you are in Marrakech and love good food do not miss this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant 5 years ago and it didn't disappoint then either!

The food is fresh and delicious. The service was fairly good..... Perhaps an additional waiter or waitress would have speeded up things a little! But we felt warmly welcomed and would return!

A great little find in the new town. Not much to do or see in the immediate neighborhood but great for last night meal out or celebration meal



    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Qui Rit also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Chat Qui Rit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chat Qui Rit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.