We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Restaurant in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Qui Rit

Le Chat Qui Rit
92 Rue de Yougoslavie Nouvelle Ville, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524434311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $25
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My favourite Restaurant in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I really love this restaurant. The decor is not everyone's cup of tea, but it is charming and more importantly a cosy friendly atmosphere. The food is excellent I have never had a bad meal. The home made giant ravioli is superb and the wine excellent. Service excellent, wonderful deserts, great with family or friends. It is most perfect for a lazy saturday lunch. The owner is on site most days and is charming and very welcoming. I really recommend it. I currently go at least twice a month.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    105
    29
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and excellent pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stuck to pasta here and were well rewarded- tasty and nicely al dente. Really very good.
The room has good ambience and is generally interesting a trad French style.
Service was efficient and unobtrusive.
We were welcomed warmly by the manager who also took the trouble to find us a taxi when we left.
A very different experience from some other Marrakech restaurants - in a very good way.
Recommneded.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went here for my birthday and had a very nice meal with perfectly cooked pasta. We enjoyed three courses and a bottle of wine at a reasonable price. The owner came out to chat to diners and my husband engaged him in conversation about motorobikes, after noticing some motorbike pictures on the wall. All in all we had a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Oasis a little taste of home if you are sick of Tjine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

After three weeks of travelling through Morocco we were looking of some familiar food. Jackpot here the food was fantastic service was very good very patient with my very poor French. The best in town and far cheaper than some top end restaurants we visited .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One of the best in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Yes it is not a Moroccan restaurant but if like us you are a bit bored by the same old tajine-couscous duo (frankly I found the Moroccan cuisine a bit plain and unimaginative) this is one of the best places to come to. Food is great, wine menu vast (for Morocco), service attentive.

My only issues were the relatively poor non-smoking dining area and the unavailability of a high chair (baby chair), the latter a common problem in Morocco. Otherwise brilliant restaurant, good value and highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Qui Rit also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Chat Qui Rit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chat Qui Rit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.