We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth its reuptation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Qui Rit

Le Chat Qui Rit
92 Rue de Yougoslavie Nouvelle Ville, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524434311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 525 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French, Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Wakefield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth its reuptation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went due to reviews on Trip Advisor and wasn't disappointed. Excellent meal in lovely traditionally French surroundings and less pricey than previous comments have suggested. 3 courses plus wine for about £60 for 2.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    195
    90
    25
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

First night tried to eat here the restaurant was closed (Sunday) so based on the excellent trip advisor ratings came back the next night. The owner was very welcoming and made sure we had an english menu. Food was fantastic and great wine too. Really enjoyed our experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent and popular bistro, not expensive for Marrakech!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Didn't fancy eating at any of the tourist rip off places in the old town, so we walked up to the Ville Nouvelle to check this place out. We were glad we did - it was busy and buzzing, with a great choice of French bistro-type food and reasonably priced wine. The owner or manager was coming out and greeting regulars, and he asked us if we were enjoying our food. A great choice if you are missing a more 'European' type of food experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good food, but changed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We chose to eat here because reviews said it was the best Pizza place in Marrakech, and this attracted our two 160year olds; but once seated we found that they had discontinued Pizzas several years earlier to move up-market. The services was very friendly, but some of the dishes disappointed. Worth a visit, but not the family restaurant or gourmet eat you might be looking for.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“French and Italian Bistrot style food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very pleasant bistrot style atmosphere, owner there to welcome diners. Menu of starters, pastas and meats. We had a good home-made lasagna, entrecote and filet steaks and the fish bourride, all were excellent. Wine list was good starting at £9 a bottle. Service was efficient and prompt, unusual for Marrakech. Bill for 5 was 80 euros for 5 mains and 3 desserts. One of the best restaurants we have eaten at in Marrakech.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Qui Rit also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Chat Qui Rit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chat Qui Rit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.