We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and popular bistro, not expensive for Marrakech!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Qui Rit

Le Chat Qui Rit
92 Rue de Yougoslavie Nouvelle Ville, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524434311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 582 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $25
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent and popular bistro, not expensive for Marrakech!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Didn't fancy eating at any of the tourist rip off places in the old town, so we walked up to the Ville Nouvelle to check this place out. We were glad we did - it was busy and buzzing, with a great choice of French bistro-type food and reasonably priced wine. The owner or manager was coming out and greeting regulars, and he asked us if we were enjoying our food. A great choice if you are missing a more 'European' type of food experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    105
    29
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good food, but changed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We chose to eat here because reviews said it was the best Pizza place in Marrakech, and this attracted our two 160year olds; but once seated we found that they had discontinued Pizzas several years earlier to move up-market. The services was very friendly, but some of the dishes disappointed. Worth a visit, but not the family restaurant or gourmet eat you might be looking for.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“French and Italian Bistrot style food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very pleasant bistrot style atmosphere, owner there to welcome diners. Menu of starters, pastas and meats. We had a good home-made lasagna, entrecote and filet steaks and the fish bourride, all were excellent. Wine list was good starting at £9 a bottle. Service was efficient and prompt, unusual for Marrakech. Bill for 5 was 80 euros for 5 mains and 3 desserts. One of the best restaurants we have eaten at in Marrakech.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good for a change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good Italian food at reasonable prices. Friendly, efficient service from the waitress, and owner. Centrally located in the 'new' city near the central Post Office.
Liked the decoration, with a lot of old posters and memorabilia.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Arrived before opening time, very welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We arrived before they opened (unknowingly) and wondered in a bit sheepish. The owner (We believe) was so nice, and explained we was welcome to stay. We took him up on this, and while staff where still arriving we was made to feel welcome. As the place filled up the atmosphere just got better and better. We had some excellent food, excellent wine and all at a great price. Highly suggest you find this place. Excellent.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Qui Rit also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Chat Qui Rit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chat Qui Rit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.