We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has the feel of an old Parisienne bistro.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Qui Rit

Le Chat Qui Rit
92 Rue de Yougoslavie Nouvelle Ville, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524434311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 700 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $25
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Preston UK
Level Contributor
369 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Has the feel of an old Parisienne bistro.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Visited le Chat on several occasions whilst working in the city of Marrakech.
The restaurant is located on a side street not far from the central railway station. From the outside it doesn't look up to much, however on entering you immediately feel like you have left Africa and have entered a 1950's downtown Paris bistro.
The owner is French Corsican and serves up excellent high standard food. The Chat has a good menu, with no chips and is well worth a visit if staying in Marrakech.
One point to toe is that on each occasion I visited it was very busy so reservations may be needed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ajb1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tagine Free location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you've spent more than a long weekend in Morocco you've probably had enough tagine and cous cous. Although not a cheap place to eat some of the pasta dishes are filing and priced around £6. They serve a mixture of French and Italian style meals all very tasty and home made. On our visit the staff were attentive and friendly and the owner circulates and takes an interest . They also serve wine and beer! One word of warning - the menu has limited info on the content of the dishes - if you have any intolerances ask!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love this restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Found this place on trip advisor. So glad we did. The food is absolutely out of this world! Cannot praise the food enough. Waitress, not quite so good. Service was prompt but lacked a smile. Manager/ host was excellent and passed our table twice to see that everything was ok. The restaurant was full and bustling with a nice atmosphere and unusual decor. Highly recommend!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went to this restaurant with another couple who had apparently checked out Trip Advisor or
tips on where to go----this was definitely a good tip! Shared a couple of appetizers and then
moved on to the main course. My husband had lasagne (he said it was pretty ordinary) and
I had a mushroom risotto which was wonderful. Unfortunately, the other gentleman with us
became ill and we had to rush out of the restaurant before we would have liked. The owners
of the restaurant could not have been kinder or more helpful or sympathetic, and they have
certainly earned the reputation of being wonderful hosts. I hope to return someday and spend
more time. The decor is delilghtful, the menu interesting, the price very much in line and not
expensive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carolinaylorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

loved it - expensive but beautiful french food. there is though a horrid part of teh menu - elephant steak... im not sure if its true but i looked the other way - chatted with the owener who comes to the table and asks how you are. they couldnt be more lovely. for 45euros with wine we had 2courses and coffee and really appreciated the cleanliness, cool air and awesome decor inside!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PollyDollypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Qui Rit also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Chat Qui Rit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing