We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has the feel of an old Parisienne bistro.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Qui Rit

Le Chat Qui Rit
92 Rue de Yougoslavie Nouvelle Ville, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524434311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 589 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Preston UK
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Has the feel of an old Parisienne bistro.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Visited le Chat on several occasions whilst working in the city of Marrakech.
The restaurant is located on a side street not far from the central railway station. From the outside it doesn't look up to much, however on entering you immediately feel like you have left Africa and have entered a 1950's downtown Paris bistro.
The owner is French Corsican and serves up excellent high standard food. The Chat has a good menu, with no chips and is well worth a visit if staying in Marrakech.
One point to toe is that on each occasion I visited it was very busy so reservations may be needed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    109
    32
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tagine Free location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you've spent more than a long weekend in Morocco you've probably had enough tagine and cous cous. Although not a cheap place to eat some of the pasta dishes are filing and priced around £6. They serve a mixture of French and Italian style meals all very tasty and home made. On our visit the staff were attentive and friendly and the owner circulates and takes an interest . They also serve wine and beer! One word of warning - the menu has limited info on the content of the dishes - if you have any intolerances ask!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love this restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Found this place on trip advisor. So glad we did. The food is absolutely out of this world! Cannot praise the food enough. Waitress, not quite so good. Service was prompt but lacked a smile. Manager/ host was excellent and passed our table twice to see that everything was ok. The restaurant was full and bustling with a nice atmosphere and unusual decor. Highly recommend!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went to this restaurant with another couple who had apparently checked out Trip Advisor or
tips on where to go----this was definitely a good tip! Shared a couple of appetizers and then
moved on to the main course. My husband had lasagne (he said it was pretty ordinary) and
I had a mushroom risotto which was wonderful. Unfortunately, the other gentleman with us
became ill and we had to rush out of the restaurant before we would have liked. The owners
of the restaurant could not have been kinder or more helpful or sympathetic, and they have
certainly earned the reputation of being wonderful hosts. I hope to return someday and spend
more time. The decor is delilghtful, the menu interesting, the price very much in line and not
expensive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

loved it - expensive but beautiful french food. there is though a horrid part of teh menu - elephant steak... im not sure if its true but i looked the other way - chatted with the owener who comes to the table and asks how you are. they couldnt be more lovely. for 45euros with wine we had 2courses and coffee and really appreciated the cleanliness, cool air and awesome decor inside!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Qui Rit also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Chat Qui Rit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chat Qui Rit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.